Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 06:36:41 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 6970 running too hot with default settings  (Read 1821 times)
Soak
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213



View Profile
July 21, 2011, 07:30:16 AM
 #1

I run my 2*6970 with default settings and the temperature reach 85°C (185°F) with 90% fan speed, sometimes 90°C (194°F) with automatic fan regulation (for upper card). Ambiant temperature is 25°C (77°F) in average. Case is opened and a big fan blow on cards.

Default Settings
  • Memory: 1375 MHz
  • Core: 880 MHz
  • Power: default

What do you advise me to do please? I want to reach 70°C (158°F) maximum. I think it's the best accommodation for my case without losing too much hashrate). What do you think?
1481438201
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481438201

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481438201
Reply with quote  #2

1481438201
Report to moderator
1481438201
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481438201

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481438201
Reply with quote  #2

1481438201
Report to moderator
1481438201
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481438201

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481438201
Reply with quote  #2

1481438201
Report to moderator
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. Hybrid server-assisted clients like Electrum get a lot of their network information from centralized servers, but they also check the server's results using blockchain header data. This is perhaps somewhat more secure than either server-assisted clients or header-only clients.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Ryu.Hayabusa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
July 21, 2011, 07:34:35 AM
 #2

Could try replacing the stock thermal paste on the core with something better, and get some better thermal pads for the RAM/VRMs (just be sure to get the right thickness!  Too thin and it will not make contact).

Or the other option is watercooling, though it is a bit expensive.

If I was able to help you out, please consider donating.  Any amount is greatly appreciated! Smiley         
LTC LYxUfCXVHVkBv2S8H21NK6UnFnXmNaVqv6   XRP rHAYiZ3f7QGLa4qsVPjLsVEmwUQ9nSMq86
bmgjet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
July 21, 2011, 07:36:16 AM
 #3

Get another fan (such as a desktop fan) and take the side off your case and blow the air onto the card.
Undervolt the card. If your not overclocked you should be able to go down 50-100mv before stablity problems arise.

Donations to: 1BMGjetfht9XLkGBYR4TSsuXjrYEKACcow
1stbits: 1bmgjet
300MHash/s 6850 http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/5u6wr/
Overclocked for 6 years and still strong http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1931458 & http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=285337
Soak
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213



View Profile
July 21, 2011, 07:38:19 AM
 #4

Could try replacing the stock thermal paste on the core with something better, and get some better thermal pads for the RAM/VRMs (just be sure to get the right thickness!  Too thin and it will not make contact).

Or the other option is watercooling, though it is a bit expensive.

I prefer to speak on software tweaks (with Control Catalyst Center or Trixx), because I don't want to touch on the hardware sorry. Sad

Get another fan (such as a desktop fan) and take the side off your case and blow the air onto the card.
Undervolt the card. If your not overclocked you should be able to go down 50-100mv before stablity problems arise.

When I do that (-50% power), I down to 200 from 390 Mhashes, not overclocked. There isn't another solution ? Down the memory to 300 I see on the forums, what happened to hashrate)?
tysat
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


Keep it real


View Profile
July 21, 2011, 07:38:49 AM
 #5

Turn the memory way down, 300-400 range, that should help with heat a lot.
Soak
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213



View Profile
July 21, 2011, 07:40:17 AM
 #6

Turn the memory way down, 300-400 range, that should help with heat a lot.

Can you say what happened to your hashrate when you down turn the memory down to 300-400 please?
bmgjet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
July 21, 2011, 07:41:30 AM
 #7

Dont use the powertune since that isnt just lowering the voltage it lowers the clock as well.
Use something like trixx or afterburner and lower the voltage there.

Lower the memory speed increases hashs most the time.
Lowers temp
And lowers poweruseage.

Donations to: 1BMGjetfht9XLkGBYR4TSsuXjrYEKACcow
1stbits: 1bmgjet
300MHash/s 6850 http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/5u6wr/
Overclocked for 6 years and still strong http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1931458 & http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=285337
Soak
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213



View Profile
July 21, 2011, 07:42:54 AM
 #8

Lower the memory speed increases hashs most the time.
Lowers temp
And lowers poweruseage.

Oh nice, thank you I will try.
Ryu.Hayabusa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
July 21, 2011, 07:53:23 AM
 #9

I always forget not everyone is into hardware as I am, no worries.

You can try lowering the core voltage as well, just do it in small steps and wait ~15min or so between each step to ensure you are still stable (while running a game or mining).  If your GPU crashes or freezes, increase by 1-2 steps from where the crash/freeze occurred.

If I was able to help you out, please consider donating.  Any amount is greatly appreciated! Smiley         
LTC LYxUfCXVHVkBv2S8H21NK6UnFnXmNaVqv6   XRP rHAYiZ3f7QGLa4qsVPjLsVEmwUQ9nSMq86
dlight
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
July 21, 2011, 08:21:28 AM
 #10

Did you try adding a switch to the miner to let the GPU 'rest'? Try '-s 0.01' and adjust the number till it meets your preferred temp.

It will lower your mhash/s, though.
TTB
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
July 21, 2011, 08:25:10 AM
 #11

I think watercooling is the best idea, though the most expensive.
As a bonur you will have much less noise Smiley
And temps will be ok even with OC.
Soak
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213



View Profile
July 21, 2011, 08:33:43 AM
 #12

Did you try adding a switch to the miner to let the GPU 'rest'? Try '-s 0.01' and adjust the number till it meets your preferred temp.

It will lower your mhash/s, though.

I will try too, thank you. Smiley
MiningBuddy
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1058


฿itcoin ฿itcoin ฿itcoin


View Profile
July 21, 2011, 09:02:07 AM
 #13

What make is your 6970? I've had no end of trouble with XFX and their shoddy thermal paste application, seriously I think they give their cards to kindergarten kids in an art class to apply the thermal paste it's that bad!

You said previously that you don't want to touch hardware, but I think in this case you're going to have to. It's really easy to remove the heatsink and replace the thermal paste with something like Artic Silver 5. (just a few screws on the back of the card to take the heatsink & fan shroud off)

Soak
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213



View Profile
July 21, 2011, 09:22:21 AM
 #14

What make is your 6970? I've had no end of trouble with XFX and their shoddy thermal paste application, seriously I think they give their cards to kindergarten kids in an art class to apply the thermal paste it's that bad!

It's Sapphire.

You said previously that you don't want to touch hardware, but I think in this case you're going to have to. It's really easy to remove the heatsink and replace the thermal paste with something like Artic Silver 5. (just a few screws on the back of the card to take the heatsink & fan shroud off)

Hum, I will thinking abouit that so. Huh
chut
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
July 21, 2011, 02:37:04 PM
 #15

How is the card positioned in the case? Does it have plenty of airflow? Def lower the memory if you can, like others have suggested. If your blowing a fan on them, make sure you have an open window or at least plenty of airflow around the box. I was having similar problems when my box was in a corner, fan blowing at wall. Good luck  Cheesy
Soak
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213



View Profile
July 21, 2011, 02:53:43 PM
 #16

How is the card positioned in the case? Does it have plenty of airflow?



Cheesy
neo1999
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
July 21, 2011, 05:32:06 PM
 #17

I have two 5870s, one XFX and one Sapphire. Both manufacturers did a terrible job applying the thermal paste. Reapplying it dropped temps by 10c on the XFX and 11-12 on the Sapphire. I didn't note the temps on my 5830s or my 5770, but there were improvements in every case.

A couple of tips:

1.) Often the heatsinks sit slightly off kilter, so you might need to use more paste than you would for a CPU.

2.) Again because of how the heatsinks sit, you might get air bubbles if you try applying a thin, even coat. I've had more success putting a large drop in the middle of the GPU and letting the pressure of the heatsink spread it out.

3.) If you use Arctic silver or any other conductive/capacitative paste, be careful not to get it on the electrical components as some people have killed their cards that way.

Turn this atheist into a believer! Just send your donation to 1Hxu4DEvHx22ZouYiPjbNGySs525F3LgeY and say a prayer. The god with the most contributions wins my eternal devotion!
Cidsor
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44


View Profile
July 21, 2011, 06:18:02 PM
 #18

How is the card positioned in the case? Does it have plenty of airflow?



Cheesy

If you are talking about the upper card in this configuration (2x 6970) then these temperatures are fine. I currently have 2x 6950's in a drawer (yes, a drawer) with 4 fans venting. I have an OC to 900MHz on the core and 650MHz on the mem. with 1.14V. I get roughly 82-85C on the upper card and 72-75C on the lower card. You could try a switch between the cards, some run a bit cooler, and a bit cooler might mean 5-10C if you switch them.
Rudementry
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
July 21, 2011, 07:06:32 PM
 #19

You should definitely be able to achieve much lower temps with lowering the memory. My stock MSI 6970 running at 975Mhz Shaders and 1375Mhz Memory sits at around 72 C in my room with an ambient temperature of about 73 F. When I turn the memory to 401 (it starts flipping out at 400), my temps are around 65-66 C. This is with my computer doing normal computer type stuff too, like posting this message. Also, I leave the fans on 60% when mining. The card is in my Haf 922 desktop.



http://i.imgur.com/Di31M.jpg
Soak
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213



View Profile
July 21, 2011, 07:44:52 PM
 #20

You should definitely be able to achieve much lower temps with lowering the memory. My stock MSI 6970 running at 975Mhz Shaders and 1375Mhz Memory sits at around 72 C in my room with an ambient temperature of about 73 F. When I turn the memory to 401 (it starts flipping out at 400), my temps are around 65-66 C. This is with my computer doing normal computer type stuff too, like posting this message. Also, I leave the fans on 60% when mining. The card is in my Haf 922 desktop.



It's a bit better, thank you Wink
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!