Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 05:24:48 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can my motherboard handle a 5770 and a 5850?  (Read 827 times)
bizzy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 11:41:55 PM
 #1

I have an Asus M4A87TD motherboard, with one PCI-e x16 slot, one PCI-e x4 slot, and one PCI-e x1 slot.

I'd like to run a 5770 card from the x1 slot, and a 5850 card from the x16 slot. Is that likely to overheat any connections on the motherboard? (The graphics cards presumably draw most of their power from a connection directly to the PSU, right?)

Thanks!
1481347488
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481347488

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481347488
Reply with quote  #2

1481347488
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481347488
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481347488

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481347488
Reply with quote  #2

1481347488
Report to moderator
1481347488
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481347488

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481347488
Reply with quote  #2

1481347488
Report to moderator
cryptomint
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 60


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 01:34:17 AM
 #2

http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD_AM3/M4A87TDUSB3/

Looks roomy for 2. Go for it.

You should be able to hook up 3 cards to that motherboard if you get an extender cable.


I'm running 2x5850 and 1x5870 on a board with one PCIe x16, one PCIe x4, one PCIe x1 thanks to a PCIe x1->x16 extender from cablesaurus.
bizzy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54


View Profile
July 24, 2011, 10:52:06 AM
 #3

Was your x4 slot open ended? Mine seems to be closed. I don't really want to resort to a soldering iron like this guy: http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/249291-12-card. Will probably have to get an extender cable then. Next problem is how to mount the card while still leaving the case closed... (don't want the kids to get electrocuted).
cryptomint
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 60


View Profile
July 25, 2011, 03:53:54 AM
 #4

Was your x4 slot open ended? Mine seems to be closed. I don't really want to resort to a soldering iron like this guy: http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/249291-12-card. Will probably have to get an extender cable then. Next problem is how to mount the card while still leaving the case closed... (don't want the kids to get electrocuted).

My bad, I was thinking you had two x16 sized slots and one ran at x4.

You could still hook up 3 cards if you buy both an x1->x16 and an x4->x16 cable.

Fitting them in your case may be tricky, get creative and you'll probably be able to work something out.

Extender Cables: http://cablesaurus.com or http://shop.ebay.com/cablesaurus/m.html

Or you could cut the slots: http://blog.zorinaq.com/?e=53

I personally haven't cut any slots ... I went to do it once and decided to just get the cables right before I went through with it.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!