Bitcoin Forum
December 14, 2017, 11:52:55 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: HELP cgminer error "USB init, open device failed, err -12"  (Read 12885 times)
Shotline
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
November 02, 2013, 08:38:30 AM
 #1

I am hoping someone can help me with this.

I am running cgminer 3.6.6 no gpu (even with the regular cgminer I get the same errors) and am getting this continuous error:

USB init, open device failed, err -12, you need to install a WinUSB driver for - BLT device 4:2
Icarus detect (4:2) failed to initialise (incorrect device?)
USB init, open device failed, err -12, you need to install a WinUSB driver for -BTB device 4:2
avalon detect (4:2) failed to initialise (incorrect device?)


and it just keeps repeating over an over.

Other than this, cgminer is running perfect.  I have 4 AMU devices, am submitting shares, all working well except for this error.

I am on a windows 7 machine with an ATI Radeon HD 5450 but don't want to use the gpu for mining.  I have tried every version of cgminer and every one after 3.1.1 has this error.

Does anyone have an idea how to get rid of it or at least suppress it?

Thanks for any help you can provide.

1513295575
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513295575

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513295575
Reply with quote  #2

1513295575
Report to moderator
1513295575
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513295575

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513295575
Reply with quote  #2

1513295575
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513295575
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513295575

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513295575
Reply with quote  #2

1513295575
Report to moderator
1513295575
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513295575

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513295575
Reply with quote  #2

1513295575
Report to moderator
petregr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
November 02, 2013, 01:41:24 PM
 #2

What hardware and OS do you use?
btceic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


♫ A wave came crashing like a fist to the jaw ♫


View Profile WWW
November 02, 2013, 01:46:13 PM
 #3

Download the zadig drivers

http://sourceforge.net/projects/libwdi/files/zadig/

Specifically this one:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/libwdi/files/zadig/zadig_v2.0.1.160.7z/download

Choose Options-->List All Devices from the main menu and choose one of the usb miners and click the install driver button.

reboot

run cgminer or bfgminer and you should be good to go.

♫ This situation, which side are you on? Are you getting out? Are you dropping bombs? Have you heard of diplomatic resolve? ♫ How To Run A Cheap Full Bitcoin Node For $19 A Year ♫ If I knew where it was, I would take you there. There’s much more than this. ♫ Track Your Bitcoins Value
Shotline
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
November 02, 2013, 06:43:34 PM
 #4

Download the zadig drivers

http://sourceforge.net/projects/libwdi/files/zadig/

Specifically this one:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/libwdi/files/zadig/zadig_v2.0.1.160.7z/download

Choose Options-->List All Devices from the main menu and choose one of the usb miners and click the install driver button.

reboot

run cgminer or bfgminer and you should be good to go.


This isn't a problem with the usb miners, they are working fine.  The issue seems to be with something else on my system that is not icarus nor avalon but cgminer thinks it is.

And I just found out what the item is.  I have a 3D printer and just pulled its usb cable and the errors stopped.  So now I need to figure out how to supress the messages or leave the printer unplugged when not in use.
pontiacg5
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
November 02, 2013, 06:57:29 PM
 #5

Not sure how much you care to fix this, but I think you can select specific USB devices by hardware addresses with CGminer. There's a section on it in the readme.

Please DO NOT send me private messages asking for help setting up GPU miners. I will not respond!!!
Shotline
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
November 03, 2013, 12:50:07 AM
 #6

Not sure how much you care to fix this, but I think you can select specific USB devices by hardware addresses with CGminer. There's a section on it in the readme.

It isn't going to be a priority but thanks for the advice.  I will check the readme.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!