Bitcoin Forum
September 24, 2018, 06:37:34 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin-qt error  (Read 1165 times)
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1002


View Profile
October 29, 2013, 11:54:44 PM
 #1

I moved my bitcoin to another hdd and i run the client with the "-datadir=" option. I ran the client and let it finish downloading the blockchain then i copied my wallet.dat file to that datadir folder. Client works fine (i see balances in the client) until i try to send some money and bam error:



Any help?

H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537771054
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537771054

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537771054
Reply with quote  #2

1537771054
Report to moderator
grue
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100
Merit: 1140



View Profile
October 30, 2013, 12:28:38 AM
 #2

does it crash with the original datadir?

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Adblock for annoying signature ads | Enhanced Merit UI
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1002


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 07:54:48 AM
 #3

does it crash with the original datadir?

Yes. What can i do?

H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1002


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 11:08:10 AM
 #4

I moved the wallet.dat to the default location and i deleted the "blocks" and "chainbase" folders (which were copied from my custom location) and i got this error:



I restarted bitcoin-qt and i see that it's synchronizing with network. Will update when it's finished.

H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1002


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 10:34:32 PM
 #5

So nobody? Do i have to put a bounty to get an answer?

It seems that only saving wallet.dat file didn't work...strange.

H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
Vani
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 10:51:43 PM
 #6

Maybe you need to have a look at your dat file to see if it have write permissions on? Sometimes when you copied files these things changed and can cause this kind of errors. Right click your .dat file and check properties - security.

You can also compare these permissions on the .dat file on the hdd where it works with the .dat file on the hdd were it not works.

Maybe it can solve the problem.





RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1002


View Profile
October 31, 2013, 12:39:17 AM
 #7

Maybe you need to have a look at your dat file to see if it have write permissions on? Sometimes when you copied files these things changed and can cause this kind of errors. Right click your .dat file and check properties - security.

You can also compare these permissions on the .dat file on the hdd where it works with the .dat file on the hdd were it not works.

Maybe it can solve the problem.

They are the same.

Ok let me get this straight. When moving to a new folder/hdd i just have to copy the wallet.dat file right? If not then what any other file do i need?

What happens if my wallet.dat file is corrupted and i have all or some private keys for addresses from wallet.dat file? Let's say i have 5 wallets, and i have privkeys for 2-3. If i have 2 bitcoins and i spend 1 from one of the addresses which i have the privkeys then bitcoin-qt is moving the 1 bitcoin left to a newly generated address? If yes and i import the privkey of the original address then i will have the remaining 1 bitcoin or do i have to own the privkey of the newly generated address?

H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!