Bitcoin Forum
December 18, 2018, 06:33:26 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Wrong password bitcoin core. Reward  (Read 205 times)
player2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 09, 2018, 07:28:21 PM
 #1

Hello everybody. I'm using bitcoin core wallet, i had encrypted the wallet time ago, and now when i want to tranfer funds, i put the password, and tell me that is a wrong password. i'm sure the password is ok.

But, going on point. i give 0.5 BTC to who can solve my problem.
1545158006
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1545158006

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1545158006
Reply with quote  #2

1545158006
Report to moderator
1545158006
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1545158006

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1545158006
Reply with quote  #2

1545158006
Report to moderator
1545158006
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1545158006

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1545158006
Reply with quote  #2

1545158006
Report to moderator
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1545158006
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1545158006

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1545158006
Reply with quote  #2

1545158006
Report to moderator
1545158006
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1545158006

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1545158006
Reply with quote  #2

1545158006
Report to moderator
OmegaStarScream
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498
Merit: 1146


Hire BOUNTYPORTALS>Bounty management goo.gl/XKv9TK


View Profile
March 09, 2018, 07:40:29 PM
 #2

I could be wrong (most likely) but maybe there is a compatibility issue, try to use the same version you were using before (assuming that this happened years ago) but since you're willing to pay, I suggest you contact this service: https://walletrecoveryservices.com/

player2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 09, 2018, 07:43:09 PM
 #3

That's happend on 2016. But that program need days to download blockchain... if i change the version i think i need to download all again.
Near28
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41
Merit: 9


View Profile
March 09, 2018, 09:29:34 PM
Merited by suchmoon (1)
 #4

hey i think i might be able to help you out, shoot me a PM or drop your mail so i can send you a message. donovanrpalmer@gmail.com

You can post your suggestions here.

@player2

if you know approximately what the password is, you can use BTCRecover (https://github.com/gurnec/btcrecover) and crack the password by yourself.

Never send your Wallet.dat to other people
bob123
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 748



View Profile WWW
March 10, 2018, 02:10:55 PM
 #5

That's happend on 2016. But that program need days to download blockchain... if i change the version i think i need to download all again.

You don't have to download the whole blockchain to decrypt your wallet file (assuming you really have the correct password).
The full blockchain is needed for veryfing the balance in your wallet.dat. But this can be skipped. You could simply just check every address with a blockexplorer [1] or
export the private keys and import them into a lightweight client (e.g. electrum [2]).

But in case its not a compatibility issue: How sure are you that the password you have is the correct one?
You might try btcrecover [3] and check for any spelling mistakes (you may have made earlier).



[1] e.g. https://www.blocktrail.com/BTC or https://btc.com/ or https://live.blockcypher.com/btc/
[2] https://electrum.org/#home
[3] https://github.com/gurnec/btcrecover/blob/master/TUTORIAL.md

nc50lc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 149


∙Self-proclaimed-Genius ㊙️


View Profile WWW
March 11, 2018, 07:47:57 AM
 #6

Hello everybody. I'm using bitcoin core wallet, i had encrypted the wallet time ago, and now when i want to tranfer funds, i put the password, and tell me that is a wrong password. i'm sure the password is ok.
If you are 100% sure that it is your password, try the simplest possibility:
You could have entered the password with Caps Lock on or NumLock off back then.
Type the password with toggled Caps Lock/NumLock (noNumbers), a combination or vice-versa.

If this helped, forget the reward.

(っ◕‿◕)っ Newbies and Newbies at heart! Remember to Lock your Thread(s) after receiving enough replies/sufficient answers. 
FEELING GENEROUS?: 39EKeFj43inkH6Ctkosh9E7oskx3tvhSXi ∙ Do not buy non-mainstream ASICs at second-batch and onwards, you know the risk!
noorman0
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 13

Energzine ▶Bounty Live Now


View Profile
March 11, 2018, 08:40:34 AM
 #7

It's like the incident some time ago from a member.
but try this trick:
It looks like you had set a different data directory and resetting the options cleared that setting. The default directory for you is inC:\Users\Virtuell\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin. If you look in that folder, then you should see several files there that are dated to the last time you ran Bitcoin Core. Your actual data directory with stuff in it appears to be F:\5 Programs\Bitcoin Core\Bitcoin. You need to set Bitcoin Core to use that data directory. To do this, right click the shortcut you use to start Bitcoin Core and in the textbox labeled "target", add the following:
Code:
--datadir=F:\5 Programs\Bitcoin Core\Bitcoin
That should set the data directory to be your actual one. Restart Bitcoin Core and it should pick up syncing from where you left off originally (17 weeks or so) and if you use dumpprivkey, you should be able to get the private key of your Bitcoin address.

I dont know if this trick still works, I dont use bitcoin core for my BTC wallet. You can analyze this trick yourself with your problem

imjustagirl
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 102
Merit: 4


View Profile WWW
March 11, 2018, 10:26:08 AM
 #8

Try using pywallet tools to recover the private keys. In this case you don't need to download the whole blockchain, just pywallet tools.

MUNcoin ❱❭ When outstanding features meet perfect development team (http://muncoin.net/)
NeuroticFish
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694
Merit: 1117


The real one is http://bitcoin.ORG


View Profile
March 14, 2018, 06:16:57 PM
 #9

Hello everybody. I'm using bitcoin core wallet, i had encrypted the wallet time ago, and now when i want to tranfer funds, i put the password, and tell me that is a wrong password. i'm sure the password is ok.
You could have entered the password with Caps Lock on or NumLock off back then.
Type the password with toggled Caps Lock/NumLock (noNumbers), a combination or vice-versa.

Another idea could be the language settings for keyboard. If you used, for example, a German setting when you entered the password, you may have y and z reversed and maybe other surprises too (ö, ß).

.BITSLER.                 ▄███
               ▄████▀
             ▄████▀
           ▄████▀  ▄██▄
         ▄████▀    ▀████▄
       ▄████▀        ▀████▄
     ▄████▀            ▀████▄
   ▄████▀                ▀████▄
 ▄████▀ ▄████▄      ▄████▄ ▀████▄
█████   ██████      ██████   █████
 ▀████▄ ▀████▀      ▀████▀ ▄████▀
   ▀████▄                ▄████▀
     ▀████▄            ▄████▀
       ▀████▄        ▄████▀
         ▀████▄    ▄████▀
           ▀████▄▄████▀
             ▀██████▀
               ▀▀▀▀
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄            
▄▄▄▄▀▀▀▀    ▄▄█▄▄ ▀▀▄         
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄      
█  ▀▄▄  ▀█▀▀ ▄      ▀████   ▀▀▄   
█ █▄  ▀▄   ▀████       ▀▀ ▄██▄ ▀▀▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
█  ▀▀       ▀▄▄ ▀████      ▄▄▄▀▀▀  █
█            ▄ ▀▄    ▄▄▄▀▀▀   ▄▄  █
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
█ ▄▄   ███   ▀██  █           ▀▀  █ 
█ ███  ▀██       █        ▄▄      █ 
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀  
▀▄            █        ▀▀      █  
▀▀▄   ███▄  █   ▄▄          █   
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀    
▀▀▄   █   ▀▀▄▄▄▀▀▀         
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█▄▄▀▀▀▀              
              ▄▄▄██████▄▄▄
          ▄▄████████████████▄▄
        ▄██████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████▄
▄     ▄█████▀             ▀█████▄
██▄▄ █████▀                ▀█████
 ████████            ▄██      █████
  ████████▄         ███▀       ████▄
  █████████▀▀     ▄███▀        █████
   █▀▀▀          █████         █████
     ▄▄▄         ████          █████
   █████          ▀▀           ████▀
    █████                     █████
     █████▄                 ▄█████
      ▀█████▄             ▄█████▀
        ▀██████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██████▀
          ▀▀████████████████▀▀
              ▀▀▀██████▀▀▀
            ▄▄▄███████▄▄▄
         ▄█▀▀▀ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ▀▀▀█▄
       █▀▀ ▄█████████████▄ ▀▀█
     █▀▀ ███████████████████ ▀▀█
    █▀ ███████████████████████ ▀█
   █▀ ███████████████▀▀ ███████ ▀█
 ▄█▀ ██████████████▀      ▀█████ ▀█▄
███ ███████████▀▀            ▀▀██ ███
███ ███████▀▀                     ███
███ ▀▀▀▀                          ███
▀██▄                             ▄██▀
  ▀█▄                            ▀▀
    █▄       █▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█
     █▄      ▀█████████▀
      ▀█▄      ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
        ▀▀█▄▄  ▄▄▄
            ▀▀█████
[]
wachtwoord
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1005


View Profile
March 14, 2018, 07:09:04 PM
 #10

Are you able to unlock your wallet using the console? (help -> debug window -> Console)

On the console type

walletpassphrase "passphrase" timeout

where passphrase is your password and timeout is any number of seconds.

If it says "null" your password is correct. If it says "Error: The wallet passphrase entered was incorrect. (code -14)" it's not. For easier retrying (and seeing what you type).

Cepot
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 243
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 15, 2018, 04:43:45 PM
 #11

if you believe your password is correct If you believe it is true but can not open, I fear your wallet is hacked people then it has been replaced by the bad password,
hopefully not true

wachtwoord
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1005


View Profile
March 15, 2018, 05:02:48 PM
 #12

if you believe your password is correct If you believe it is true but can not open, I fear your wallet is hacked people then it has been replaced by the bad password,
hopefully not true

That makes no sense. Extremely unlikely.
fabioganga
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 473
Merit: 113



View Profile WWW
March 17, 2018, 07:53:07 PM
 #13

That's happend on 2016. But that program need days to download blockchain... if i change the version i think i need to download all again.

No, you don't need to redownload the entire blockchain if you upgrade the core wallet version.
flong
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 136
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 19, 2018, 03:45:27 AM
 #14

Not sure how you've "documented" your password but you could consider that certain characters look similar:

For example, depending on the font:
  • the number one and a capital "I" and a lowercase "L" all could look the same.
  • the number zero and a capital "O" could look the same


One thing when you enter it "live" is that it may show a "*" as you type in the letters.  Sometimes entering in capital letters may cause you problems since you have to engage the SHIFT key.  One thing you could try is type/enter the password into a text editor.  Ensure it looks correct and copy and paste it in.

Also be sure to clear the copy paste history as needed.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!