Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2018, 10:18:28 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Antminer S9 firmware update  (Read 379 times)
greewn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 09, 2018, 11:34:47 PM
 #1

I've read recommendations on BOTH sides if one should upgrade their antminers S9 to the latest firmware. I received mine in November of 2017 and has been working flawlessly. What are you guys thoughts on always keeping the latest firmware running, or "if its not broke dont fix it"?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542449908
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542449908

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542449908
Reply with quote  #2

1542449908
Report to moderator
1542449908
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542449908

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542449908
Reply with quote  #2

1542449908
Report to moderator
1542449908
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542449908

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542449908
Reply with quote  #2

1542449908
Report to moderator
BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1038

Bitmain miners is getting worst.


View Profile WWW
March 10, 2018, 12:12:59 AM
 #2

I've read recommendations on BOTH sides if one should upgrade their antminers S9 to the latest firmware. I received mine in November of 2017 and has been working flawlessly. What are you guys thoughts on always keeping the latest firmware running, or "if its not broke dont fix it"?
Update or flash your antminer s9 if you wanted to fix some error or bug in your miner. If your miner running fine better to stay with your firmware version.

Honestly, I still use the same firmware never flashing them with latest and they are still running fine...

And there is a different type of firmware, like the first firmware listed in

Check this Bitmain firmware page the first one had the ability to automatically set the frequency of your miner, unlike other firmware that you can modify the frequency manually.

Check this list of s9 firmware as you can see every firmware includes own description and what they actually added or fix issue's.

ccgllc
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 56

Math doesn't care what you believe.


View Profile
March 10, 2018, 06:10:03 PM
 #3

Agreed with BitMaxz - if its not broke, don't fix it.

That said, if you ARE having problems, like the miner not reporting chip temps, upgrading may help.  Likewise if a miner is not seeing cards or otherwise acting flaky, downgrading/upgrading might help.  Plenty of reports of DOA boxes working fine after being downgraded...

I mine bitcoin for a living, and I mine at Kano.is!
Blokforge Affiliate:  https://blokforge.com/?ref=21
Linux since 0.96 kernel and Slackware distributions on (4) floppies...
SGMPhil
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 12

01010011 01000111 01001101


View Profile
March 10, 2018, 09:11:21 PM
 #4

I agree with others - if it is working - don't fix it Smiley

The Sergeant Major

3KHzidSnPjzrzM4HPetpWaFR4J8FVUdbmj
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!