Bitcoin Forum
May 11, 2024, 05:46:36 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to address "PIC need restore" from Antminer S9 kernel?  (Read 460 times)
tim-bc (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 538
Merit: 175


View Profile
March 28, 2018, 02:59:28 PM
 #1

Antminer S9 with kernel 3.14.0-xilinx-ge8a2f71-dirty

Look at this section of the log:

Code:
use critical mode to search freq...
get PLUG ON=0x000000e0
Find hashboard on Chain[5]
Find hashboard on Chain[6]
Find hashboard on Chain[7]
set_reset_allhashboard = 0x0000ffff
Check chain[5] PIC fw version=0x00
chain[5] PIC need restore ...
Error of set PIC FLASH addr: addr_H=3(0) addr_L=0(0) on Chain[5]
Error of set PIC FLASH addr: addr_H=3(0) addr_L=0(0) on Chain[5]
Error of set PIC FLASH addr: addr_H=3(0) addr_L=0(0) on Chain[5]
Error of set PIC FLASH addr: addr_H=3(0) addr_L=0(0) on Chain[5]
Error of set PIC FLASH addr: addr_H=3(0) addr_L=0(0) on Chain[5]
Error of set PIC FLASH addr: addr_H=3(0) addr_L=0(0) on Chain[5]
Error of set PIC FLASH addr: addr_H=3(0) addr_L=0(0) on Chain[5]
Error of set PIC FLASH addr: addr_H=3(0) addr_L=0(0) on Chain[5]
After restore: chain[5] PIC fw version=0x00

I have had this issue with multiple S9s. Sometimes chains 5 and 6 will have fw=0x03 and chain 7 will have 0xf1, for example, and the pic flash errors are only on that chain.

This problem obviously blocks the machines from mining, although they stay on with stable api and not rebooting. How can I address the PIC needing restoration? Is the issue here with the flash or the firmware? Is it unable to restore fw due to flash error?

Ignore scammers on Skype, Telegram, etc. I will only ever contact you via forum PMs. See profile for fingerprint.
1715406396
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715406396

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715406396
Reply with quote  #2

1715406396
Report to moderator
In order to get the maximum amount of activity points possible, you just need to post once per day on average. Skipping days is OK as long as you maintain the average.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1715406396
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715406396

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715406396
Reply with quote  #2

1715406396
Report to moderator
1715406396
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715406396

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715406396
Reply with quote  #2

1715406396
Report to moderator
1715406396
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715406396

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715406396
Reply with quote  #2

1715406396
Report to moderator
fanatic26
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 560


View Profile
March 28, 2018, 05:51:42 PM
Merited by Steamtyme (1), tim-bc (1)
 #2

I have consistantly seen this error with the bitmain miners I have purchased in the last 4 months. They all have 1127 dated firmware. Rolling this firmware back has solved the issue nearly 100% of the time for me. I run the 42817 firmware with no issues.

Stop buying industrial miners, running them at home, and then complaining about the noise.
tim-bc (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 538
Merit: 175


View Profile
March 28, 2018, 07:24:42 PM
 #3

I have consistantly seen this error with the bitmain miners I have purchased in the last 4 months. They all have 1127 dated firmware. Rolling this firmware back has solved the issue nearly 100% of the time for me. I run the 42817 firmware with no issues.

Hey fanatic,

Thanks for the tip. It seems that the miner does indeed have the latest firmware dated 2017-11-17
Do you know of a reliable place to download the older firmware image that you mentioned?

Much appreciated.

Ignore scammers on Skype, Telegram, etc. I will only ever contact you via forum PMs. See profile for fingerprint.
tim-bc (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 538
Merit: 175


View Profile
March 28, 2018, 07:55:29 PM
Last edit: March 30, 2018, 06:28:46 AM by frodocooper
 #4

So on Bitmain's S9 firmware page I noticed this firmware note:

https://i.stack.imgur.com/xNZdE.png

I figured that was what you were talking about, so I flashed this firmware and the miner is hashing normally now. On the first reboot it complained that a few chips on the chain[5] were failed, but after rebooting itself again, everything seems to be operating as it should. Thanks again for the help! I'm going to flash this firmware to a couple of other miners with the same problem and let you all know how it goes.



Moderator's note: This post was edited by frodocooper to remove inline image tags.

Ignore scammers on Skype, Telegram, etc. I will only ever contact you via forum PMs. See profile for fingerprint.
tim-bc (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 538
Merit: 175


View Profile
March 28, 2018, 09:01:36 PM
 #5

I ended up fixing three that had the same error and one slightly different:

Code:
use critical mode to search freq...
get PLUG ON=0x000000e0
Find hashboard on Chain[5]
Find hashboard on Chain[6]
Find hashboard on Chain[7]
set_reset_allhashboard = 0x0000ffff
Check chain[5] PIC fw version=0x03
Check chain[6] PIC fw version=0x03
Check chain[7] PIC fw version=0xf1
chain[7] PIC need restore ...
Error of set PIC FLASH addr: addr_H=3(f1) addr_L=0(3) on Chain[7]
After restore: chain[7] PIC fw version=0x00

It looks like only chain[7] needed the fw in this case.

Regardless, I appreciate your help with these issues!

Ignore scammers on Skype, Telegram, etc. I will only ever contact you via forum PMs. See profile for fingerprint.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!