Bitcoin Forum
November 12, 2018, 11:44:20 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Connect S7 to wireless computer  (Read 42 times)
ToddnVenice
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 13, 2018, 09:24:00 PM
 #1

I am quite a distance from the router so i am in a room and the computer has wireless... How do i connect the S7 to that computer?
what the best way to get this baby mining using that scenario.

I have a cat 5 cable and i have network cards in the wireless computer..

SO I have the network cable plugged into the s7 and also plugged into the network card slot on my computer that has wireless

i need to detect the antminer i think before i can use it
how do i do that?

Thx
1542066260
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542066260

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542066260
Reply with quote  #2

1542066260
Report to moderator
1542066260
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542066260

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542066260
Reply with quote  #2

1542066260
Report to moderator
1542066260
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542066260

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542066260
Reply with quote  #2

1542066260
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
rifleman74
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 21

4 s9's 2 821's


View Profile
March 14, 2018, 01:42:21 AM
 #2

I am quite a distance from the router so i am in a room and the computer has wireless... How do i connect the S7 to that computer?
what the best way to get this baby mining using that scenario.

I have a cat 5 cable and i have network cards in the wireless computer..

SO I have the network cable plugged into the s7 and also plugged into the network card slot on my computer that has wireless

i need to detect the antminer i think before i can use it
how do i do that?

Thx

Get a powerline adapter set (one by router, one by miner).  Problem solved.
HagssFIN
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078
Merit: 1236


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
March 14, 2018, 01:45:53 AM
 #3

Yeah, a powerline adapter or a wifi-ethernet adapter will solve your problem.

leowonderful
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120
Merit: 1028



View Profile
March 14, 2018, 01:47:24 AM
 #4

I believe there are WiFi extender modules with Ethernet ports sold on eBay that you could try out- they're significantly cheaper than buying two powerline adapters, and they should work for your purposes (though the connection may be slightly less reliable than with a good powerline connection). I used powerline adapters for my GPU rig and  multiple miners including the SP20, S7 and S5 and they all ran fine with almost zero down time.

Here's an example of the extenders I'm talking about on eBay:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/300Mbps-Wifi-Repeater-Wireless-N-802-11-AP-Router-Extender-Signal-Booster-Range/191937833598

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
HagssFIN
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078
Merit: 1236


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
March 14, 2018, 02:04:43 AM
 #5

^ That's a great idea too.

But please remember that if you want to have 100% stable connection, the hardwired connection is the only way to go.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!