Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 11:00:33 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Why does phatk suck for my 6990?  (Read 2019 times)
ruski
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182

I'm a hero now?


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 11:00:42 AM
 #1

What you see before you is as follows:

GPU 0: phoenix.exe -u http://|||||||||||||||||||@pit.deepbit.net:8332 PLATFORM=0 DEVICE=0 -k phatk BFI_INT VECTORS AGGRESSION=12

GPU 1: poclbm.exe --user=||||||||||| --pass=||||| -o pit.deepbit.net -p 8332 --device=1 --platform=0 --verbose  -v --worksize=192 --frames=1 -a3 -a 3

Both GPU cores OC to 965 MHz.

I'm using the optimised phatk kernel, that supposedly drops another 10 MH/s on top. Poclbm is killing it. What am I doing wrong?



Edit - Both cores at 99% and 77°C.

Mobo: Asus P8P67, Intel i5
OS: Win 7 64 bit
PSU: APower 1200W (don't even say it)
Case: Case? What case?
GPU: is for sale
1481367633
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481367633

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481367633
Reply with quote  #2

1481367633
Report to moderator
1481367633
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481367633

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481367633
Reply with quote  #2

1481367633
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481367633
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481367633

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481367633
Reply with quote  #2

1481367633
Report to moderator
1481367633
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481367633

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481367633
Reply with quote  #2

1481367633
Report to moderator
xcooling
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 11:25:36 AM
 #2

try a better program.

DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
July 26, 2011, 11:51:05 AM
 #3

If you don't mind mining at the BitMinter pool (and get 5% extra pay while promotion lasts), you could try the BitMinter miner. It's the fastest miner on 6990 right now.

If you try this miner and do a speed comparison, especially on multi-GPU systems, hit the little button in the lower right for performance mode. Otherwise all the screen updates can cause a noticable performance hit.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
dikidera
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 11:55:41 AM
 #4

Why is it that i am seeing that the faster miner i.e 446 mhash/s has waay less shares than the slower miner?
ruski
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182

I'm a hero now?


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 12:12:51 PM
 #5

Why is it that i am seeing that the faster miner i.e 446 mhash/s has waay less shares than the slower miner?

I've been experimenting with poclbm flags with #1, it's been on and off all day.

@BitMinter no thanks I don't feel like having my wallet stolen today.

@xcooling That's what I'm trying to do. So far poclbm is the best.

Mobo: Asus P8P67, Intel i5
OS: Win 7 64 bit
PSU: APower 1200W (don't even say it)
Case: Case? What case?
GPU: is for sale
talldude
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 01:09:23 PM
 #6

add a fastloop=false and worksize=192 to the phoenix to see if it makes a difference.

And don't complain - go with the one that's fastest. If poclbm is better, just use that then.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
July 26, 2011, 03:02:26 PM
 #7

@BitMinter no thanks I don't feel like having my wallet stolen today.

I don't know where you get this idea from, but my software doesn't steal wallets.

You may want to try a miner that can run several GPUs from the same miner instance, though. I have noticed sometimes if I have several OpenCL programs running it can affect performance, even if only one of them is actively using the GPU.

If you think my miner is "the devil", then I'd recommend trying DiabloMiner. That's the real devil  Grin But seriously, that's another miner that can run multiple GPUs from the same miner instance, and perhaps help avoid the problems you are experiencing.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
Desolator
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392



View Profile
July 26, 2011, 04:07:54 PM
 #8

it seems to me like phatk on phoenix is what everyone with the best scores on the mining hardware comparison wiki page use but that doesn't mean a thing.  I tried many, many configurations and got within about 5 MH/s but POCLBM was still faster.  Maybe it works better on some cards but it would appear that for my 5830, everyone on the wiki with higher OCing speeds than me are basically using the wrong kernel and that's all there is to it Tongue
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
July 26, 2011, 06:04:05 PM
 #9

GPU 0 is also busy drawing your Windows display. This cuts off some MHash/sec.

If you want a fair and accurate comparison, test your miners on GPU 1 only.

To speed up GPU 0 some more, turn off Windows Aero completely.

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
Dargo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554



View Profile
July 26, 2011, 08:21:46 PM
 #10

I've had better luck with phoenix/phatk, but I've also found that it is more tricky to tune. BTW, if both those GPUs have been running for the same length of time and on the same settings, notice that the one hashing at the lower rate has actually submitted more shares. IMO, you have to fine tune your cards for submission rate rather than MHps, because after a certain point, higher hash rate doesn't necessarily correlate with a higher share submission rate. But you get paid for your share submission rate, not your hash rate.
Saturn7
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 146



View Profile
July 26, 2011, 08:58:50 PM
 #11

i'm pretty sure the WORKSIZE is suppose to be 128 not 192 for 6 series cards.

First there was Fire, then Electricity, and now Bitcoins Wink
amazingrando
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile
July 26, 2011, 09:44:25 PM
 #12

Phatk was lower on my 6950's for some reason too.

BTW, if you have 6XXX series, the work size should be 256.  You'll get a slight boost.  Use 128 on 5XXX series cards

Cheers

Bitbond - 105% PPS mining bond - mining payouts without buying hardware
MiningBuddy
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1058


฿itcoin ฿itcoin ฿itcoin


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 09:52:02 PM
 #13

Phatk was lower on my 6950's for some reason too.

BTW, if you have 6XXX series, the work size should be 256.  You'll get a slight boost.  Use 128 on 5XXX series cards

Cheers
Actually I find 128 better on my 6990 and 256 better on my 5870.  Roll Eyes

m3ta
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 427



View Profile WWW
July 27, 2011, 12:24:42 AM
 #14

Phatk was lower on my 6950's for some reason too.

BTW, if you have 6XXX series, the work size should be 256.  You'll get a slight boost.  Use 128 on 5XXX series cards

Cheers
Actually I find 128 better on my 6990 and 256 better on my 5870.  Roll Eyes
[/quote

My 6970 with 128 gives +7Mh/s than with 256.

Why the frell so many retards spell "ect" as an abbreviation of "Et Cetera"? "ETC", DAMMIT! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Et_cetera

Host:/# rm -rf /var/forum/trolls
amazingrando
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile
July 27, 2011, 08:19:04 AM
 #15

Phatk was lower on my 6950's for some reason too.

BTW, if you have 6XXX series, the work size should be 256.  You'll get a slight boost.  Use 128 on 5XXX series cards

Cheers
Actually I find 128 better on my 6990 and 256 better on my 5870.  Roll Eyes

Interesting.  I get about 2 Mh/s better with the 256.  I might give it another try. 

Bitbond - 105% PPS mining bond - mining payouts without buying hardware
BOARBEAR
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 08:24:32 AM
 #16

If you don't mind mining at the BitMinter pool (and get 5% extra pay while promotion lasts), you could try the BitMinter miner. It's the fastest miner on 6990 right now.

If you try this miner and do a speed comparison, especially on multi-GPU systems, hit the little button in the lower right for performance mode. Otherwise all the screen updates can cause a noticable performance hit.

is it faster for 5870?
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
July 27, 2011, 10:55:06 AM
 #17

If you don't mind mining at the BitMinter pool (and get 5% extra pay while promotion lasts), you could try the BitMinter miner. It's the fastest miner on 6990 right now.

If you try this miner and do a speed comparison, especially on multi-GPU systems, hit the little button in the lower right for performance mode. Otherwise all the screen updates can cause a noticable performance hit.

is it faster for 5870?

You can try it and see.

I think DiabloMiner and modified-Phoenix with modified-phatk (from another thread in the forums) are still a little faster on those cards. I'll have to close that gap when I have more time.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!