Bitcoin Forum
October 18, 2017, 06:12:57 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Creating transactions manually?  (Read 987 times)
Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 11:57:45 PM
 #1

I no longer have any space on my drive where my copy of the blockchain is, so I cannot afford to run Bitcoin-Qt anymore. What are the available ways for me to use my wallet.dat file in conjunction with some program to create a transaction manually or automatically and just send it to someone to broadcast for me?

Just to let you guys know I am not very up to speed on how to create manual transactions.

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
1508307177
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508307177

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508307177
Reply with quote  #2

1508307177
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508307177
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508307177

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508307177
Reply with quote  #2

1508307177
Report to moderator
1508307177
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508307177

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508307177
Reply with quote  #2

1508307177
Report to moderator
1508307177
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508307177

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508307177
Reply with quote  #2

1508307177
Report to moderator
trout
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 328


View Profile
October 31, 2013, 10:18:54 AM
 #2

you can use bitcoin-qt without the blockchain (just with the wallet.da) to create transactions.
Use createrawtransaction for this.
Then you can broadcast the transaction using for example http://blockchain.info/pushtx

Akka
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162



View Profile
October 31, 2013, 10:40:36 AM
 #3

Yes, with Armory it's even easier to only create transaction. Although you wont get you Balance updated.

Why not just use a client, like electrum or multibit if you are incapable of running a full Node anyway?

All previous versions of currency will no longer be supported as of this update
Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526



View Profile WWW
November 02, 2013, 11:31:34 AM
 #4

Free up some space or move the bitcoin-qt folder to a partition that does have space. If you do the latter you can start up bitcoin-qt using the datadir switch to point it to the new partition:

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Running_Bitcoin#Command-line_arguments

This approach is preferable to creating raw transactions because with raw transactions a lot of things can go wrong.

Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
November 02, 2013, 06:07:27 PM
 #5

Free up some space or move the bitcoin-qt folder to a partition that does have space. If you do the latter you can start up bitcoin-qt using the datadir switch to point it to the new partition:

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Running_Bitcoin#Command-line_arguments

This approach is preferable to creating raw transactions because with raw transactions a lot of things can go wrong.
I don't have space on my drive. It's all been used up with important data. I can't free anymore.

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820



View Profile
November 02, 2013, 06:10:49 PM
 #6

Free up some space or move the bitcoin-qt folder to a partition that does have space. If you do the latter you can start up bitcoin-qt using the datadir switch to point it to the new partition:

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Running_Bitcoin#Command-line_arguments

This approach is preferable to creating raw transactions because with raw transactions a lot of things can go wrong.
I don't have space on my drive. It's all been used up with important data. I can't free anymore.

Encrypt & upload online to multiple places?
Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526



View Profile WWW
November 02, 2013, 11:37:49 PM
 #7

I don't have space on my drive. It's all been used up with important data. I can't free anymore.
First backup your wallet.dat file. Then try either of these approaches:

1. Import your wallet.dat file in a new blockchain.info wallet. Then you can spend the coins.

https://blockchain.info/wallet/import-wallet

2. Safer method. Delete all the blockchain files in your bitcoin data directory to free up space. DON'T delete the wallet.dat file. Use pywallet to extract all the private keys and import them into a new electrum wallet. Spend your coins as you see fit.

pywallet: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=34028.0

Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
November 03, 2013, 01:19:01 AM
 #8

I'll tell you this, I don't think I ever want to use Blockchain.INFO, something is terribly wrong with that website for people to get hacked so often even with 2factor and whatnot authentication.

I plan to try Electrum, though it uses a central server.

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!