Bitcoin Forum
February 19, 2020, 03:12:55 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: gigabyte motherboard question  (Read 956 times)
mu50stang
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 12:40:01 AM
 #1

I bought a gigabyte GA-H61M-D2P-B3 motherboard and have two video cards running on it radeon hd5570 and hd5700.  They are both on the x16 slots.  i have two other pci slots.  Is it possible to add anymore video cards.  Thanks.

Specs.
1.1 x PCI Express x16 slot, running at x16 (PCIEX16)
 * For optimum performance, if only one PCI Express graphics card is to be installed, be sure to install it in the PCIEX16 slot.
 2.1 x PCI Express x16 slot, running at x4 (PCIEX4)
 3.2 x PCI slots
http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3774#ov

Also have a MSI P55-CD53 with a 6950 in the x16 slot.  Am I able to add any cards to this one.  Thanks.

SPECS
PCI Express 2.0 x16 1
PCI Express x1 3
PCI Slots 3

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130240







100% First Deposit Bonus Instant Withdrawals Best Odds 10+ Sports Since 2014 No KYC Asked Play Now
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1582081975
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1582081975

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1582081975
Reply with quote  #2

1582081975
Report to moderator
1582081975
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1582081975

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1582081975
Reply with quote  #2

1582081975
Report to moderator
1582081975
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1582081975

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1582081975
Reply with quote  #2

1582081975
Report to moderator
Viera
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62
Merit: 10


Quality Services to benefit Bitcoin Community


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 04:24:25 AM
 #2

No you can't, graphics card can only be used with PCI Express x16 slots, and you have none left.

Buy Minecraft gift codes here, just 1.2 BTC - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=30914
------------------------------
Need help translating your bitcoin business or any other site to Russian? I'm offering quick, accurate and affordable translation services.
nafai
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 22, 2011, 07:10:26 AM
 #3

That's not true.

First of all, they can run out-of-the-box on any PCIe slot, not just 16x. Even a PCIe 1x slot will do mining just fine. You won't get as good of GAMING graphic performance by running a video card in a PCIe slot with a shorter bus, but bitcoin mining is not affected.

Also, it's rumored you can even run a bitcoin miner on a GPU in a plain old PCI slot. I've seen it discussed here on the forum, but I don't recall the details. And of course I haven't done it myself so I can't verify.

1HQiS9PLHPcoQMgN8ZdcGwhoMHWh2Hp37p
Jaime Frontero
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 07:23:00 AM
 #4

No you can't, graphics card can only be used with PCI Express x16 slots, and you have none left.

no.

with PCIe extenders - or a little very careful jeweler's saw work - a GPU will run just fine in any PCIe slot; even an x1.

check the mining forums, and the trade wiki for extenders:

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Trade
Cidsor
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 07:38:50 AM
 #5

The MSI mobo can handle up to 4 cards. You have to use the existing PCI-e x16 slot and the three PCI-e x1 slots. You need three of thesehttps://cablesaurus.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1&products_id=10&zenid=6ae347de3003210aa2eae189bdd606b6 and the space in your cabinet Smiley
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918
Merit: 1000


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 02:50:22 PM
 #6


I used this
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320717538179&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT

and this
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=180670518754&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
Morebitcoinsplease
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 22, 2011, 05:30:17 PM
 #7

No you can't, graphics card can only be used with PCI Express x16 slots, and you have none left.

no.

with PCIe extenders - or a little very careful jeweler's saw work - a GPU will run just fine in any PCIe slot; even an x1.

check the mining forums, and the trade wiki for extenders:

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Trade

+1 You can run any GPU on a PCI-E slot, I run several video cards on PCI-E x1 and x4
mu50stang
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 02:53:11 PM
 #8

Is this all I need to make this work.  Thanks.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320717538179&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!