Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2018, 05:46:45 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bfgminer with USB Erupter on Ubuntu shows 400% CPU usage  (Read 1253 times)
ehmdjii
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 351
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 24, 2013, 10:08:04 PM
 #1

Code:
sudo bfgminer -o stratum+tcp://stratum.mining.eligius.st:3334 -u 1HZKrZiUQvLMWnee2uPKvYJk5H7hZZvayT -p x --disable-gpu -S all

Code:
top - 00:06:59 up 53 min,  1 user,  load average: 4.34, 1.66, 0.76
Tasks: 114 total,   1 running, 110 sleeping,   3 stopped,   0 zombie
%Cpu(s): 19.3 us,  5.4 sy, 75.4 ni,  0.0 id,  0.0 wa,  0.0 hi,  0.0 si,  0.0 st
KiB Mem:   4120364 total,   647384 used,  3472980 free,    41924 buffers
KiB Swap:  4182012 total,        0 used,  4182012 free,   515084 cached

  PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S  %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND
14305 root      20   0  128m 4132 3052 S 399.3  0.1   7:27.06 bfgminer
 1340 matt      20   0 21576 2248 1072 S   0.3  0.1   0:01.01 sshd


is this normal?

i guess no, so how to fix it?

thanks!

BTC: 1LsD5HpnX1Kfyti7CnHiVB1rjUEXGqmR2H
LTC: LQbpdMZmYyJa9bJG6NweBNxkSTfgZorkrG
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542563205
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542563205

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542563205
Reply with quote  #2

1542563205
Report to moderator
1542563205
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542563205

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542563205
Reply with quote  #2

1542563205
Report to moderator
1542563205
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542563205

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542563205
Reply with quote  #2

1542563205
Report to moderator
lilfiend
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 03:43:25 PM
 #2

It was my understanding that 100% in top was 100% of one thread, so if you have 4 threads (quad core no HT or dual core with HT) then 400% should be max CPU usage.

[Insert E-peen here]
ehmdjii
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 351
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 03:44:53 PM
 #3

It was my understanding that 100% in top was 100% of one thread, so if you have 4 threads (quad core no HT or dual core with HT) then 400% should be max CPU usage.
i see, thanks!

still if i am mining on the erupter, shouldnt the cpu be almost idle?

BTC: 1LsD5HpnX1Kfyti7CnHiVB1rjUEXGqmR2H
LTC: LQbpdMZmYyJa9bJG6NweBNxkSTfgZorkrG
lilfiend
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 04:20:51 PM
 #4

If you launched with -s all wouldn't that mine with all available hardware? Including gpu's? I could be wrong, I've not used BFGMiner before.

This would be fitting if you have an Nvidia GPU in your system as googling a little it looks like BFGMiner gets pegged at 100% cpu usage when you try to mine on Nvidia GPU's.

Beyond that I'm not sure what would cause it to max out your CPU, I'd try specifying which things to mine on manually

[Insert E-peen here]
ehmdjii
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 351
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 26, 2013, 11:06:00 AM
 #5

thanks, is there a difference between -s and -S

speaking of this, is there somewhere a complete list of all flags that can be passed?

BTC: 1LsD5HpnX1Kfyti7CnHiVB1rjUEXGqmR2H
LTC: LQbpdMZmYyJa9bJG6NweBNxkSTfgZorkrG
lilfiend
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 28, 2013, 02:51:03 PM
 #6

thanks, is there a difference between -s and -S

speaking of this, is there somewhere a complete list of all flags that can be passed?

I think bfgminer -h prints out all the commands.

[Insert E-peen here]
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!