Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 01:52:41 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: namecoin mining question  (Read 1231 times)
skindogg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
July 21, 2011, 08:37:02 PM
 #1

So I followed the instructions in the mining forums to start mining namecoins solo, but I'm stuck and have some questions.


1. How can I get a namecoin address?
2. Am I doing this correctly? I launched namecoind.exe by typing "start namecoind.exe" and all i get is a blank screen with a blinking cursor.
3. How would I know I found a block and where does it go (since I don't have a namecoin address).

Thanks in advance guys!
1480773161
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773161

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773161
Reply with quote  #2

1480773161
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480773161
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773161

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773161
Reply with quote  #2

1480773161
Report to moderator
1480773161
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773161

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773161
Reply with quote  #2

1480773161
Report to moderator
1480773161
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773161

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773161
Reply with quote  #2

1480773161
Report to moderator
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
July 21, 2011, 09:45:26 PM
 #2

So I followed the instructions in the mining forums to start mining namecoins solo, but I'm stuck and have some questions.


1. How can I get a namecoin address?
2. Am I doing this correctly? I launched namecoind.exe by typing "start namecoind.exe" and all i get is a blank screen with a blinking cursor.
3. How would I know I found a block and where does it go (since I don't have a namecoin address).

Thanks in advance guys!

2. You are doing it correctly (you don't need the "start" though). Namecoin is not available in client form, just a daemon, and that it is running. If you have run it, it created a wallet and an address for you. You need to leave it running so it can get the entire blockchain up to the current block number.

1. You need to open a second command prompt window to issue RPC commands to the running daemon. A typical command would be "namecoind.exe help" or "namecoind.exe getblocknumber". Another command might be "namecoind.exe getaddressesbyaccount 0".

3. If you are using a solo miner to connect to your local namecoind, it's status should change to 1 accepted, 0 rejected, after hours or weeks of mining. You can also issue the command "namecoind.exe getbalance" and see if it is 50.0000000 instead of 0.00000000. If you are pool mining, the pool balance should slowly increase as they find blocks for which you have contributed.

skindogg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
July 21, 2011, 09:59:04 PM
 #3

Ah that's what I was missing. The commands to see the status of the namecoin wallet.  Thx!
tinman951
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 149


View Profile
October 11, 2011, 02:15:09 PM
 #4

(just starting namecoin).  When it asks for the username is that the same as the username for slush's pool?
What is the deal with buying domains?  Do I need to buy a domain in order to mine name coins as well?
All I see after keeping it on for 2 hours is 0.000 balance.

Free micro bitcoins: http://www.bitvisitor.com/?ref=1DFw1VncjVhqdg6GWoQ6Qtc5ncR5RHXxfP
Donate BTC: 18b94MMTWd7bWaUWcq7VHmizgswP2dK6fM
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!