Bitcoin Forum
September 27, 2024, 10:23:26 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.1 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Want to know about Gas in details  (Read 154 times)
jhimli (OP)

Activity: 59
Merit: 7

View Profile
March 08, 2018, 09:05:31 AM

Hi , I am new in this blockchain field.. sorry for my ignorance

Try to learn step by step , how Blockchain actually works ..

so One word I found GAS ,, and after google it got this :

Gas is the name for the execution fee that senders of transactions need to pay for every operation made on an Ethereum blockchain,

Can anyone here please elaborate this for me with an example..

For exapmple:  If I want to purchase ERC20 token, I have to pay GAS [ or excution fees]

Please help me.

Cheers
Xynerise

Activity: 322
Merit: 363

39twH4PSYgDSzU7sLnRoDfthR6gWYrrPoD

View Profile
March 08, 2018, 09:22:49 AM

Gas (or petrol, if it helps you understand better) is the fuel for the ETH blockchain.
Ethereum was designed to be a distributed turing-complete computer, and you can't have a public computer without a way to limit actions of participants or else they will exploit it or make the network halt by deploying code that loops forever.
That is how the concept of gas was born.
It is payment for every computation you make on the Ethereum blockchain (your ETH or token transactions are actually computations), so the more complex your calculation/computation is, the more gas you will have to pay. This limits people spamming the network as it would get prohibitively expensive to do so.

You can think of it like transaction fees in bitcoin (even though it is not actually the same thing)
For more information read this article by MyEtherWallet:
https://myetherwallet.github.io/knowledge-base/gas/what-is-gas-ethereum.html
jhimli (OP)

View Profile
March 08, 2018, 04:20:10 PM

Gas (or petrol, if it helps you understand better) is the fuel for the ETH blockchain.