Bitcoin Forum
June 22, 2018, 10:59:28 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: PCI-E v1.1 1x slot?  (Read 1259 times)
secularflesh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 25, 2011, 03:20:54 AM
 #1

I know you can mine with a 1x slot, but does the version matter?  Does PCI-E 1.1 work just as well as 2.0+ when using a 1x slot?

Thinking of using an old board in a mining system.
1529708368
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529708368

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529708368
Reply with quote  #2

1529708368
Report to moderator
1529708368
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529708368

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529708368
Reply with quote  #2

1529708368
Report to moderator
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529708368
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529708368

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529708368
Reply with quote  #2

1529708368
Report to moderator
1529708368
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529708368

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529708368
Reply with quote  #2

1529708368
Report to moderator
amazingrando
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 25, 2011, 04:56:06 AM
 #2

It shouldn't make any difference.  PCI Express 1.1 lanes were 250MB/s.  In 2.0 that was doubled.  But with bitcoin mining you're using almost no bandwidth.  I doubt you'll see any difference.

You can always give it a try - put the GPU in the x16 slot and mine, then try the same thing via the x1 slot.  Compare and see if there is any difference.

Good luck!

Bitbond - 105% PPS mining bond - mining payouts without buying hardware
Morebitcoinsplease
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 25, 2011, 11:39:00 AM
 #3

I know you can mine with a 1x slot, but does the version matter?  Does PCI-E 1.1 work just as well as 2.0+ when using a 1x slot?

Thinking of using an old board in a mining system.

For mining purposes you won't notice any difference, I use PCI-E 1x, for some of my systems and they do the same hashing as my PCI-E 16x.
floeti
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0



View Profile
July 25, 2011, 01:02:14 PM
 #4

be careful to not exceed the pci-e spec, that says pci-e devices on x1 slots are not allowed to pull more than 25W.  Cheesy

http://bit.ly/NnPoV0
PLaci1982
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


Live long and prosper. \\//,


View Profile
July 25, 2011, 01:06:34 PM
 #5

I know you can mine with a 1x slot, but does the version matter?  Does PCI-E 1.1 work just as well as 2.0+ when using a 1x slot?

Thinking of using an old board in a mining system.

It can matter if you want use a HD 5xxx+ card, some older Intel chipsets (Intel 945 family and older) have problems with those cards. I saw only new BIOS patches from ASRock for those (~4 years) old boards. Should work on a newer Intel chipset, or with other chipset vendors products (like AMD Tongue)...

The 1x slot are enough for mining, but 99% chance, that you will need a PCIe extension cable, because most PCIe 1x slots are "closed", usually only a 1x card fits in physically.

Hardware Expert / WinXP, Win7 Expert

1J5oPkyGVdb4mv44KGZQYsHS2ch6e1t4rc
PLaci1982
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


Live long and prosper. \\//,


View Profile
July 25, 2011, 01:34:07 PM
 #6

be careful to not exceed the pci-e spec, that says pci-e devices on x1 slots are not allowed to pull more than 25W.  Cheesy
extension cable with extra power

Hardware Expert / WinXP, Win7 Expert

1J5oPkyGVdb4mv44KGZQYsHS2ch6e1t4rc
secularflesh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 25, 2011, 03:49:53 PM
 #7

Thanks all, I know all about 1x extenders, etc.  Just wanted to know of if the PCI-E version mattered.

I tried searching for "PCI-E 1.1" but as you can imagine the results weren't stellar.
PLaci1982
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


Live long and prosper. \\//,


View Profile
July 25, 2011, 04:39:14 PM
 #8

Whats your MB's name?

Hardware Expert / WinXP, Win7 Expert

1J5oPkyGVdb4mv44KGZQYsHS2ch6e1t4rc
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!