Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 11:54:48 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: gigabyte motherboard question  (Read 741 times)
mu50stang
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 12:40:01 AM
 #1

I bought a gigabyte GA-H61M-D2P-B3 motherboard and have two video cards running on it radeon hd5570 and hd5700.  They are both on the x16 slots.  i have two other pci slots.  Is it possible to add anymore video cards.  Thanks.

Specs.
1.1 x PCI Express x16 slot, running at x16 (PCIEX16)
 * For optimum performance, if only one PCI Express graphics card is to be installed, be sure to install it in the PCIEX16 slot.
 2.1 x PCI Express x16 slot, running at x4 (PCIEX4)
 3.2 x PCI slots
http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3774#ov

Also have a MSI P55-CD53 with a 6950 in the x16 slot.  Am I able to add any cards to this one.  Thanks.

SPECS
PCI Express 2.0 x16 1
PCI Express x1 3
PCI Slots 3

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130240







1481198088
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481198088

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481198088
Reply with quote  #2

1481198088
Report to moderator
1481198088
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481198088

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481198088
Reply with quote  #2

1481198088
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481198088
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481198088

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481198088
Reply with quote  #2

1481198088
Report to moderator
1481198088
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481198088

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481198088
Reply with quote  #2

1481198088
Report to moderator
1481198088
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481198088

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481198088
Reply with quote  #2

1481198088
Report to moderator
Viera
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63


Quality Services to benefit Bitcoin Community


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 04:24:25 AM
 #2

No you can't, graphics card can only be used with PCI Express x16 slots, and you have none left.

Buy Minecraft gift codes here, just 1.2 BTC - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=30914
------------------------------
Need help translating your bitcoin business or any other site to Russian? I'm offering quick, accurate and affordable translation services.
nafai
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112



View Profile
July 22, 2011, 07:10:26 AM
 #3

That's not true.

First of all, they can run out-of-the-box on any PCIe slot, not just 16x. Even a PCIe 1x slot will do mining just fine. You won't get as good of GAMING graphic performance by running a video card in a PCIe slot with a shorter bus, but bitcoin mining is not affected.

Also, it's rumored you can even run a bitcoin miner on a GPU in a plain old PCI slot. I've seen it discussed here on the forum, but I don't recall the details. And of course I haven't done it myself so I can't verify.

1HQiS9PLHPcoQMgN8ZdcGwhoMHWh2Hp37p
Jaime Frontero
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 07:23:00 AM
 #4

No you can't, graphics card can only be used with PCI Express x16 slots, and you have none left.

no.

with PCIe extenders - or a little very careful jeweler's saw work - a GPU will run just fine in any PCIe slot; even an x1.

check the mining forums, and the trade wiki for extenders:

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Trade
Cidsor
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 07:38:50 AM
 #5

The MSI mobo can handle up to 4 cards. You have to use the existing PCI-e x16 slot and the three PCI-e x1 slots. You need three of thesehttps://cablesaurus.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1&products_id=10&zenid=6ae347de3003210aa2eae189bdd606b6 and the space in your cabinet Smiley
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 02:50:22 PM
 #6


I used this
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320717538179&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT

and this
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=180670518754&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
Morebitcoinsplease
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile
July 22, 2011, 05:30:17 PM
 #7

No you can't, graphics card can only be used with PCI Express x16 slots, and you have none left.

no.

with PCIe extenders - or a little very careful jeweler's saw work - a GPU will run just fine in any PCIe slot; even an x1.

check the mining forums, and the trade wiki for extenders:

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Trade

+1 You can run any GPU on a PCI-E slot, I run several video cards on PCI-E x1 and x4
mu50stang
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 02:53:11 PM
 #8

Is this all I need to make this work.  Thanks.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320717538179&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!