Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 03:45:47 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: heads up: HD6xxx memory does NOT actually underclock  (Read 4198 times)
organofcorti
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Poor impulse control.


View Profile WWW
July 23, 2011, 10:26:39 AM
 #21

sapphire

Bitcoin network and pool analysis 12QxPHEuxDrs7mCyGSx1iVSozTwtquDB3r
follow @oocBlog for new post notifications
1481298347
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481298347

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481298347
Reply with quote  #2

1481298347
Report to moderator
1481298347
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481298347

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481298347
Reply with quote  #2

1481298347
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481298347
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481298347

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481298347
Reply with quote  #2

1481298347
Report to moderator
1481298347
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481298347

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481298347
Reply with quote  #2

1481298347
Report to moderator
1481298347
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481298347

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481298347
Reply with quote  #2

1481298347
Report to moderator
Bengel
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 07:27:36 PM
 #22

ok, but if they were underclocked I'm fairly sure you be a bit cooler. Try a test - as is, then back to max. Run max for a few hours, post the two temp diffs. I'll be really interested in your answer since I haven't been able to uc mem very far before it reverts to max.

Ran a test.. I don't think I need to run it very long at all. The temperature difference was immediate. I waited until things stabilized then took some screenshots/pics of kill-a-watt. Here are my results. (Also, these cards are Sapphire http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102921)


Underclocked memory results:
http://i.imgur.com/X6mYk.jpg

Default memory results:
http://i.imgur.com/gBEJT.jpg
zard_cz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 07:47:23 PM
 #23

Same experience here - XFX 6870 (the reference design). Can "try" to underclock both in afterburner or TriXX, but the actual frequency is still high..
scifimike12
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 304



View Profile
July 23, 2011, 09:34:55 PM
 #24

The reason why you can't lower the memory clocks is because you have to disable AMD Overdrive in CCC.  The problem is that the 69xx series need Power Control Settings set to 20% for optimal performance.  Some cards can bypass this (ex: MSI 6970 Lightning) but others cannot unless AMD Overdrive is enabled.
organofcorti
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Poor impulse control.


View Profile WWW
July 23, 2011, 11:42:24 PM
 #25

Quote
Ran a test.. I don't think I need to run it very long at all. The temperature difference was immediate. I waited until things stabilized then took some screenshots/pics of kill-a-watt. Here are my results. (Also, these cards are Sapphire http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102921)

Thank you you heaps for taking the time to do that! You are totally right. Now if the 'disable AMD overdrive' dude is correct, I just have to figure out how to do this under Linux and maybe my gf and my power company will hate me a little less.

Bitcoin network and pool analysis 12QxPHEuxDrs7mCyGSx1iVSozTwtquDB3r
follow @oocBlog for new post notifications
Bengel
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
July 24, 2011, 01:56:15 AM
 #26

Quote
Ran a test.. I don't think I need to run it very long at all. The temperature difference was immediate. I waited until things stabilized then took some screenshots/pics of kill-a-watt. Here are my results. (Also, these cards are Sapphire http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102921)

Thank you you heaps for taking the time to do that! You are totally right. Now if the 'disable AMD overdrive' dude is correct, I just have to figure out how to do this under Linux and maybe my gf and my power company will hate me a little less.

Not a problem! Smiley

I have 3x 6950's coming here on Monday/Tuesday and I'll be running linuxcoin on this box. Ill let you know if run into a similar issue.
pixilated8
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
July 25, 2011, 12:48:52 PM
 #27

Thank you you heaps for taking the time to do that! You are totally right. Now if the 'disable AMD overdrive' dude is correct, I just have to figure out how to do this under Linux and maybe my gf and my power company will hate me a little less.

Lots of Linux overclocking info here:
http://www.linuxcoin.co.uk/wiki/index.php/Overclocking

I've got two 6970's and was able to get their mem clocks down to 755.  Any lower and it would shoot up to max when under load.

organofcorti
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Poor impulse control.


View Profile WWW
July 25, 2011, 01:13:31 PM
 #28

Thank you you heaps for taking the time to do that! You are totally right. Now if the 'disable AMD overdrive' dude is correct, I just have to figure out how to do this under Linux and maybe my gf and my power company will hate me a little less.

Lots of Linux overclocking info here:
http://www.linuxcoin.co.uk/wiki/index.php/Overclocking

I've got two 6970's and was able to get their mem clocks down to 755.  Any lower and it would shoot up to max when under load.

So you don't know how to do what this guy did either?

Bitcoin network and pool analysis 12QxPHEuxDrs7mCyGSx1iVSozTwtquDB3r
follow @oocBlog for new post notifications
ruski
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182

I'm a hero now?


View Profile
July 25, 2011, 02:46:08 PM
 #29

It underclocks just fine. Unlock AB, it will stick at any number. Id advise against it though...

Mobo: Asus P8P67, Intel i5
OS: Win 7 64 bit
PSU: APower 1200W (don't even say it)
Case: Case? What case?
GPU: is for sale
organofcorti
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Poor impulse control.


View Profile WWW
July 25, 2011, 03:00:35 PM
 #30

It underclocks just fine. Unlock AB, it will stick at any number. Id advise against it though...

i have no idea what you mean. how are you underclocking memory for a 69xx series on linux and why do you advise against it?

Bitcoin network and pool analysis 12QxPHEuxDrs7mCyGSx1iVSozTwtquDB3r
follow @oocBlog for new post notifications
ruski
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182

I'm a hero now?


View Profile
July 25, 2011, 03:08:42 PM
 #31

Win 7, but if win can do it its not the card's fault.

As for why I advise against it, see http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=31584.0  Sad

Mobo: Asus P8P67, Intel i5
OS: Win 7 64 bit
PSU: APower 1200W (don't even say it)
Case: Case? What case?
GPU: is for sale
Bengel
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 08:57:00 PM
 #32

Eh I'm pretty sure clock speeds aren't going to brick your card. Voltage and heat will do it.

That being said, I put together my 3x 6950 setup with linuxcoin and ran into the same problem. I couldn't get the memory to clock under core - 100. I disabled CCC Overdrive and it didn't help. People said Catalyst 11.6 fixed that (maybe it did with 5000 series cards) but it didn't do me any good.

The only guys who seemed to be getting anywhere were the ones who flashed the bios to another manufacturers (I think Asus) or modifying the bios to change the min/max speeds.

http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=19776.msg290674#msg290674
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 06:45:33 PM
 #33

I have a Asus 6950 DC2 1GB and I noticed the memory doesnt under clock correctly when trying to use programs such as afterburner and so forth. But ati tray tools allows me to take the memory all the way down to 150mhz or lower...and confirmed it w/ gpuz sensors and power usage substantially dropped.

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!