Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 02:17:53 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: namecoin  (Read 1273 times)
notNigel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 04:48:23 PM
 #1

I've been trying to get namecoin working, but I'm sturggling - I'm not windows conversant at all.
I want to get it going with guiminer if possible, anyone seen a good how to?
1481249873
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481249873

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481249873
Reply with quote  #2

1481249873
Report to moderator
1481249873
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481249873

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481249873
Reply with quote  #2

1481249873
Report to moderator
1481249873
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481249873

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481249873
Reply with quote  #2

1481249873
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
wallet.dat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 253


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 04:51:36 PM
 #2

Check this thread for a step-by-step:

http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=30561.0

"MOOOOOOOM! THE MEATLOAF!!! F**K!"
notNigel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 12:37:33 AM
 #3

Thanks, yes I did that, just about.

I don't know how to get the guiminer to use the right daemon and config file.

I run the bitcoind but I just get "To use namecoind, you must set rpc=<password> blah blah blah

I've done that, made the conf file, put it in App Data in the namecoin directory, filled in the passwords but it does nothing.
I get the 'problems communicating wth RPC 0 2 blurb.

So I'm stumped. Undecided
twobits
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336

Firstbits: 1a6taw


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 12:43:21 AM
 #4

I would say if you are uncomfortable with the cli,   just use it enough to get a namecoin address out of it, and then use a pool just like you do for bitcoins.

I am currently using https://poolmunity.com  for some namecoin mining myself.

notNigel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 01:01:49 AM
 #5

Hi thanks. Well, I'm confused about namecoin because I don't know where they are supposed to show up. Do they show up in a seperate namecoin client? Am I supposed to have a seperate namecoin address for namecoins?

I try and run the namcoind but I don't get a GUI like the bitcoin one.

I've pointed my guiminer at coinotron, set up the worker like I am supposed to, and it connects and mines. Seems OK, but where do I see my namecoins?

Basic question, does mining namecoins just add to my bitcoin pile? That can't be right, there must be a difference.

I'm flummoxed.  Huh
twobits
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336

Firstbits: 1a6taw


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 01:07:56 AM
 #6

Hi thanks. Well, I'm confused about namecoin because I don't know where they are supposed to show up. Do they show up in a seperate namecoin client? Am I supposed to have a seperate namecoin address for namecoins?

I try and run the namcoind but I don't get a GUI like the bitcoin one.

I've pointed my guiminer at coinotron, set up the worker like I am supposed to, and it connects and mines. Seems OK, but where do I see my namecoins?

Basic question, does mining namecoins just add to my bitcoin pile? That can't be right, there must be a difference.

I'm flummoxed.  Huh

Yes, they are seperate addresses.   You will need to tell the pool the address to send you namecoins to just like you have to do for bitcoins.


notNigel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 01:14:06 AM
 #7

Ah, you mean a new address on my regular bitcoin client GUI?
That's easy enough.
Or a new address from my non starting non existant pain in the arse namecoind mystery non client.
notNigel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 01:33:48 AM
 #8

Simple error, I had to save the .conf file in the right way.

As in
http://dot-bit.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=54

that give me a command prompt screen with nothing on it. I don't know if that's an improvement or not.
cryptomint
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 60


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 01:58:41 AM
 #9

Simple error, I had to save the .conf file in the right way.

As in
http://dot-bit.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=54

that give me a command prompt screen with nothing on it. I don't know if that's an improvement or not.

1. Open cmd.exe, run "namecoind.exe".

2. Open another cmd.exe, perform commands...

Get your first namecoin address: "namecoind.exe listreceivedbyaddress 0 true"

"namecoind.exe getinfo"
"namecoind.exe listtransactions"
"namecoind.exe help"

You can start mining once you catch up to the current block.
notNigel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 02:26:35 AM
 #10

Did step 1 but I still got an error.

So I started the bitcoind just by clicking on the icon, and THEN opened a second cmd.exe window.

Now I can use the commands, see my namecoin address and the rest.

Progress!

Thanks  Kiss
notNigel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 02:45:23 AM
 #11

And now I'm a namecoin miner, and will listen to a song with miner in the title to celebrate, like this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JWPBuoFs3Mg

 Smiley
cryptomint
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 60


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 02:47:43 AM
 #12

That is the correct way to do it.

It's normal behavior for namecoind to just show a blinking cursor when you start it up in windows.

http://dot-bit.org/InstallAndConfigureNamecoin

"Note : on windows, this message may not appear, and you need to open a new terminal to type other commands."
cryptomint
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 60


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 02:51:36 AM
 #13

And now I'm a namecoin miner, and will listen to a song with miner in the title to celebrate, like this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JWPBuoFs3Mg

 Smiley

Nice!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OnIXXe83fe4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6nE8DFaxd94

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FdNS4g8vOnc

notNigel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 03:14:40 AM
 #14

Oh yes! Cool
notNigel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 03:20:59 AM
 #15

Now I can add to my mining music thread.

http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=22151.msg279060#msg279060
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!