Bitcoin Forum
September 25, 2017, 06:42:10 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining w/ two 5830s reboots system  (Read 2311 times)
FreeJAC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 25, 2011, 12:50:46 PM
 #21

The difference being, pushing the limits of an OC'ed card locks the system doesn't reboot it like this issue is causing. With no OC'ing It has been working for about 18hrs so far without rebooting itself.

Donate here.... 18NiDLDA3qRxkEPN36xrzsdSgvEkbDKgNr
1506321730
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506321730

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506321730
Reply with quote  #2

1506321730
Report to moderator
1506321730
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506321730

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506321730
Reply with quote  #2

1506321730
Report to moderator
1506321730
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506321730

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506321730
Reply with quote  #2

1506321730
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1506321730
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506321730

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506321730
Reply with quote  #2

1506321730
Report to moderator
1506321730
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506321730

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506321730
Reply with quote  #2

1506321730
Report to moderator
Xephan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 25, 2011, 04:11:02 PM
 #22

The difference being, pushing the limits of an OC'ed card locks the system doesn't reboot it like this issue is causing. With no OC'ing It has been working for about 18hrs so far without rebooting itself.

That's why I suspect it's your PSU. Because an excess OC'd like you said, should just result in corrupted display or a system hang. Reboot sounds very much like a PSU issue. So the only way to find out is to reduce system load, by running one card, and clocking as high on the other as possible. If you're able to reach much higher clocks on either of the card alone for much longer than when both are running, this means you know at least it isn't because the GPU core isn't able to handle it.

Since temperatures for both cards are relatively cool even running together, that rules out overheating of the card.

So you're left with the PSU being too weak to do this for extended period.


186q9YUW3x8TVHC5aYBEqgZZYMxft8Cw9f
CanaryInTheMine
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


between a rock and a block!


View Profile
July 25, 2011, 09:39:11 PM
 #23

I've been battling the same problem actually...

It may be a PSU issue for you, however mine seems to be something else entirely:

Swapped out to 750 (80%) PSU.  Random reboots persist.
Replaced both XFX 5830 with 2 Sapphire 5830. still craps out.

OC modification whatever way you want makes no difference.

Replaced the memory stick.  still random reboots.

I have 2 things left to consider:

CPU and mobo.

disconnected the power on one 5830, still reboots.

disconnected power on the other 5830, everything seems fine.

mobo is 870A-G54

Should I bother replacing the CPU (i personally think it's a waste of time) or should I consider replacing the mobo at this point?

The PCIe slot that seems to be isolated as the cause of issues is the closest one to the CPU.

Could someone give me a second opinion on this issue please?  replace mobo?

| In Default we Trust | Need gold/silver for btc? | Buy bitcoins |
Xephan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 25, 2011, 10:23:19 PM
 #24

Download memtest and put your memory through the pace first.

Then download something like prime95(run multiple copies), or OCCT or basically any kind of stress test that comes with verification checks and go through the stress test.

If the CPU stress tests work fine, but craps out on any test that does a lot of communications on the bus e.g. RAM, GPU, then there is a high chance you've got crap board or crap memory.

186q9YUW3x8TVHC5aYBEqgZZYMxft8Cw9f
hmblm1245
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 635


View Profile
August 07, 2011, 03:56:09 AM
 #25

i had issues like this as well and ended up going to a 900w psu. those 5830s are power hungry especially when over clocked. i know lots og people say 600 or 700 is enough for two or the rule of thumb for btc mining is 200w per card plus 150 for mobo, memory... but for my 6 systems i needed about 250 or more per 5830. just my 2 cents
CanaryInTheMine
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


between a rock and a block!


View Profile
August 07, 2011, 09:45:05 PM
 #26

i had issues like this as well and ended up going to a 900w psu. those 5830s are power hungry especially when over clocked. i know lots og people say 600 or 700 is enough for two or the rule of thumb for btc mining is 200w per card plus 150 for mobo, memory... but for my 6 systems i needed about 250 or more per 5830. just my 2 cents

200+200+150=550 /750 =73.33 % load on a 750W PSU.  if you have an 80% efficiency 750W PSU, it should be more that plenty.

HOWEVER!!!  if you have a 750W PSU and the 12V rail is not delivering enought amps for both cards, then it would be a problem.

I'm not sure how you were drawing 250 /card, sounds like you were overvolting and then, yes you need more juice: 250+250+150=650/750= 86.66% here you'd need a Gold cert. 80% efficiency 750W PSU at least...

| In Default we Trust | Need gold/silver for btc? | Buy bitcoins |
d9000
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
August 08, 2011, 05:46:35 AM
 #27

I have had problems with other Windows 7 boxes shutting down due to CPU temperature.  Double check your system log files for errors and see if you can get a temperature reading from your CPU or motherboard - not just the graphics cards - right before this happens.
FreeJAC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
August 08, 2011, 12:32:17 PM
 #28

Yeah this is kind of where I've been leaning because of the high CPU usage now due to the drivers. The CPU cooler is only a small fan with a moderate heat sink. The 12v rail amp idea is kind of interesting however. With only a bit of OC'ing (300Mh/s each) I can keep it stable for up to a couple of days before a reboot so I've been living with that for now. I plan to change out one of the cards with a lower power / hash one at some point anyway once I get another rig up and running. With the price ATM however it might be later rather than sooner.  Embarrassed

Donate here.... 18NiDLDA3qRxkEPN36xrzsdSgvEkbDKgNr
mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
August 08, 2011, 02:07:52 PM
 #29

i had issues like this as well and ended up going to a 900w psu. those 5830s are power hungry especially when over clocked. i know lots og people say 600 or 700 is enough for two or the rule of thumb for btc mining is 200w per card plus 150 for mobo, memory... but for my 6 systems i needed about 250 or more per 5830. just my 2 cents
I'm not sure if your 5830's are just power hungry or what but I have a rig of 4 5830's that pull a little over 900 watts and they are all overclocked to go 330 megahash a sec. I know it pulls a little over 900 because I have a kilowatt meter.
hmblm1245
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 635


View Profile
August 08, 2011, 02:14:38 PM
 #30

i had issues like this as well and ended up going to a 900w psu. those 5830s are power hungry especially when over clocked. i know lots og people say 600 or 700 is enough for two or the rule of thumb for btc mining is 200w per card plus 150 for mobo, memory... but for my 6 systems i needed about 250 or more per 5830. just my 2 cents
I'm not sure if your 5830's are just power hungry or what but I have a rig of 4 5830's that pull a little over 900 watts and they are all overclocked to go 330 megahash a sec. I know it pulls a little over 900 because I have a kilowatt meter.
hmmm maybe its my cooling system that is pulling more than expected. I have a crapper 1000watt and it will not power power 4 5830s. (i meant 1000w not 900 above) http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817159101, 4 80mm fans on top, one 120 pushing air from the back.
mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
August 08, 2011, 02:29:23 PM
 #31

hmmm maybe its my cooling system that is pulling more than expected. I have a crapper 1000watt and it will not power power 4 5830s. (i meant 1000w not 900 above) http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817159101, 4 80mm fans on top, one 120 pushing air from the back.
Yea that doesn't look like the greatest psu. It's also possible the extra fans are draining a lot. I'm using the aluminum case that is stickied in the hardware section and it doesn't require extra fans.
Xephan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
August 16, 2011, 07:22:12 PM
 #32

hmmm maybe its my cooling system that is pulling more than expected. I have a crapper 1000watt and it will not power power 4 5830s. (i meant 1000w not 900 above) http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817159101, 4 80mm fans on top, one 120 pushing air from the back.

Looking at the price tag on that thing, I think it's almost safe to assume it's nowhere near being capable of 1000W. Which would easily explain why you can't use 4 cards with it.

Unless you have extremely powerful fans, they usually don't pull more than 0.2~0.3A each, so we're talking about 12~24W for 5 fans max, pretty insignificant compared to the GPU.

186q9YUW3x8TVHC5aYBEqgZZYMxft8Cw9f
abracadabra
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 946



View Profile
August 26, 2011, 02:15:14 AM
 #33

i had issues like this as well and ended up going to a 900w psu. those 5830s are power hungry especially when over clocked. i know lots og people say 600 or 700 is enough for two or the rule of thumb for btc mining is 200w per card plus 150 for mobo, memory... but for my 6 systems i needed about 250 or more per 5830. just my 2 cents
I'm not sure if your 5830's are just power hungry or what but I have a rig of 4 5830's that pull a little over 900 watts and they are all overclocked to go 330 megahash a sec. I know it pulls a little over 900 because I have a kilowatt meter.
hmmm maybe its my cooling system that is pulling more than expected. I have a crapper 1000watt and it will not power power 4 5830s. (i meant 1000w not 900 above) http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817159101, 4 80mm fans on top, one 120 pushing air from the back.

I'm running 4 5830s o/c to 1020/325 on that same exact psu.  Rest of the rig is minimal.  sempron 130, 1 stick 2gig ram, low power laptop drive.

Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!