Bitcoin Forum
April 24, 2019, 03:03:39 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Ethereum mining with GTX 1060 3GB cards? No longer possible? DAG/OS issues  (Read 1347 times)
haggyy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 13, 2018, 11:49:11 AM
 #1

Hey guys,

This is just a quick one to anyone who may know an answer to my question, I have a couple of GTX 1060 3gb mining rigs and they can no longer mine ethereum on the latest version of Windows 10.

Apparently the latest Windows 10 update has increased the size the OS uses on the VRAM which now exceeds the DAG file size on ethereum making 3GB redundant for mining ethereum, so i've been told anyway.. I've tried installing Windows 8 on one of my systems to see if I can mine ethereum but still have the same issues.

I was debating to look into using simple mining OS or possibly going back to an earlier version of windows. As of course these would hog less VRAM, but would be interesting to hear if anyone else has had the same experience.

Any advice would be amazing  Smiley

Many thanks




1556118219
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1556118219

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1556118219
Reply with quote  #2

1556118219
Report to moderator
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1556118219
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1556118219

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1556118219
Reply with quote  #2

1556118219
Report to moderator
miguelik
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213
Merit: 102


View Profile
March 13, 2018, 11:54:39 AM
 #2

Hey guys,

This is just a quick one to anyone who may know an answer to my question, I have a couple of GTX 1060 3gb mining rigs and they can no longer mine ethereum on the latest version of Windows 10.

Apparently the latest Windows 10 update has increased the size the OS uses on the VRAM which now exceeds the DAG file size on ethereum making 3GB redundant for mining ethereum, so i've been told anyway.. I've tried installing Windows 8 on one of my systems to see if I can mine ethereum but still have the same issues.

I was debating to look into using simple mining OS or possibly going back to an earlier version of windows. As of course these would hog less VRAM, nut would be interesting to hear if anyone else has had the same experience.

Is anyone able to help advise me what to do in this situation?

Many thanks






I can confirm I am mining ethereum with this cards on simple mining without issues
haggyy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 16, 2018, 10:40:53 PM
 #3

Hey guys,

This is just a quick one to anyone who may know an answer to my question, I have a couple of GTX 1060 3gb mining rigs and they can no longer mine ethereum on the latest version of Windows 10.

Apparently the latest Windows 10 update has increased the size the OS uses on the VRAM which now exceeds the DAG file size on ethereum making 3GB redundant for mining ethereum, so i've been told anyway.. I've tried installing Windows 8 on one of my systems to see if I can mine ethereum but still have the same issues.

I was debating to look into using simple mining OS or possibly going back to an earlier version of windows. As of course these would hog less VRAM, nut would be interesting to hear if anyone else has had the same experience.

Is anyone able to help advise me what to do in this situation?

Many thanks






I can confirm I am mining ethereum with this cards on simple mining without issues

Great thanks man I'm gonna try install this on the weekend, has anyone else had the same issues?
Sledge0001
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 162
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
March 16, 2018, 11:02:33 PM
 #4

I too am using SMOS with over 40 x 1060 3GB cards without issues.

The overclocking function in SMOS will take you a bit to get used to but it works. Make the move!
crypto.lawyer.187
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 26, 2018, 01:43:21 AM
 #5

I too am using SMOS with over 40 x 1060 3GB cards without issues.

The overclocking function in SMOS will take you a bit to get used to but it works. Make the move!


i tried loading SMOS

and i got a black screeen and UBUNTU


FUCK


i got 50 gtx 1060 3gb stuck mining PIRL
Sledge0001
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 162
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
March 26, 2018, 01:58:39 AM
 #6

You need to have a Ethernet cable attached and dhcp running in your environment. Once you get them online you can ssh in and hard code an IP address.

After you make the USB make sure to change the email address in the text file and then just boot from usb...

I use claymore-eth-v11.5 miner inside SMOS and here is the stratum code... Change 0x63F96e9A2F94B062513c7bf3bDF4D965420288Ac to your ethereum address and go!

-wd 1 -r 1 -epool stratum+tcp://us2.ethermine.org:4444 -ewal 0x63F96e9A2F94B062513c7bf3bDF4D965420288Ac.$rigName -esm 0 -epsw x -allpools 1 -asm 1 -mport 127.0.0.1:3333

My EVGA 1060 3GB cards are running at -55 Core, 1005 Memory and 75 Watt Power Limit.


Hope this helps.


I too am using SMOS with over 40 x 1060 3GB cards without issues.

The overclocking function in SMOS will take you a bit to get used to but it works. Make the move!


i tried loading SMOS

and i got a black screeen and UBUNTU


FUCK


i got 50 gtx 1060 3gb stuck mining PIRL
GrozniJeri
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 29, 2018, 12:58:41 PM
 #7

Hi
I have the same problem from today 29 March 2018. It seems that our GPUs are useless for mining ETH from today since DAG is more than 3 GB... I'm using GTX 1060 3GB...
Until today same configuration was mining 24/7 from 2 January.... no system changes, no driver changes, nothing.... Also I'm running WIN10. But problem is general not just for us, we will have to mine something else not ETH...

 Cry

Best, J.
warrior333
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 253


View Profile
March 29, 2018, 01:31:14 PM
 #8

Hi
I have the same problem from today 29 March 2018. It seems that our GPUs are useless for mining ETH from today since DAG is more than 3 GB... I'm using GTX 1060 3GB...
Until today same configuration was mining 24/7 from 2 January.... no system changes, no driver changes, nothing.... Also I'm running WIN10. But problem is general not just for us, we will have to mine something else not ETH...

 Cry

Best, J.
That's not true. I have an old GPU with a memory capacity of 3 GB on my rig. Today it works without any problems. You need to check the settings. But I don't know if you have to do it. ETH's profitability is very low now. It seems to me that the best option for you is to look for another coin for mining. Today, the ETH is not profitable.
GrozniJeri
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 29, 2018, 01:45:10 PM
 #9

Configuration is OK, it was mining as I said without problems 24/7. Today at 2 in the morning it stopped, soon also your cards will no longer be able to mine ETH.
What coin are you suggesting to mine? As far I can see everything will go so down that we but GPUs for nothing...Waste of money, we will never be in profit, at least I know for myself. I'm mining from 2. January 2018.

All the best
J.

leonix007
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 282


Grow with community


View Profile
March 29, 2018, 02:31:45 PM
 #10

Configuration is OK, it was mining as I said without problems 24/7. Today at 2 in the morning it stopped, soon also your cards will no longer be able to mine ETH.
What coin are you suggesting to mine? As far I can see everything will go so down that we but GPUs for nothing...Waste of money, we will never be in profit, at least I know for myself. I'm mining from 2. January 2018.

All the best
J.



As far as I know, it still possible as of today, some users were able to solve this with the ff:

in Claymore

-lidag 1
-eres 0

DDU + 376.33


Also taken from Bro Vann's comments kudos to him:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1433925.23000

it's a problem with Windows 10 allocating 19-20% of GPU memory, or in the case of 3GB cards, ~600 MB of VRAM. The current dag size is 2.39 GB, which is why on Windows 10 the Dag file is having trouble being allocated to memory on a 3GB card. The -eres switch and other workarounds are only temporary patches until the Dag gets bigger with every new epoch. Ultimately the longer term solution for 3GB cards is to move to an OS that allocates less VRAM, like Windows 7 that only allocates ~5% or Linux.


GrozniJeri
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 29, 2018, 02:37:46 PM
Last edit: March 29, 2018, 05:26:53 PM by GrozniJeri
 #11

Configuration is OK, it was mining as I said without problems 24/7. Today at 2 in the morning it stopped, soon also your cards will no longer be able to mine ETH.
What coin are you suggesting to mine? As far I can see everything will go so down that we but GPUs for nothing...Waste of money, we will never be in profit, at least I know for myself. I'm mining from 2. January 2018.

All the best
J.


Yes that is correct. So mining ETH with 3 GB cards will soon be over for everyone. I already put -eres 0,  lidag 1 I will try today, when I arrive home.
Thanks for suggestions.

Best,
J.







As far as I know, it still possible as of today, some users were able to solve this with the ff:

in Claymore

-lidag 1
-eres 0

DDU + 376.33


Also taken from Bro Vann's comments kudos to him:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1433925.23000

it's a problem with Windows 10 allocating 19-20% of GPU memory, or in the case of 3GB cards, ~600 MB of VRAM. The current dag size is 2.39 GB, which is why on Windows 10 the Dag file is having trouble being allocated to memory on a 3GB card. The -eres switch and other workarounds are only temporary patches until the Dag gets bigger with every new epoch. Ultimately the longer term solution for 3GB cards is to move to an OS that allocates less VRAM, like Windows 7 that only allocates ~5% or Linux.




Many thanks. Following configuration actually work for me:

Claymore

-lidag 1
-eres 0

DDU + 376.33  (NVIDIA drivers)

I just hope it will work for a long time...

Best,
J.




pablogv
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 30, 2018, 08:10:08 AM
 #12

Some people are solving it going back to 388 drivers from what I know too...
ap0stol
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 30, 2018, 08:37:59 AM
 #13

Hey guys,

win10(win8)+1063+latest drivers
epoch 177-178: work if use claymore with key -eres 0
epoch 179 (~8 apr): work if use ethminer 0.12.0+
epoch 180 (~12 apr): work if use driver 372.54 + claymore with key -eres 0
epoch 181 (~18 apr):  work if use Windows 7 or linux

conclusion: u can use win10(win8) + 1063 + driver 372.54 + claymore with key -eres 0 up to ~18.04.2018 after that only win7 or linux

or u can use win7 or linux now and forget about dag issue.

win7 up to ~ 11.2018
linux up to ~ 12.2018
crypto.lawyer.187
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 18, 2018, 03:17:59 AM
 #14

Hey guys,

win10(win8)+1063+latest drivers
epoch 177-178: work if use claymore with key -eres 0
epoch 179 (~8 apr): work if use ethminer 0.12.0+
epoch 180 (~12 apr): work if use driver 372.54 + claymore with key -eres 0
epoch 181 (~18 apr):  work if use Windows 7 or linux

conclusion: u can use win10(win8) + 1063 + driver 372.54 + claymore with key -eres 0 up to ~18.04.2018 after that only win7 or linux

or u can use win7 or linux now and forget about dag issue.

win7 up to ~ 11.2018
linux up to ~ 12.2018



i CANT GET WINDOWS 7 TO LOAD ON THIS PIECE OF SHIT BOARD!!

BIOSTAR B250H

HELP

7 OF MY 17 MINER ARE FUCKED


SOMEONE HELP ME, ILL SEND ETH
crypto.lawyer.187
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 19, 2018, 01:19:59 AM
 #15

cant load windows 7 through USB

help


ill send mETH
bucketofsocks
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85
Merit: 11


View Profile
April 29, 2018, 03:29:10 PM
 #16

cant load windows 7 through USB

help


ill send mETH

https://www.gigabyte.com/Support/Utility?kw=windows&p=1 search windows usb installation tool. Will work with non gigabyte boards, injects USB drivers into you windows 7 install usb


 ETH -- 0x12F02a82E89c1b4c3BD42aD665F2A1973e8073A5
Ashequr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 06, 2018, 12:15:43 AM
 #17

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4978579.0 has a miner that is not limited by the DAG size. It uses paging to the system memory from the GPU RAM to get around the issues. I've run it without issues. Performance is slightly degraded due to the hit to get to system memory but it is only 5% slower than what it used to be.
SirNeo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 60
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
September 06, 2018, 08:16:48 PM
 #18

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4978579.0 has a miner that is not limited by the DAG size. It uses paging to the system memory from the GPU RAM to get around the issues. I've run it without issues. Performance is slightly degraded due to the hit to get to system memory but it is only 5% slower than what it used to be.

1. This mining tool is a scam/virus.
2. Now the DAG file for Ethereum is 2.66 GB you have another 6 months for mining with those cards if you install Windows 7 or ethos or any other linux based mining software. After that period you can move to Ubiq or other coin



Ashequr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 06, 2018, 10:36:34 PM
Last edit: September 06, 2018, 11:16:08 PM by Ashequr
 #19

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4978579.0 has a miner that is not limited by the DAG size. It uses paging to the system memory from the GPU RAM to get around the issues. I've run it without issues. Performance is slightly degraded due to the hit to get to system memory but it is only 5% slower than what it used to be.

1. This mining tool is a scam/virus.
2. Now the DAG file for Ethereum is 2.66 GB you have another 6 months for mining with those cards if you install Windows 7 or ethos or any other linux based mining software. After that period you can move to Ubiq or other coin





It is going to take a while to convince people that TerraCotta is not a virus. If people have gone through the pain of reverting to Windows 7 from Win 10, just try mining on a fresh Win 10 install on a with new wallet and new everything else. You will see that there this is not a virus. And you can continue mining ether for a long as it makes sense without worrying about DAG size.



DrG
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694
Merit: 1017



View Profile
September 07, 2018, 09:34:30 AM
 #20

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4978579.0 has a miner that is not limited by the DAG size. It uses paging to the system memory from the GPU RAM to get around the issues. I've run it without issues. Performance is slightly degraded due to the hit to get to system memory but it is only 5% slower than what it used to be.

1. This mining tool is a scam/virus.
2. Now the DAG file for Ethereum is 2.66 GB you have another 6 months for mining with those cards if you install Windows 7 or ethos or any other linux based mining software. After that period you can move to Ubiq or other coin





It is going to take a while to convince people that TerraCotta is not a virus. If people have gone through the pain of reverting to Windows 7 from Win 10, just try mining on a fresh Win 10 install on a with new wallet and new everything else. You will see that there this is not a virus. And you can continue mining ether for a long as it makes sense without worrying about DAG size.

Dude, you registered 1 day ago and have 2 posts - both of which are promoting TerraCotta. You also have the same local time zone as TerraCotta poster. Do I really need to call in the mods to ban your ass with this shill account.


IT'S A VIRUS!
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!