Bitcoin Forum
June 24, 2018, 12:38:02 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Odd questions, what I am missing? [RPC call]  (Read 42 times)
DaveF
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 722
Merit: 515


If you can read this you are too close.


View Profile WWW
March 07, 2018, 07:50:11 PM
 #1

When using the bitcoin-cli I can use the -rpcconnect to get to an ip of another bitcoind server on the network (192.168.1.50) and it works. When I change that to node50.davetest.local it fails.
If I do a nslookup from exact same prompt for node50.davetest.local I get the correct answer so the machine is querying the correct local DNS server and it is getting the correct answer.

1) As far as I know and can see it should do name resolution, but since this is the 1st time I am actually doing it this way does it, or am I just assuming that it does?

2) If yes are there any limitations to what I can call it? (some things do fail on .local domains but very few) Does it use the system DNS servers or do I have to specify? If so how?

3) Is there anything else I am missing or can check.

For now it's working with IPs so no big deal, I was just trying to keep it a bit cleaner.

Thanks,
Dave











•• ▄█████████████▄
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░░░▄███▄░░░░█
█░░░░█████░░░░█
█░░░░▀███▀░░░░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
██████▀▀███████
▀█████▄▄██████▀
         ▄▄██████████████▄▄
       ▄█▀▀              ▀▀█▄
     ▄█▀                    ▀█▄
    ██     ▄▄▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄▄     ██
   ██   ▄▀▀ ▄▄████████▄▄ ▀▀▄   ██
   █  ▄▀ ▄██▀▀▀      ▀▀▀██▄ ▀▄  █
   █  ▌ ██▀ ▄▄        ▄▄ ▀██ ▐  █
   █  ▌▐█▌ ████ ▄▄▄▄ ████ ▐█▌▐  █
  ██  ▌ ██▄ ▀▀  ▀▄▄▀  ▀▀ ▄██ ▐  ██
 ▐██  ▀▄ ▀▀█▄▄▄      ▄▄▄█▀▀ ▄▀  ██▌
 ████▄  ▀▄▄ ▀▀████████▀▀ ▄▄▀  ▄████
▐██▌▀██▄▄  ▀▀▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀▀  ▄▄██▀▐██▌
██▀   ▀▀██▄▄            ▄███▀▀   ▀██
          ▀▀████████████▀▀
vivid









█████████████
███████████████
██░░░░░██████████
██░░░░░████████████
███████████████████
██░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░██
███████████████████
██░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░██
███████████████████
██░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░██
███████████████████
███████████████████
PRESALE
FEBRUARY 23
••









The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529800682
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529800682

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529800682
Reply with quote  #2

1529800682
Report to moderator
1529800682
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529800682

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529800682
Reply with quote  #2

1529800682
Report to moderator
1529800682
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529800682

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529800682
Reply with quote  #2

1529800682
Report to moderator
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442
Merit: 1352


3F1Y9yquzvY6RWvKbw2n2zeo9V5mvBhADU


View Profile WWW
March 09, 2018, 01:06:34 AM
 #2

1) As far as I know and can see it should do name resolution, but since this is the 1st time I am actually doing it this way does it, or am I just assuming that it does?
[
You are assuming that it does name resolution, but AFAIK, it does not. Just because a different software does name resolution (indicating that the machine is capable of doing so) does not mean that bitcoin-cli will do name resolution.

DaveF
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 722
Merit: 515


If you can read this you are too close.


View Profile WWW
March 09, 2018, 02:00:57 AM
 #3

1) As far as I know and can see it should do name resolution, but since this is the 1st time I am actually doing it this way does it, or am I just assuming that it does?
[
You are assuming that it does name resolution, but AFAIK, it does not. Just because a different software does name resolution (indicating that the machine is capable of doing so) does not mean that bitcoin-cli will do name resolution.

Well that is annoying. I was trying to do some load balancing using DNS, since I can set it to spit out IPs in a round-robin.
Guess I just have to code it slightly differently.

Thanks,
Dave











•• ▄█████████████▄
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░░░▄███▄░░░░█
█░░░░█████░░░░█
█░░░░▀███▀░░░░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
██████▀▀███████
▀█████▄▄██████▀
         ▄▄██████████████▄▄
       ▄█▀▀              ▀▀█▄
     ▄█▀                    ▀█▄
    ██     ▄▄▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄▄     ██
   ██   ▄▀▀ ▄▄████████▄▄ ▀▀▄   ██
   █  ▄▀ ▄██▀▀▀      ▀▀▀██▄ ▀▄  █
   █  ▌ ██▀ ▄▄        ▄▄ ▀██ ▐  █
   █  ▌▐█▌ ████ ▄▄▄▄ ████ ▐█▌▐  █
  ██  ▌ ██▄ ▀▀  ▀▄▄▀  ▀▀ ▄██ ▐  ██
 ▐██  ▀▄ ▀▀█▄▄▄      ▄▄▄█▀▀ ▄▀  ██▌
 ████▄  ▀▄▄ ▀▀████████▀▀ ▄▄▀  ▄████
▐██▌▀██▄▄  ▀▀▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀▀  ▄▄██▀▐██▌
██▀   ▀▀██▄▄            ▄███▀▀   ▀██
          ▀▀████████████▀▀
vivid









█████████████
███████████████
██░░░░░██████████
██░░░░░████████████
███████████████████
██░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░██
███████████████████
██░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░██
███████████████████
██░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░██
███████████████████
███████████████████
PRESALE
FEBRUARY 23
••









Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!