Bitcoin Forum
January 17, 2019, 10:22:42 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Multiminer not detecting USB erupters  (Read 3025 times)
manav1112
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 300
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 16, 2013, 03:55:22 AM
 #1

Hi I have my erupters working in cgminer but now when i want to have it in multiminer it wont detect it. How come it works in cgminer when i do it through my .bat file?

PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1547763762
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547763762

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547763762
Reply with quote  #2

1547763762
Report to moderator
1547763762
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547763762

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547763762
Reply with quote  #2

1547763762
Report to moderator
1547763762
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547763762

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547763762
Reply with quote  #2

1547763762
Report to moderator
Leehoya
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 16, 2013, 03:57:41 AM
 #2

Hi I have my erupters working in cgminer but now when i want to have it in multiminer it wont detect it. How come it works in cgminer when i do it through my .bat file?
Check your settings, try changing usb ports.

nwoolls
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
October 16, 2013, 12:41:39 PM
 #3

Hi I have my erupters working in cgminer but now when i want to have it in multiminer it wont detect it. How come it works in cgminer when i do it through my .bat file?

In the future I'd recommend posting in the thread for MultiMiner here:

http://thread.multiminerapp.com

This will ensure you get faster help and the assistance of others using the software.

MultiMiner uses either cgminer or bfgminer on the backend. So if cgminer detects your USB Erupters there should be no issue seeing them in MultiMiner. What version of cgminer are you using? What arguments are you passing in to cgminer currently? Can you try running the following command with cgminer and see if it lists your Erupters:

Code:
cgminer -d?

MultiMiner: Any Miner, Any Where, on Any Device |  Xgminer: Mine with popular miners on Mac OS X
btc: 1BmXY4ZZQh1iHSVre658gM1gPAEtDnq8rv  |  ltc: LP1SsHZTDexndkvRKsqAkXNsienPHwaMb5  |  hardware: nwoolls at gmail dot com
manav1112
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 300
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 17, 2013, 04:07:04 AM
 #4

I did that, it still doesnt detect. My cgminer is 3.6.1, and it doesnt detect it at all :/. I dont wanna try BFGMiner because i dont have the drivers for it.

nwoolls
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
October 17, 2013, 04:25:28 AM
 #5

I did that, it still doesnt detect. My cgminer is 3.6.1, and it doesnt detect it at all :/. I dont wanna try BFGMiner because i dont have the drivers for it.

I'm sorry I wasn't clear. Please run this command at the command line and then paste the output back here:

Code:
cgminer -d?

Honestly cgminer has had new releases 3 times in the past 3-4 days and several of them were due to broken USB support. The current version is still broken for OS X. I would recommend trying bfgminer. What is the problem with the drivers? They are available here:

http://www.silabs.com/products/mcu/pages/usbtouartbridgevcpdrivers.aspx

MultiMiner: Any Miner, Any Where, on Any Device |  Xgminer: Mine with popular miners on Mac OS X
btc: 1BmXY4ZZQh1iHSVre658gM1gPAEtDnq8rv  |  ltc: LP1SsHZTDexndkvRKsqAkXNsienPHwaMb5  |  hardware: nwoolls at gmail dot com
manav1112
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 300
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 17, 2013, 06:01:08 AM
 #6

cgminer -d: requires an argument was the response

nwoolls
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
October 17, 2013, 06:03:37 AM
 #7

cgminer -d: requires an argument was the response

Include the question mark:

Code:
cgminer -d?

MultiMiner: Any Miner, Any Where, on Any Device |  Xgminer: Mine with popular miners on Mac OS X
btc: 1BmXY4ZZQh1iHSVre658gM1gPAEtDnq8rv  |  ltc: LP1SsHZTDexndkvRKsqAkXNsienPHwaMb5  |  hardware: nwoolls at gmail dot com
manav1112
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 300
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 17, 2013, 06:20:05 AM
 #8

It only shows the GPU but, when I have the bat executing it like this: it works
Code:
C:\cgminer\cgminer-nogpu.exe -o stratum.triplemining.com:3334 -u manav1112_1 -p x --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S //./COM3 -S //./COM12

nwoolls
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
October 17, 2013, 07:00:36 AM
 #9

It only shows the GPU but, when I have the bat executing it like this: it works
Code:
C:\cgminer\cgminer-nogpu.exe -o stratum.triplemining.com:3334 -u manav1112_1 -p x --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S //./COM3 -S //./COM12

Check out the official documentation for using cgminer with USB devices. The method you are using is outdated.

https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/README

Search for setting up USB devices.

MultiMiner: Any Miner, Any Where, on Any Device |  Xgminer: Mine with popular miners on Mac OS X
btc: 1BmXY4ZZQh1iHSVre658gM1gPAEtDnq8rv  |  ltc: LP1SsHZTDexndkvRKsqAkXNsienPHwaMb5  |  hardware: nwoolls at gmail dot com
manav1112
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 300
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 17, 2013, 07:37:53 AM
 #10

Did all of that now. It still wont detect it, and now I cant mine from doing the command before  Sad

nwoolls
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
October 17, 2013, 12:27:34 PM
Last edit: October 17, 2013, 12:39:46 PM by nwoolls
 #11

Did all of that now. It still wont detect it, and now I cant mine from doing the command before  Sad

I'm sorry to hear that. But, as I stated before, cgminer has had 3 releases in the past 3-4 days and several of them were due to broken USB support. The USB support is still broken for OS X. I would recommend trying bfgminer.

If you hare still having trouble with cgminer I would suggest using the official thread for support:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.0

Edit: Make that 4 releases. Let's hope things stabilize, otherwise I may drop cgminer support altogether...

MultiMiner: Any Miner, Any Where, on Any Device |  Xgminer: Mine with popular miners on Mac OS X
btc: 1BmXY4ZZQh1iHSVre658gM1gPAEtDnq8rv  |  ltc: LP1SsHZTDexndkvRKsqAkXNsienPHwaMb5  |  hardware: nwoolls at gmail dot com
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!