Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 04:59:24 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Drop in hash rate going from xp to win 7  (Read 1017 times)
Archer8
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16



View Profile WWW
July 23, 2011, 09:11:15 PM
 #1

 Last month I was using  a  6850 card on an xp  system getting around 160-164 hash rate.
The motherboard fried and now I am using  the same card on a win  7  64 system with a larger power supply but only getting hash rate in the 140s.  In both cases I was using same versions of catalyst and sdk and using phoenix. 

  These are the parameters.
   -k poclbm DEVICE=0 VECTORS AGGRESSION=3

   Anyone have any idea why the drop in hash rate?

bitcoingo.com
If you're feeling generous or just feel like giving, go for it!
1EWv3mjt8JYikLeCateFRRoP4ezNkdXV59
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480741164
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480741164

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480741164
Reply with quote  #2

1480741164
Report to moderator
1480741164
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480741164

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480741164
Reply with quote  #2

1480741164
Report to moderator
Roland68
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103



View Profile
July 23, 2011, 09:27:52 PM
 #2

Forget mining with hashrate soo loow for this card it's  a shame ...

start playing with agression until your mouse doesn't respon nicely ...you should get 200 thru 300 Mh ...
Archer8
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16



View Profile WWW
July 23, 2011, 10:13:33 PM
 #3

I am using this computer for other things too and can't set aggression very high.  I will be setting up a dedicated mining machine soon then I can do that. 

But can you give a reason why the hash rate would drop in the same card moving to win 7 ?

bitcoingo.com
If you're feeling generous or just feel like giving, go for it!
1EWv3mjt8JYikLeCateFRRoP4ezNkdXV59
compro01
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 485


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 10:20:03 PM
 #4

But can you give a reason why the hash rate would drop in the same card moving to win 7 ?

because windows 7's new desktop rendering system uses the videocard, unlike XP.

try switching off aero and see if the hash rate improves.
Archer8
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16



View Profile WWW
July 23, 2011, 11:33:51 PM
 #5

That seemed to help quite a bit, thanks.  Leave it to MS to screw things up. 

It reminds me of that 3d pipes that used to zap cpu. 


bitcoingo.com
If you're feeling generous or just feel like giving, go for it!
1EWv3mjt8JYikLeCateFRRoP4ezNkdXV59
FreeJAC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 24, 2011, 03:27:15 PM
 #6

How is Microsoft actually using the graphics capabilities of your machine to make the O/S look better and be more functional, "Screwing things up!"?

If you don't have a use for it, shut it off. 

Donate here.... 18NiDLDA3qRxkEPN36xrzsdSgvEkbDKgNr
Archer8
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16



View Profile WWW
July 26, 2011, 07:24:03 AM
 #7

The hash rate on the windows 7 machine is going from 164 down to around 134.  It doesn't stay at one level for that long.
I thought that it was fixed because for a while it was staying at 164 but then it tanked down to 134 and stayed there for a long time. 
It seems to spend more time at the 134 level than at the higher ones. 
I have turned off Aero.  Anyone have any other ideas what might be causing the lowering hash rate?


bitcoingo.com
If you're feeling generous or just feel like giving, go for it!
1EWv3mjt8JYikLeCateFRRoP4ezNkdXV59
hmblm1245
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 635


View Profile
August 01, 2011, 02:00:44 PM
 #8

How is Microsoft actually using the graphics capabilities of your machine to make the O/S look better and be more functional, "Screwing things up!"?

If you don't have a use for it, shut it off. 

Seems reasonable to me. +1
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
August 01, 2011, 10:42:51 PM
 #9

The hash rate on the windows 7 machine is going from 164 down to around 134.  It doesn't stay at one level for that long.
I thought that it was fixed because for a while it was staying at 164 but then it tanked down to 134 and stayed there for a long time. 
It seems to spend more time at the 134 level than at the higher ones. 
I have turned off Aero.  Anyone have any other ideas what might be causing the lowering hash rate?

On one of my W7 rigs the hashrate of a card drops about 30mhash due to a too low memory clock. After I bump it up about 50mhz it stays at a constant hashrate.

Could be a buggy card though, I only have it happen to one.

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!