Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 04:32:37 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 4 cards on an AsRock Z68 Extreme4? Advice needed  (Read 1228 times)
simonk83
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 06:29:55 AM
 #1

Does anyone here use an AsRock Z68 Extreme4 motherboard?

It has 3 PCI-E 16 slots, which is fine for 3 cards, but I'm just wanting to check if you can fill those and also use a PCI-E x1 riser and it'll all work fine? I've been reading about and some motherboards seem to disable slots if you populate the x1 slot.

I'll have a 1200W PSU so I assume Power will be fine (touch wood), I just want to check that I can get 4 cards running Smiley

Thanks all!
1481128357
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481128357

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481128357
Reply with quote  #2

1481128357
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
simonk83
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
July 24, 2011, 06:24:12 AM
 #2

Anyone? Smiley
cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
July 24, 2011, 05:31:34 PM
 #3

I don't own it, but the manual doesn't seem to indicate any disabling of slots with the 1x slot occupied.  The only notes they give indicate that using all three PCIe 16x slots will restrict bandwidth to 8x/8x/4x for those slots.

http://europe.asrock.com/downloadsite/manual/Z68%20Extreme4.pdf

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
sabe
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55


View Profile
July 24, 2011, 05:48:04 PM
 #4

Yes it will work fine, I have the same setup. 3+1

Found my post helpful? Please donate to: 135t2FmsNQA9uKNxFwewFHYQKTvVMUza8W
faille
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38


View Profile
July 24, 2011, 11:27:57 PM
 #5

I have this MB and have 4x 6950's with 1 connected to the 1x via a riser.
simonk83
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
July 25, 2011, 10:43:03 AM
 #6

How did you fit a third card in the bottom pcie 16x slot?    I have two (now three) 5870's which are dual slot cards.    I just installed the new psu and was about to install the third card but it doesn't look like there's any way it'll fit...

EDIT:  Just opened it again, no chance at all.   I assume you guys are running caseless?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!