Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 06:36:49 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: namecoin  (Read 1337 times)
notNigel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 04:48:23 PM
 #1

I've been trying to get namecoin working, but I'm sturggling - I'm not windows conversant at all.
I want to get it going with guiminer if possible, anyone seen a good how to?
1513492609
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513492609

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513492609
Reply with quote  #2

1513492609
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513492609
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513492609

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513492609
Reply with quote  #2

1513492609
Report to moderator
1513492609
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513492609

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513492609
Reply with quote  #2

1513492609
Report to moderator
wallet.dat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 253


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 04:51:36 PM
 #2

Check this thread for a step-by-step:

http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=30561.0

"MOOOOOOOM! THE MEATLOAF!!! F**K!"
notNigel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 12:37:33 AM
 #3

Thanks, yes I did that, just about.

I don't know how to get the guiminer to use the right daemon and config file.

I run the bitcoind but I just get "To use namecoind, you must set rpc=<password> blah blah blah

I've done that, made the conf file, put it in App Data in the namecoin directory, filled in the passwords but it does nothing.
I get the 'problems communicating wth RPC 0 2 blurb.

So I'm stumped. Undecided
twobits
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
July 23, 2011, 12:43:21 AM
 #4

I would say if you are uncomfortable with the cli,   just use it enough to get a namecoin address out of it, and then use a pool just like you do for bitcoins.

I am currently using https://poolmunity.com  for some namecoin mining myself.



░░░░░░░░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄
░░░░░░▄███████████▄
░░░░▄██▀▀░░░░░░░░▀██▄
░░░██▀░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄░░░░▀██
░░██▀░░▄██▀▀▀▀▀░░▄▄
██▀░░██▀░░▄▄▄▄░░▀▀
██▀░░██░░▄██▀▀▀█▄
██░░██░░██▀
██░░▀▀░░██
██░░▄▄░░██
██░░██░░██▄
██▄░░██░░▀██▄▄▄█▀
██▄░░██▄░░▀▀▀▀░░▄▄
░░██▄░░▀██▄▄▄▄▄░░▀▀
░░░██▄░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀░░░░▄██
░░░░▀██▄▄░░░░░░░░▄██▀
░░░░░░▀███████████▀
░░░░░░░░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀


░░░░░░░░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄
░░░░░░▄███████████▄
░░░░▄██▀▀░░░░░░░░▀██▄
░░░██▀░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄░░░░▀██
░░██▀░░▄██▀▀▀▀▀░░▄▄
██▀░░██▀░░▄▄▄▄░░▀▀
██▀░░██░░▄██▀▀▀█▄
██░░██░░██▀
██░░▀▀░░██
██░░▄▄░░██
██░░██░░██▄
██▄░░██░░▀██▄▄▄█▀
██▄░░██▄░░▀▀▀▀░░▄▄
░░██▄░░▀██▄▄▄▄▄░░▀▀
░░░██▄░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀░░░░▄██
░░░░▀██▄▄░░░░░░░░▄██▀
░░░░░░▀███████████▀
░░░░░░░░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀

▀  Twitter
▀  Telegram
▀  Facebook
▀  ANN Thread
▀  Whitepaper
▀  Website
notNigel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 01:01:49 AM
 #5

Hi thanks. Well, I'm confused about namecoin because I don't know where they are supposed to show up. Do they show up in a seperate namecoin client? Am I supposed to have a seperate namecoin address for namecoins?

I try and run the namcoind but I don't get a GUI like the bitcoin one.

I've pointed my guiminer at coinotron, set up the worker like I am supposed to, and it connects and mines. Seems OK, but where do I see my namecoins?

Basic question, does mining namecoins just add to my bitcoin pile? That can't be right, there must be a difference.

I'm flummoxed.  Huh
twobits
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
July 23, 2011, 01:07:56 AM
 #6

Hi thanks. Well, I'm confused about namecoin because I don't know where they are supposed to show up. Do they show up in a seperate namecoin client? Am I supposed to have a seperate namecoin address for namecoins?

I try and run the namcoind but I don't get a GUI like the bitcoin one.

I've pointed my guiminer at coinotron, set up the worker like I am supposed to, and it connects and mines. Seems OK, but where do I see my namecoins?

Basic question, does mining namecoins just add to my bitcoin pile? That can't be right, there must be a difference.

I'm flummoxed.  Huh

Yes, they are seperate addresses.   You will need to tell the pool the address to send you namecoins to just like you have to do for bitcoins.




░░░░░░░░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄
░░░░░░▄███████████▄
░░░░▄██▀▀░░░░░░░░▀██▄
░░░██▀░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄░░░░▀██
░░██▀░░▄██▀▀▀▀▀░░▄▄
██▀░░██▀░░▄▄▄▄░░▀▀
██▀░░██░░▄██▀▀▀█▄
██░░██░░██▀
██░░▀▀░░██
██░░▄▄░░██
██░░██░░██▄
██▄░░██░░▀██▄▄▄█▀
██▄░░██▄░░▀▀▀▀░░▄▄
░░██▄░░▀██▄▄▄▄▄░░▀▀
░░░██▄░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀░░░░▄██
░░░░▀██▄▄░░░░░░░░▄██▀
░░░░░░▀███████████▀
░░░░░░░░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀


░░░░░░░░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄
░░░░░░▄███████████▄
░░░░▄██▀▀░░░░░░░░▀██▄
░░░██▀░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄░░░░▀██
░░██▀░░▄██▀▀▀▀▀░░▄▄
██▀░░██▀░░▄▄▄▄░░▀▀
██▀░░██░░▄██▀▀▀█▄
██░░██░░██▀
██░░▀▀░░██
██░░▄▄░░██
██░░██░░██▄
██▄░░██░░▀██▄▄▄█▀
██▄░░██▄░░▀▀▀▀░░▄▄
░░██▄░░▀██▄▄▄▄▄░░▀▀
░░░██▄░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀░░░░▄██
░░░░▀██▄▄░░░░░░░░▄██▀
░░░░░░▀███████████▀
░░░░░░░░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀

▀  Twitter
▀  Telegram
▀  Facebook
▀  ANN Thread
▀  Whitepaper
▀  Website
notNigel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 01:14:06 AM
 #7

Ah, you mean a new address on my regular bitcoin client GUI?
That's easy enough.
Or a new address from my non starting non existant pain in the arse namecoind mystery non client.
notNigel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 01:33:48 AM
 #8

Simple error, I had to save the .conf file in the right way.

As in
http://dot-bit.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=54

that give me a command prompt screen with nothing on it. I don't know if that's an improvement or not.
cryptomint
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 01:58:41 AM
 #9

Simple error, I had to save the .conf file in the right way.

As in
http://dot-bit.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=54

that give me a command prompt screen with nothing on it. I don't know if that's an improvement or not.

1. Open cmd.exe, run "namecoind.exe".

2. Open another cmd.exe, perform commands...

Get your first namecoin address: "namecoind.exe listreceivedbyaddress 0 true"

"namecoind.exe getinfo"
"namecoind.exe listtransactions"
"namecoind.exe help"

You can start mining once you catch up to the current block.
notNigel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 02:26:35 AM
 #10

Did step 1 but I still got an error.

So I started the bitcoind just by clicking on the icon, and THEN opened a second cmd.exe window.

Now I can use the commands, see my namecoin address and the rest.

Progress!

Thanks  Kiss
notNigel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 02:45:23 AM
 #11

And now I'm a namecoin miner, and will listen to a song with miner in the title to celebrate, like this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JWPBuoFs3Mg

 Smiley
cryptomint
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 02:47:43 AM
 #12

That is the correct way to do it.

It's normal behavior for namecoind to just show a blinking cursor when you start it up in windows.

http://dot-bit.org/InstallAndConfigureNamecoin

"Note : on windows, this message may not appear, and you need to open a new terminal to type other commands."
cryptomint
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 02:51:36 AM
 #13

And now I'm a namecoin miner, and will listen to a song with miner in the title to celebrate, like this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JWPBuoFs3Mg

 Smiley

Nice!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OnIXXe83fe4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6nE8DFaxd94

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FdNS4g8vOnc

notNigel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 03:14:40 AM
 #14

Oh yes! Cool
notNigel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 03:20:59 AM
 #15

Now I can add to my mining music thread.

http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=22151.msg279060#msg279060
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!