Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 10:05:38 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Hardware Problems  (Read 777 times)
badsamaritan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 08:32:05 PM
 #1

Been trying to build a mining rig, and it looks like I need a little help. My PSU absolutely refuses to power on- no power to the motherboard, no fan noise, no nothing. Here's a list of the hardware I'm using.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813138318
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103698
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820134812
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150523
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817341017

I've already tried swapping out the PSU, so unless I've been sent two dead units in a row, I'm tempted to think something else is wrong. Thoughts?
1480802738
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480802738

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480802738
Reply with quote  #2

1480802738
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Morebitcoinsplease
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile
July 27, 2011, 08:35:42 PM
 #2

I agree that you need to determine what is wrong, and unless your plugging everything in wrong your motherboard might be busted.

Have you tried another motherboard? or perhaps to ensure that the PSU's are working plug them into another machine?

jh1523
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 08:36:11 PM
 #3

Have you tested the power supply itself? Here's how to do it.

http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/other/22

Try this, see if you can get the PSU to turn on when it's not attached to a motherboard.

If you feel I have helped you, consider donating to 1BFLDATk4iE6R2hYTfqNjxBZYctU9eshCM
badsamaritan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 08:43:04 PM
 #4

Alright, shorting the PSU works, so that component isn't the issue. Anyway to test a motherboard, or am I just going to have to spring for another?
jh1523
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 08:45:31 PM
 #5

Attach PSU to motherboard, with only the CPU and 1 stick of memory in it, as well as 1 known good video card. Try to turn it on this way..

If you feel I have helped you, consider donating to 1BFLDATk4iE6R2hYTfqNjxBZYctU9eshCM
gooie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
July 27, 2011, 09:43:45 PM
 #6

could be anything really, could be anything from broken MB to the power button not connected.

Stuff you could check:

  • All 24 ATX-pins are connected
  • 4-pin CPU power connected
  • power button connected and working (try use a key to connect the 2 pins together on the motherboard (TRY AT YOUR OWN RISK, wouldn't suggest it if you got parkingson Wink ))
  • unplug unnecessary stuff, only have the most essential to start it.
  • my favorite: unplug EVERYTHING, start over, do right Wink

You're Welcome. (http://gifsound.com/?gif=http%3A%2F%2Fi.imgur.com%2FrDDjz.gif&sound=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DtvLDm8821jQ&start=23) - 14cx1d2RqQrgSpn18BFgYCSzgfzf3Y3vmz
Morebitcoinsplease
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile
July 27, 2011, 10:00:56 PM
 #7

Alright, shorting the PSU works, so that component isn't the issue. Anyway to test a motherboard, or am I just going to have to spring for another?

You could spring for another motherboard, a bit costly though, perhaps best to see if a friend can lend you their working PSU and see if the motherboard starts up and try your PSU on their motherboard.

I agree with the previous poster make sure all the cables are plugged right... you could short the two pins to start the board without a switch with everything plugged in properly to see if it will start.
badsamaritan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 10:27:03 PM
 #8

Shorting the pins on the mobo turns it on. Time to commence mining, looks like.   Grin
PLaci1982
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


Live long and prosper. \\//,


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 10:32:09 PM
 #9

Shorting the pins on the mobo turns it on. Time to commence mining, looks like.   Grin

Hehehe, rare problem, but your case's power button must be faulty Smiley

Hardware Expert / WinXP, Win7 Expert

1J5oPkyGVdb4mv44KGZQYsHS2ch6e1t4rc
jh1523
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 10:41:05 PM
 #10

My miner is in a case that has a power button that sticks down. To turn it on (not that I ever need to do that since it's on 24/7) I need to rapidly tap it multiple times, or else it'll stick and the machine turns on and then off again in 10 seconds. Smiley

If you feel I have helped you, consider donating to 1BFLDATk4iE6R2hYTfqNjxBZYctU9eshCM
gooie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
July 27, 2011, 11:12:51 PM
 #11

Shorting the pins on the mobo turns it on. Time to commence mining, looks like.   Grin

glad everything worked out Smiley

feel free to donate if you like Wink

1MAisWAvJJwQ3m2pitbSPLbL8VtNWHDzn3

You're Welcome. (http://gifsound.com/?gif=http%3A%2F%2Fi.imgur.com%2FrDDjz.gif&sound=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DtvLDm8821jQ&start=23) - 14cx1d2RqQrgSpn18BFgYCSzgfzf3Y3vmz
Morebitcoinsplease
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile
July 27, 2011, 11:40:37 PM
 #12

Shorting the pins on the mobo turns it on. Time to commence mining, looks like.   Grin

I am glad everything worked out have fun mining =)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!