Bitcoin Forum
December 18, 2017, 03:15:08 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 ... 75 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] [SKC] Skeincoin 0.9.3.1 | Skein-SHA2  (Read 158147 times)
oroqen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280



View Profile
January 01, 2014, 04:49:52 PM
 #421

I got around to setting up the gpu miner and noticed that it's a full 100 watts less on the wall than sha/scrypt mining.
1513566908
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513566908

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513566908
Reply with quote  #2

1513566908
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513566908
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513566908

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513566908
Reply with quote  #2

1513566908
Report to moderator
1513566908
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513566908

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513566908
Reply with quote  #2

1513566908
Report to moderator
Calhil
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
January 01, 2014, 05:02:50 PM
 #422

I also noticed skein doesnt need high memory frequency so you can decrease it almost all the way down without any performance hit. Skein miner is probably not optimized yet and thats why it needs less power i guess.

BLC & SKC node: addnode=192.3.171.213
BLC: BcaLHiLk74XXSZdebHQY8b3CaoEBLaPtoV
oroqen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280



View Profile
January 01, 2014, 05:06:38 PM
 #423

I also noticed skein doesnt need high memory frequency so you can decrease it almost all the way down without any performance hit. Skein miner is probably not optimized yet and thats why it needs less power i guess.
was thinking the same thing. Did anyone have any luck with getting an exe out of python for it, might help get another pool going and attract more miners.
3dcgminer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 138


View Profile
January 01, 2014, 05:17:06 PM
 #424

Finally got the miner to mine.  Grin
Also needed the setuptools dependancy.

Files needed for mining in Windows:

https://github.com/snoopcode/poclbm-skc
Download as zip.

Python 2.7.6 32bit:
http://www.python.org/getit/

Get these in 32bit, python 2.7 format from http://www.lfd.uci.edu/~gohlke/pythonlibs/
-Ipython
-Mako
-Numpy
-pyopencl
-pytools
-setuptools

amdocl64.dll and copy to Windows/system32 or SYSWOW64 folders as amdocl.dll if using >13.12 driver (rename the original one as amdocl.new for other miners/games)
http://www.filedropper.com/amdocl64

skeinhash.so for the poclbm folder: http://www.megafileupload.com/en/file/482956/skeinhash-so.html

Thanks to madjihad for the last 2 files.
Thanks to all for the tips, hints and work on the miner.

https://github.com/mjmvisser/adl3
Download as unzip and unzip to miner folder, needed for temp monitoring and setting --cutoff-temp=90 for 79x0 cards.

Missing: 64 bit support (not needed according to "reorder")

Bat file example previously posted:
C:\python27\python.exe C:\skein\poclbm-skc\poclbm.py http://[username.worker]:[password]@skc.coinmine.pl:6400

/EDIT: Added adl3 temp monitor link, bat file example and SYSWOW64 folder.
reorder
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
January 01, 2014, 05:59:01 PM
 #425

I also noticed skein doesnt need high memory frequency so you can decrease it almost all the way down without any performance hit. Skein miner is probably not optimized yet and thats why it needs less power i guess.
The kernel does not use VRAM at all (save for tiny bit to pass back results to miner), so yes, you can downclock it to minimum. It is optimized, though, but for GCN. Chances are that if you replace rolhack functions with rotates, arrays with variables and unroll skein rounds, it will perform better on VLIW architectures.
escobol
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79


View Profile
January 01, 2014, 06:02:41 PM
 #426

WTS 5k
3dcgminer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 138


View Profile
January 01, 2014, 06:43:05 PM
 #427

I also noticed skein doesnt need high memory frequency so you can decrease it almost all the way down without any performance hit. Skein miner is probably not optimized yet and thats why it needs less power i guess.
The kernel does not use VRAM at all (save for tiny bit to pass back results to miner), so yes, you can downclock it to minimum. It is optimized, though, but for GCN. Chances are that if you replace rolhack functions with rotates, arrays with variables and unroll skein rounds, it will perform better on VLIW architectures.

To confirm the facts above:
Running at 300Mhz memory frequency, same speed as 700 or 1200Mhz on a AMD 7970.
(Same as any SHA256 coin).
Others have measures >100W power savings at 300MHz compared to 1500MHz. Anyone care to confirm?


Miner is running about 3x slower than cgminer on bitcoin, on my 32 bit Python installation.
Any idea if a 64bit Python compile will boost the hashrate? (As skein is supposed to be faster at 64bit)

Tested -w 256/128 and -f 1/5/10/30 with no major speed gains on an AMD 7970.
reorder
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
January 01, 2014, 09:55:27 PM
 #428

I also noticed skein doesnt need high memory frequency so you can decrease it almost all the way down without any performance hit. Skein miner is probably not optimized yet and thats why it needs less power i guess.
The kernel does not use VRAM at all (save for tiny bit to pass back results to miner), so yes, you can downclock it to minimum. It is optimized, though, but for GCN. Chances are that if you replace rolhack functions with rotates, arrays with variables and unroll skein rounds, it will perform better on VLIW architectures.

To confirm the facts above:
Running at 300Mhz memory frequency, same speed as 700 or 1200Mhz on a AMD 7970.
(Same as any SHA256 coin).
Others have measures >100W power savings at 300MHz compared to 1500MHz. Anyone care to confirm?


Miner is running about 3x slower than cgminer on bitcoin, on my 32 bit Python installation.
Any idea if a 64bit Python compile will boost the hashrate? (As skein is supposed to be faster at 64bit)

Tested -w 256/128 and -f 1/5/10/30 with no major speed gains on an AMD 7970.
sleinhash.so is only used in other threads than the one that runs the kernel (does actual solutions search), so no, 64bit will not yield more performance. Skeinhash functions can even be rewritten in pure Python without losing any performance.
Calhil
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
January 01, 2014, 11:31:10 PM
 #429

Are you sure its optimized? I cant compare the gpu performance but when it comes to cpu, poclbm-skc hashes around 50% slower than skeincoin-cpuminer on the same cpu. I dont have much time right now, but I can compare it tomorrow.

Maybe we can create some kind of a benchmark to see the performance of particular gpus?
In my case its:
7950 - 180MH/s
r9 280x 200MH/s
Overclocking can get you another 5-10MH/s

Edit:
ModelFreq [MHz] Hashrate [MH/s]
Core 2 Duo T960028001.4
Intel i5 3317U24001.395
Intel i7 3770k45005.3
Intel HD4600?6
8670D (A10-6800K)?30
5870?110
587085095
693086093
6950900103
787088094
78701150140
79501100184
7950?193
79701170220
280x1100207
280x1030201

BLC & SKC node: addnode=192.3.171.213
BLC: BcaLHiLk74XXSZdebHQY8b3CaoEBLaPtoV
3dcgminer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 138


View Profile
January 01, 2014, 11:55:55 PM
 #430

sleinhash.so is only used in other threads than the one that runs the kernel (does actual solutions search), so no, 64bit will not yield more performance. Skeinhash functions can even be rewritten in pure Python without losing any performance.

Thanks for the info and the miner!  Grin

Then there is no reason for the miner to be 3x slower, other than being based on "older" poclbm core with less ATI optimizations?
It is missing the
VECTORS BFI_INT FASTLOOP AGGRESSION
functions that I guess speed things up more for bitcoin in cgminer?

Running at 220Mh/s on a 7970@1170MHz, which runs at 700+ for SHA256 coins.
Only one guy runs anything faster (Anonymous) at the pool, which may be 2 cards, still halfway from 600+ per card.
daemonfox
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
January 02, 2014, 12:49:16 AM
 #431

Finally got the miner to mine.  Grin
Also needed the setuptools dependancy.

Files needed for mining in Windows:

https://github.com/snoopcode/poclbm-skc
Download as zip.

Python 2.7.6 32bit:
http://www.python.org/getit/

Get these in 32bit, python 2.7 format from http://www.lfd.uci.edu/~gohlke/pythonlibs/
-Ipython
-Mako
-Numpy
-pyopencl
-pytools
-setuptools

amdocl64.dll and copy to Windows/system32 as amdocl.dll if using >13.12 driver (rename the original one as amdocl.new for other miners/games)
http://www.filedropper.com/amdocl64

skeinhash.so for the poclbm folder: http://www.megafileupload.com/en/file/482956/skeinhash-so.html

Thanks to madjihad for the last 2 files.
Thanks to all for the tips, hints and work on the miner.

https://github.com/mjmvisser/adl3
Download as unzip and unzip to miner folder, needed for temp monitoring and setting --cutoff-temp=90 for 79x0 cards.

Missing: 64 bit support (not needed according to "reorder")

Bat file example previously posted:
C:\python27\python.exe C:\skein\poclbm-skc\poclbm.py http://[username.worker]:[password]@skc.coinmine.pl:6400

/EDIT: Added adl3 temp monitor link and bat file example.

Followed this to the letter and got this on Win 7 64 bit:

Fires up and then pop up that python.exe has stopped working.

Bat file is:

C:\python27\python.exe C:\poclbm-skc\poclbm.py http://worker.1:12345@skc.coinmine.pl:6400 -d 0

.ZenCash. █████
█████ ██
▀▀▀▀▀ ▀▀
▄▄▄ ███
▀▀▀ ▀▀▀
   ████
   ▀▀▀▀
███   ▄
███  ▄▄▄
   ▄▄ ███
  ▄
▄▄▄▄▄
    █████
██ █████
█████
█████ ██
▀▀▀▀▀ ▀▀
▄▄▄ ███
▀▀▀ ▀▀▀
   ████
   ▀▀▀▀
███   ▄
███  ▄▄▄
   ▄▄ ███
  ▄
▄▄▄▄▄
    █████
██ █████
slack   III   ANN Thread   III   Blog
Telegram   III   forum   III   twitter

▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬  ZEN
oroqen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280



View Profile
January 02, 2014, 01:26:05 AM
 #432

Finally got the miner to mine.  Grin
Also needed the setuptools dependancy.

Files needed for mining in Windows:

https://github.com/snoopcode/poclbm-skc
Download as zip.

Python 2.7.6 32bit:
http://www.python.org/getit/

Get these in 32bit, python 2.7 format from http://www.lfd.uci.edu/~gohlke/pythonlibs/
-Ipython
-Mako
-Numpy
-pyopencl
-pytools
-setuptools

amdocl64.dll and copy to Windows/system32 as amdocl.dll if using >13.12 driver (rename the original one as amdocl.new for other miners/games)
http://www.filedropper.com/amdocl64

skeinhash.so for the poclbm folder: http://www.megafileupload.com/en/file/482956/skeinhash-so.html

Thanks to madjihad for the last 2 files.
Thanks to all for the tips, hints and work on the miner.

https://github.com/mjmvisser/adl3
Download as unzip and unzip to miner folder, needed for temp monitoring and setting --cutoff-temp=90 for 79x0 cards.

Missing: 64 bit support (not needed according to "reorder")

Bat file example previously posted:
C:\python27\python.exe C:\skein\poclbm-skc\poclbm.py http://[username.worker]:[password]@skc.coinmine.pl:6400

/EDIT: Added adl3 temp monitor link and bat file example.

Followed this to the letter and got this on Win 7 64 bit:

Fires up and then pop up that python.exe has stopped working.

Bat file is:

C:\python27\python.exe C:\poclbm-skc\poclbm.py http://worker.1:12345@skc.coinmine.pl:6400 -d 0
I was having the same issue with 64bit, but worked once i rebuild sheinhash.so with -march=nocona or maybe try the more generic x86_64
note: i'm running intel cpu
daemonfox
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
January 02, 2014, 01:30:01 AM
 #433

Finally got the miner to mine.  Grin
Also needed the setuptools dependancy.

Files needed for mining in Windows:

https://github.com/snoopcode/poclbm-skc
Download as zip.

Python 2.7.6 32bit:
http://www.python.org/getit/

Get these in 32bit, python 2.7 format from http://www.lfd.uci.edu/~gohlke/pythonlibs/
-Ipython
-Mako
-Numpy
-pyopencl
-pytools
-setuptools

amdocl64.dll and copy to Windows/system32 as amdocl.dll if using >13.12 driver (rename the original one as amdocl.new for other miners/games)
http://www.filedropper.com/amdocl64

skeinhash.so for the poclbm folder: http://www.megafileupload.com/en/file/482956/skeinhash-so.html

Thanks to madjihad for the last 2 files.
Thanks to all for the tips, hints and work on the miner.

https://github.com/mjmvisser/adl3
Download as unzip and unzip to miner folder, needed for temp monitoring and setting --cutoff-temp=90 for 79x0 cards.

Missing: 64 bit support (not needed according to "reorder")

Bat file example previously posted:
C:\python27\python.exe C:\skein\poclbm-skc\poclbm.py http://[username.worker]:[password]@skc.coinmine.pl:6400

/EDIT: Added adl3 temp monitor link and bat file example.

Followed this to the letter and got this on Win 7 64 bit:

Fires up and then pop up that python.exe has stopped working.

Bat file is:

C:\python27\python.exe C:\poclbm-skc\poclbm.py http://worker.1:12345@skc.coinmine.pl:6400 -d 0
I was having the same issue with 64bit, but worked once i rebuild sheinhash.so with -march=nocona or maybe try the more generic x86_64
note: i'm running intel cpu

Mind attaching your skeinhash.so? I am on an AMD APU... but would like to see if yours works for me.

.ZenCash. █████
█████ ██
▀▀▀▀▀ ▀▀
▄▄▄ ███
▀▀▀ ▀▀▀
   ████
   ▀▀▀▀
███   ▄
███  ▄▄▄
   ▄▄ ███
  ▄
▄▄▄▄▄
    █████
██ █████
█████
█████ ██
▀▀▀▀▀ ▀▀
▄▄▄ ███
▀▀▀ ▀▀▀
   ████
   ▀▀▀▀
███   ▄
███  ▄▄▄
   ▄▄ ███
  ▄
▄▄▄▄▄
    █████
██ █████
slack   III   ANN Thread   III   Blog
Telegram   III   forum   III   twitter

▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬  ZEN
daemonfox
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
January 02, 2014, 01:42:09 AM
 #434

No dice on the above... not a valid win32 application.

Dug into the Windows error report and it seems to be something with the amdocl.dll

EDIT: Found out why.

For Win 7 64 you do not use the system32 folder... you need to rename amdocl.dll in the SYSWOW64 folder and then add the one linked here.

Working now... time to tweak!

EDIT2: Of course... this has now broken my cgminer for scrypt mining unless I swap the files back... NICE!

.ZenCash. █████
█████ ██
▀▀▀▀▀ ▀▀
▄▄▄ ███
▀▀▀ ▀▀▀
   ████
   ▀▀▀▀
███   ▄
███  ▄▄▄
   ▄▄ ███
  ▄
▄▄▄▄▄
    █████
██ █████
█████
█████ ██
▀▀▀▀▀ ▀▀
▄▄▄ ███
▀▀▀ ▀▀▀
   ████
   ▀▀▀▀
███   ▄
███  ▄▄▄
   ▄▄ ███
  ▄
▄▄▄▄▄
    █████
██ █████
slack   III   ANN Thread   III   Blog
Telegram   III   forum   III   twitter

▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬  ZEN
oroqen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280



View Profile
January 02, 2014, 02:13:31 AM
 #435

No dice on the above... not a valid win32 application.

Dug into the Windows error report and it seems to be something with the amdocl.dll

EDIT: Found out why.

For Win 7 64 you do not use the system32 folder... you need to rename amdocl.dll in the SYSWOW64 folder and then add the one linked here.

Working now... time to tweak!

EDIT2: Of course... this has now broken my cgminer for scrypt mining unless I swap the files back... NICE!
yeah figured as much, march=nocona is core generation intel, I didn't have a dll issue at all and can switch between the two easly, must be a driver/sdk issue
using driver 13-12_win7_win8_64_dd_ccc_whql, AMD-APP-SDK-v2.9-Windows-641 and cgminer 3.7.1 on r9 280x, win7 64 basic.
budabob07
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
January 02, 2014, 02:19:55 AM
 #436

WTS 10k SKC. PM with offers.

I am no longer using this account. I have switched to the account 'JHermz'
daemonfox
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
January 02, 2014, 02:48:39 AM
 #437

No dice on the above... not a valid win32 application.

Dug into the Windows error report and it seems to be something with the amdocl.dll

EDIT: Found out why.

For Win 7 64 you do not use the system32 folder... you need to rename amdocl.dll in the SYSWOW64 folder and then add the one linked here.

Working now... time to tweak!

EDIT2: Of course... this has now broken my cgminer for scrypt mining unless I swap the files back... NICE!
yeah figured as much, march=nocona is core generation intel, I didn't have a dll issue at all and can switch between the two easly, must be a driver/sdk issue
using driver 13-12_win7_win8_64_dd_ccc_whql, AMD-APP-SDK-v2.9-Windows-641 and cgminer 3.7.1 on r9 280x, win7 64 basic.


Well I am all set now... 193MH/s on my 7950 and got it running on the APU Devastator core on my 6800K... another 30MH/s.

Question if someone knows... what edits can be made to make this run and look for a DIFFERENT named amdocl.dll? I would like to make it call something like amdoclskc.dll and rename the custom amdocl64.dll made for this so I can put my reg one back and not have to file swap just to go back to scrypt mining.

1K SKC to the first functioning answer.

.ZenCash. █████
█████ ██
▀▀▀▀▀ ▀▀
▄▄▄ ███
▀▀▀ ▀▀▀
   ████
   ▀▀▀▀
███   ▄
███  ▄▄▄
   ▄▄ ███
  ▄
▄▄▄▄▄
    █████
██ █████
█████
█████ ██
▀▀▀▀▀ ▀▀
▄▄▄ ███
▀▀▀ ▀▀▀
   ████
   ▀▀▀▀
███   ▄
███  ▄▄▄
   ▄▄ ███
  ▄
▄▄▄▄▄
    █████
██ █████
slack   III   ANN Thread   III   Blog
Telegram   III   forum   III   twitter

▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬  ZEN
3dcgminer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 138


View Profile
January 02, 2014, 09:43:57 AM
 #438

No dice on the above... not a valid win32 application.

Dug into the Windows error report and it seems to be something with the amdocl.dll

EDIT: Found out why.

For Win 7 64 you do not use the system32 folder... you need to rename amdocl.dll in the SYSWOW64 folder and then add the one linked here.

Working now... time to tweak!

EDIT2: Of course... this has now broken my cgminer for scrypt mining unless I swap the files back... NICE!
yeah figured as much, march=nocona is core generation intel, I didn't have a dll issue at all and can switch between the two easly, must be a driver/sdk issue
using driver 13-12_win7_win8_64_dd_ccc_whql, AMD-APP-SDK-v2.9-Windows-641 and cgminer 3.7.1 on r9 280x, win7 64 basic.


Well I am all set now... 193MH/s on my 7950 and got it running on the APU Devastator core on my 6800K... another 30MH/s.

Question if someone knows... what edits can be made to make this run and look for a DIFFERENT named amdocl.dll? I would like to make it call something like amdoclskc.dll and rename the custom amdocl64.dll made for this so I can put my reg one back and not have to file swap just to go back to scrypt mining.

1K SKC to the first functioning answer.

The fastest would be to create 2 bat files that does the renameing for you.
First one for SKC, to rename the original amdocl.dll to amdocl.new and the "new" amdocl64.dll to amdocl.dll.
Second one to reset the names above.

Good luck!

Tip SKC address: SkHZ8rTEehrmjFB6VffWh8K7eKgdppG2bq
madjihad
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 245


🌟 æternity🌟 blockchain🌟


View Profile
January 02, 2014, 11:29:27 AM
 #439

Are you sure its optimized? I cant compare the gpu performance but when it comes to cpu, poclbm-skc hashes around 50% slower than skeincoin-cpuminer on the same cpu. I dont have much time right now, but I can compare it tomorrow.

Maybe we can create some kind of a benchmark to see the performance of particular gpus?
In my case its:
7950 - 180MH/s
r9 280x 200MH/s
Overclocking can get you another 5-10MH/s

5870 at stock core (850MHz) - 95MH/s
7870 (Tahiti) at 880MHz - 94MH/s
6950 at 900MHz - 103MH/s
6930 at 860MHz - 93MHz

Basically all cards giving around 90-105 MHz on my setup, overclocking doesn't change it a lot. On scrypt 5870,7870,6930 have performance close to 400KHz, and 6950 runs at about 450KHz, so current Skein-SHA2 implementation has 230-280 times higher hashrate than scrypt.

3dcgminer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 138


View Profile
January 02, 2014, 03:26:03 PM
 #440

Are you sure its optimized? I cant compare the gpu performance but when it comes to cpu, poclbm-skc hashes around 50% slower than skeincoin-cpuminer on the same cpu. I dont have much time right now, but I can compare it tomorrow.

Maybe we can create some kind of a benchmark to see the performance of particular gpus?
In my case its:
7950 - 180MH/s
r9 280x 200MH/s
Overclocking can get you another 5-10MH/s

5870 at stock core (850MHz) - 95MH/s
7870 (Tahiti) at 880MHz - 94MH/s
6950 at 900MHz - 103MH/s
6930 at 860MHz - 93MHz

Basically all cards giving around 90-105 MHz on my setup, overclocking doesn't change it a lot. On scrypt 5870,7870,6930 have performance close to 400KHz, and 6950 runs at about 450KHz, so current Skein-SHA2 implementation has 230-280 times higher hashrate than scrypt.

Thanks for the numbers.
Looks like all your cards are also mining about 3x slower than SHA256 coins running on cgminer.

Not sure what is needed to get that 3x speedboost, cgminer has a lot of functions/tricks to be that fast...
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 ... 75 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!