Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 12:33:46 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Windows 7 Enterprise has diskless node option.  (Read 3714 times)
Pipesnake
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 249


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 05:36:12 AM
 #1

Read the other day that the enterprise version of Windows 7 has the option to run diskless.  This would be ideal for mining over multiple rigs.

The problem is I've never used it and there seems to be almost no documentation on how to get it set up.

Is anyone mining over multiple rigs in this fashion under Windows 7 Enterprise?
1480725226
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725226

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725226
Reply with quote  #2

1480725226
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480725226
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725226

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725226
Reply with quote  #2

1480725226
Report to moderator
FreeJAC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 07:19:43 PM
 #2

If you google LAN boot Windows there are a couple of hits that come up for XP and Vista one at Toms Hardware and one at ARS.

Donate here.... 18NiDLDA3qRxkEPN36xrzsdSgvEkbDKgNr
FreeJAC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 24, 2011, 01:30:10 PM
 #3

There is what they call a "step by step deployment guide" at the end of  this: http://blogs.technet.com/b/storageserver/archive/2011/05/04/diskless-servers-can-boot-and-run-from-the-microsoft-iscsi-software-target-using-a-regular-network-card.aspx

I don't think that is quite what you are looking for, but I think that is about as close as it is going to get. This has a bit more information but mostly the same. http://www.wininternet.com/article/view/id-47561


Donate here.... 18NiDLDA3qRxkEPN36xrzsdSgvEkbDKgNr
riX
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 327



View Profile
July 24, 2011, 02:11:09 PM
 #4

Or you could use any linux (or windows) live cd which you load into ram when booting. You just have to modify it with miner software etc before.

FreeJAC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 24, 2011, 03:17:46 PM
 #5

I think the point of this was to not have to have a local boot device. If you could tell him how to TFTP the Live CD to him off a PXE boot then that could earn you the 2 BTC!  Wink

Donate here.... 18NiDLDA3qRxkEPN36xrzsdSgvEkbDKgNr
riX
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 327



View Profile
July 24, 2011, 10:39:02 PM
 #6

I'd need more like 50 btc to write up an article like that.

For OP: http://lmgtfy.com/?q=live+cd+tftp

Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
July 24, 2011, 11:57:21 PM
 #7

Buy a windows license and ask microsoft for support, maybe?

FreeJAC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 25, 2011, 02:04:34 AM
 #8

Well one guy in the comments suggested he followed the directions there and it worked. Fumbled a lot though. Unless one of the tech journalist pick it up and work through it I don't think you are going to find what you are looking for.

Donate here.... 18NiDLDA3qRxkEPN36xrzsdSgvEkbDKgNr
Kermee
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
July 25, 2011, 02:11:29 AM
 #9

gPXE + iSCSI + Ubuntu FTW.

Cheers,
Kermee

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!