Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 06:14:26 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Setting up namecoin  (Read 2298 times)
Vince
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38


View Profile
July 21, 2011, 03:27:00 PM
 #1

I'm having some trouble getting my self-compiled namecoind to connect to the network / get the blockchain.

Right after starting it up it does not get any connection, instead tries to connect to some nodes on port 36384??

So I gave it a node manually:

addnode=69.164.206.88:8334

now it connects quickly, gets tons of nodes and has 8 connections, but does not download the blockchain.
debug.log says:


received block 0000000000540162cbc9
ERROR: CheckProofOfWork() : block does not have our chain ID
ERROR: CheckBlock() : proof of work failed
ERROR: ProcessBlock() : CheckBlock FAILED
received: block (215 bytes)
received block 00000000003f8b788e9f
ERROR: CheckProofOfWork() : block does not have our chain ID
ERROR: CheckBlock() : proof of work failed
ERROR: ProcessBlock() : CheckBlock FAILED
received: block (215 bytes)
received block 00000000007f3cb18860
ERROR: CheckProofOfWork() : block does not have our chain ID
ERROR: CheckBlock() : proof of work failed
ERROR: ProcessBlock() : CheckBlock FAILED


tons of these.

Any ideas??

Like what I'm posting? -> 1DtHZgVufX1tc5jRCoNiUnygenwRWj939C
1481220866
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481220866

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481220866
Reply with quote  #2

1481220866
Report to moderator
1481220866
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481220866

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481220866
Reply with quote  #2

1481220866
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481220866
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481220866

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481220866
Reply with quote  #2

1481220866
Report to moderator
1481220866
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481220866

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481220866
Reply with quote  #2

1481220866
Report to moderator
1481220866
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481220866

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481220866
Reply with quote  #2

1481220866
Report to moderator
Vince
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38


View Profile
July 21, 2011, 05:42:40 PM
 #2

Just a small update:

I use linux (ubuntu natty 64bit), still cant get namecoind to download the block chain.

$ namecoind getinfo
{
    "version" : 32451,
    "balance" : 0.00000000,
    "blocks" : 0,
    "connections" : 8,
    "proxy" : "",
    "generate" : false,
    "genproclimit" : -1,
    "difficulty" : 512.00781274,
    "hashespersec" : 0,
    "testnet" : false,
    "keypoololdest" : 1311269883,
    "paytxfee" : 0.00000000,
    "errors" : ""
}

already tried to delete the database, config, no changes. Letting it run for 2 hours didnt change anything either.

Like what I'm posting? -> 1DtHZgVufX1tc5jRCoNiUnygenwRWj939C
Vince
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 12:13:46 AM
 #3

Fixed!

I used the most recent version from git which maybe had some bug or maybe the developers changed something.
Now its running with a version a few weeks older - no problems at all.


Like what I'm posting? -> 1DtHZgVufX1tc5jRCoNiUnygenwRWj939C
CYPER
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
July 22, 2011, 04:26:40 AM
 #4

Can you tell how and where you got the old version from?
And then how did you install it?

Well if you can write a guide that will be much appreciated Smiley

I also got that screen with 8 connections, but no blocks - but it's been only 20 minutes. I'll leave it for the night and check tomorrow.

If this post helped you and you feel generous you know what to do: 1P9tXFy9bVgzrfPGeV7F8np26ZtFdCCWvz
Vince
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 07:10:48 AM
 #5

I got it from the official github,
https://github.com/vinced/namecoin.

Its the 3.21.91-version I downloaded as source, unzipped it
switched to "src"-directory
and compiled with
make -f makefile.unix -j 6

this needs a few libraries installed, but it keeps on telling you whats missing.

afterwards i copied the namecoind-binary to /usr/local/bin

created a simple config in ~/.namecoin/bitcoin.conf

(just rpcuser, rpcpassword, rpcport, daemon=1 and server=1)

and started up with namecoind

I'm running all my rigs on this one and already found some blocks - low difficulty at the moment!


Like what I'm posting? -> 1DtHZgVufX1tc5jRCoNiUnygenwRWj939C
CYPER
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
July 22, 2011, 04:48:37 PM
 #6

OK managed to start it and is now mining, but can you tell me if that looks fine -  http://paste.ubuntu.com/650089/

What will change on that screen when I found the hash for a block? Will it change to [1 Accepted] [0 Rejected] [RPC]

And what does [22/07/2011 17:33:42] New block (WorkQueue) mean?

I'm not 100% sure that I'm mining properly.

If this post helped you and you feel generous you know what to do: 1P9tXFy9bVgzrfPGeV7F8np26ZtFdCCWvz
makomk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 06:31:59 PM
 #7

Just encountered the first of those problems myself. The short answer is: the namecoin code is broken and calls htons on the default port twice, so it ends up listening on and connecting to the wrong port number. The fix is to edit namecoin.cpp, find:
Code:
return fTestNet ? htons(18334) : htons(8334);
and remove both htons so that it instead does
Code:
return fTestNet ? 18334 : 8334;

Not sure about your second bug; I'd already moved to a slightly older changeset (495a5eb42193c262119ad9ef03b45f8e4b973df1) that I suspect doesn't have it.


Quad XC6SLX150 Board: 860 MHash/s or so.
SIGS ABOUT BUTTERFLY LABS ARE PAID ADS
CYPER
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
July 22, 2011, 06:37:55 PM
 #8

Just encountered the first of those problems myself. The short answer is: the namecoin code is broken and calls htons on the default port twice, so it ends up listening on and connecting to the wrong port number. The fix is to edit namecoin.cpp, find:
Code:
return fTestNet ? htons(18334) : htons(8334);
and remove both htons so that it instead does
Code:
return fTestNet ? 18334 : 8334;

Not sure about your second bug; I'd already moved to a slightly older changeset (495a5eb42193c262119ad9ef03b45f8e4b973df1) that I suspect doesn't have it.



Is that change fixing the bug of not downloading the blockchain?

And which bug do you mean as second?

If this post helped you and you feel generous you know what to do: 1P9tXFy9bVgzrfPGeV7F8np26ZtFdCCWvz
makomk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 06:59:37 PM
 #9

Is that change fixing the bug of not downloading the blockchain?

And which bug do you mean as second?
It fixes the bug of using the wrong port and not connecting to any nodes; it doesn't fix the one where it then fails to download the blockchain (because I didn't encounter it - I suspect that's related to the merge of the merged-mining patches, and I'd already gone back to a revision prior to then).

Quad XC6SLX150 Board: 860 MHash/s or so.
SIGS ABOUT BUTTERFLY LABS ARE PAID ADS
CYPER
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
July 22, 2011, 10:06:26 PM
 #10

Do you know what is the latest working version?

If this post helped you and you feel generous you know what to do: 1P9tXFy9bVgzrfPGeV7F8np26ZtFdCCWvz
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!