Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 02:06:15 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: MSI 890FXA-GD70 - Anyone using Extenders with it?  (Read 5090 times)
Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
July 21, 2011, 11:01:59 PM
 #1

Hey folks,

I have 2 of these boards that are happily chugging away with four cards in them, but the cards are sandwiched pretty close together.  To get some airflow I'd much rather use some PCIx extenders and get the cards off the board, but no matter what I do, any cards I put on the extenders are not recognized by the OS.

Is anyone using the MSI GDFXA-GD70 motherboard and have cards using extenders on it?

Thanks!
1480817175
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480817175

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480817175
Reply with quote  #2

1480817175
Report to moderator
1480817175
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480817175

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480817175
Reply with quote  #2

1480817175
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480817175
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480817175

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480817175
Reply with quote  #2

1480817175
Report to moderator
Iyeman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 189


View Profile
July 21, 2011, 11:10:20 PM
 #2

Hey folks,

I have 2 of these boards that are happily chugging away with four cards in them, but the cards are sandwiched pretty close together.  To get some airflow I'd much rather use some PCIx extenders and get the cards off the board, but no matter what I do, any cards I put on the extenders are not recognized by the OS.

Is anyone using the MSI GDFXA-GD70 motherboard and have cards using extenders on it?

Thanks!

I read in a thread earlier today that sometimes you have to short 2 pins for for them to work. not sure which thread i saw that in though.

BTC: 1aombYbEyggW4uKuX2VgYBjPMu8yxcYCX
Iyeman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 189


View Profile
July 21, 2011, 11:12:58 PM
 #3

found it

http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=11862.0



http://blog.zorinaq.com/?e=42

I haven't done this personally but others say it works.

BTC: 1aombYbEyggW4uKuX2VgYBjPMu8yxcYCX
Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
July 21, 2011, 11:24:48 PM
 #4

Ah...I tried that on a old P45T-A board a while back.  Worked great for the board and then the board died.  Think I'll live with the cards in the slots Wink
geek-trader
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


View Profile
July 21, 2011, 11:39:13 PM
 #5

Do you have to short the pins for the specific board the OP specified, or just "some" boards?

Make 1 deposit and earn BTC for life! http://bitcoinpyramid.com/r/345
Play my FREE HTML5 games at: http://magigames.org  BTC donations accepted.
Detritus
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100



View Profile
July 22, 2011, 12:01:37 AM
 #6

Every card in my system is on a x16 PCIe riser, and all the motherboards are 890FXA-GD70's
Never had any issues, but then again, I'm using full x16 risers


cablesaurus brand
Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
July 22, 2011, 12:34:35 AM
 #7

Yeah, my hope was to use the x1 extenders and possibly use all 6 slots (the 5 x16 and 1 x1 slot) for 6 cards/machine.
CYPER
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
July 22, 2011, 12:53:44 AM
 #8

Yeah, my hope was to use the x1 extenders and possibly use all 6 slots (the 5 x16 and 1 x1 slot) for 6 cards/machine.

Pretty risky.

Look at Gigabyte GA-770T-D3L - I personally use it with 4x 1x extenders.

If this post helped you and you feel generous you know what to do: 1P9tXFy9bVgzrfPGeV7F8np26ZtFdCCWvz
haploid23
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile WWW
July 22, 2011, 01:17:20 AM
 #9

i have two of these MSI 890FX GD70 boards, and i can confirm that you need to short the two presence pins when using a pci-e x1 extender. when using a x16 extender, it will work fine, but x1 will need presence pins shorted, otherwise the motherboard will NOT recognized that the cards are plugged in, whether you have then powered with the 6pin pci-e cable or not. either buy x16 extender cables, or short the presence pins for all the pci-e slots that you're plugging in.

shorting them was a huge pain the ass for me because the hole to insert the wire was so small, and the wire was so flimsy.

Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
July 22, 2011, 01:45:01 AM
 #10

Are you using all 5 slots for cards with the x16 extenders?
gmaxwell
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2016



View Profile
July 22, 2011, 07:33:22 AM
 #11

Are you using all 5 slots for cards with the x16 extenders?

You mean all six slots? Smiley  (there is a 1x slot too).

I'm using all six with extenders, 16x ones on the 16x slots however. (less parts to saw!)


haploid23
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile WWW
July 22, 2011, 10:01:22 AM
 #12

Are you using all 5 slots for cards with the x16 extenders?
you might have missed it, but i said that you need to short the two presence pins when using a pci-e x1 extender. when connecting the card using a x1 cable to a x16 slot, you HAVE to short the pins. when connecting the card using a x16 cable to a x16 slot, you DON'T have to short any pins. when connecting the card using a x1 cable to a x1 slot, you DON'T have to short any pins. is this clear now? i'm not sure i can be any more clear than that lol. i have not tested 5 or 6 cards at the same time yet, but i tested all the slots, and this i said is true for this specific motherboard

goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 03:03:05 PM
 #13



Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
BrianH
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 135


View Profile
July 25, 2011, 05:37:43 AM
 #14

Are you using all 5 slots for cards with the x16 extenders?
you need to short the two presence pins when using a pci-e x1 extender.
when connecting the card using a x1 cable to a x1 slot, you DON'T have to short any pins.
is this clear now?
Er... no!

Are you using all 5 slots for cards with the x16 extenders?

You mean all six slots? Smiley  (there is a 1x slot too).

I'm using all six with extenders, 16x ones on the 16x slots however. (less parts to saw!)



So are you having to short any pins?

Just answer this. It is possible to use this board without shorting any pins and if so, what combination of extenders do you need to buy?
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
July 25, 2011, 06:07:27 AM
 #15

@goxed, photo
Good to know that a double extended card will work. That may come in handy someday.

haploid23
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile WWW
July 26, 2011, 07:14:58 PM
 #16

Just answer this. It is possible to use this board without shorting any pins and if so, what combination of extenders do you need to buy?
hmm it's been answered twice already, but i guess reading comprehension is lacking. just buy 5 pci-e x16 extension cables, and 1 pci-e x1 extension cable, plug them in the appropriate slots, and you'll be good to go without having to short any pins.

jwzguy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868



View Profile
July 26, 2011, 07:22:55 PM
 #17

I'm using this board with 16x -> 16x risers. Works fine. Not currently using the 1x slot.


19wXnWTeGuraN9g5UsMAi119sWzDCQcr7S
Bitcoin Logo shirts!
TerraformProjectAlpha
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 08:13:14 PM
 #18

You really want to know the secret guys!

Set PCI Latency to 32.

Thats it, lol. Took me forever and a week to figure out that. Cost me many bitcoins...

Donations welcome  Smiley
1Fpy6LNtiJ1pKkj9kntrRZTMHhEePHtAMJ


Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
July 27, 2011, 08:33:49 PM
 #19

You really want to know the secret guys!

Set PCI Latency to 32.

Thats it, lol. Took me forever and a week to figure out that. Cost me many bitcoins...

Donations welcome  Smiley
1Fpy6LNtiJ1pKkj9kntrRZTMHhEePHtAMJ


What's that help with?  x1 or x16 slots?
TerraformProjectAlpha
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 09:41:10 PM
 #20

im using risers, as long as they are shorted and have the correct latency you should be good to go!
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!