Bitcoin Forum
October 20, 2017, 11:49:43 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: coin wallets getting confused about what time it is.  (Read 2942 times)
cabinetmaker
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile
October 28, 2013, 04:44:07 AM
 #1

Thanks for the help in advance.
silly problem.
all of my wallets are coming up and telling me they won't work properlyif the clock is out of sync.
They all show me 'sync'd' up, but give me that message.

so I went and set my time to exactly (within 2 or 2 seconds) of what the worldwide time says it is, double checked it with my time zone, and yet they keep saying that.

anyone know what is up with this?

I think within 1 or 2 seconds should be close enough.

I used 'timeanddate.com', which matches exactly with what I have, both world time and my time zone.


coinage doesn't matter. the BTC wallet, as well as all of the other 15 wallets I have all say the same thing, when I bring them up.
DST doesn't start until next week.
1508543383
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508543383

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508543383
Reply with quote  #2

1508543383
Report to moderator
1508543383
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508543383

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508543383
Reply with quote  #2

1508543383
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
October 28, 2013, 04:49:42 AM
 #2

what wallet and what is the EXACT error message?
CIYAM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862


Ian Knowles - CIYAM Lead Developer


View Profile WWW
October 28, 2013, 05:26:40 AM
 #3

According to the timezone DB daylight savings is still active for CST (by which I am assuming you are referring to American/Canadian Central Time) but perhaps you meant "finish" rather than "start" in your OP.

Is your clock automatically adjusted for DST?

With CIYAM anyone can create 100% generated C++ web applications in literally minutes.

GPG Public Key | 1ciyam3htJit1feGa26p2wQ4aw6KFTejU
CIYAM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862


Ian Knowles - CIYAM Lead Developer


View Profile WWW
October 28, 2013, 05:54:04 AM
 #4

is it already off for the rest of the world? That may account for it.

Timezones vary all over the world (some are in DST now, some aren't and some don't use it) so that shouldn't be relevant and with your time being automatically adjusted then this doesn't seem likely to be a problem about the precise time on your computer.

Is the date correct (i.e. your computer is showing 2013 and not another year)?

With CIYAM anyone can create 100% generated C++ web applications in literally minutes.

GPG Public Key | 1ciyam3htJit1feGa26p2wQ4aw6KFTejU
CIYAM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862


Ian Knowles - CIYAM Lead Developer


View Profile WWW
October 28, 2013, 06:27:17 AM
 #5

All I did was set the clock back an hour, according to time.mocrosoft.com.

I am a little confused - your time is now showing correct as 1am or is it now showing 12am?

If you were not allowing the DST adjustment to occur automatically (i.e. you had adjusted it manually at the start of DST) then that could explain things.


It appears whom ever is running all of the blockchains has already set their clock back, erroneously, or something of the sort.

The blockchain is not relevant to the message - I assume that the "time to catch up" is being determined according to transactions being relayed to your client from other peers (which would be timestamped according to UTC).

With CIYAM anyone can create 100% generated C++ web applications in literally minutes.

GPG Public Key | 1ciyam3htJit1feGa26p2wQ4aw6KFTejU
CIYAM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862


Ian Knowles - CIYAM Lead Developer


View Profile WWW
October 28, 2013, 06:48:03 AM
 #6

Now that everything is synced up, I am going to manually set it UP one hour, (so I won't be confused tomorrow) as it should be set, and then going to beddie by.

I wonder if the timezone selected is the correct one then?

With CIYAM anyone can create 100% generated C++ web applications in literally minutes.

GPG Public Key | 1ciyam3htJit1feGa26p2wQ4aw6KFTejU
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
October 28, 2013, 07:16:52 AM
 #7

Now that everything is synced up, I am going to manually set it UP one hour, (so I won't be confused tomorrow) as it should be set, and then going to beddie by.

I wonder if the timezone selected is the correct one then?


This.  timeservers are in UTC time.  Local machine adjusts it by applying the offset for the timezone selected.  By guess is OP has wrong timezone set.  If you sync to the timeserver and it makes the time "wrong" there is no other possibility.

To OP what timezone are you in? 
What time zone does your computer show?
What operating system?
gmaxwell
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2324



View Profile
October 28, 2013, 08:20:06 AM
 #8

This is just a classic "timezone wrong" issue, I would bet.

It doesn't matter if your computer shows the "correct" hour. You must have both your timezone correct and the right time for Bitcoin to work without squawking.

Bitcoin will not be compromised
CIYAM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862


Ian Knowles - CIYAM Lead Developer


View Profile WWW
October 29, 2013, 03:30:55 AM
 #9

The ONLY possiblility is that something thinks it has already changed back to regular time, which it has not.

You are clearly misunderstanding how NTP works (hint it doesn't care about time zones). Your problem is not with Bitcoin at all actually but instead is a Windows problem.

Perhaps your time zone information has got corrupted (was there any change to the DST start and finish days since you bought the PC)?

Note that you can find a tool to edit the timezone information directly (called tzedit.exe).

With CIYAM anyone can create 100% generated C++ web applications in literally minutes.

GPG Public Key | 1ciyam3htJit1feGa26p2wQ4aw6KFTejU
cabinetmaker
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile
October 29, 2013, 04:04:29 AM
 #10

Thank you very much.

It is very aggrevating when these people keep telling you, you have something wrong, yet I see it with my own eyes, and struggle to understand why they keep saying the things they do.

I'll get the time zone checker and see if it helps.
Otherwise, I will eventually find the issue and fix it.

again thanks.


to answer the other quesiton, yes, it has changed dst several times since I had this particular computer for the  last 3 years.
And no, it hasn't presented any problems, before.
If I hadn't been fighting this for the last few days, I would have pulled my head out of my ass and noticed my wife's (newer and bigger and better) computer didn't do what mine has done.
This would have given me the hint, it was something with mine alone.
My miners haven't done this either.
I was too busy looking at one, to look at the other 6.

I appreciate the insight.


I'll check back tomorrow.
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512



View Profile WWW
October 29, 2013, 12:58:36 PM
 #11

Several windows patches have been released over the years regarding daylight savings time rule changes also, make sure your PC is fully updated including "optional" patches.

cabinetmaker
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile
October 29, 2013, 07:29:53 PM
 #12

I got the tzedit.exe, all it did was verify my clock is right.

I turned off all clocks, including windows, rebooted and let it set them all.
Autoupdate is on, my windows updates are all up to date, etc. (and have been for years), although I cringe everytime I do a "microstupid" update, as they tend to screw things up more than help.
Good old Bill Gates "We here at microsoft don't HAVE any problems".......yeah right bill, and you didn't steal dos and windows either ,did you?
Reminds me of our so-called Non-muslim president, yeah right, swartze, we believe you're not muslim. Ever been to the tomb of the unknown to pay your respects Mr. Prez? Oh , hell no!

anyway,
I went through most of my wallets and let them all syc up.
The only one that doesn't, so far, is infinitecoin and it gives me a message about "if your clock is not set properly, linkcoin (huh?) will not work properly.
Linkcoin I never heard of and why would it give me message in my infinitecoin wallet? about my time being wrong.
must be one of those stupid forks infinitecoin took, or something. It has been the most screwed up of all of the coins I mine.

oh well, everything else synced up just fine, so far.
I have a few to go, yet
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!