Bitcoin Forum
September 20, 2017, 04:08:00 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: bitcoin -server error  (Read 4344 times)
kldunc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
February 08, 2011, 04:52:48 AM
 #1

When running bitcoin with -server I get this error message:
Quote
Warning: To use the "-server" option, you must set rpcpassword=<password> in the configuration file:
C:/Users/username/Appdata/Roaming/Bitcoin/bitcoin.conf

In bitcoin.conf I have:
Quote
rpcuser=username
rpcpassword=password

Am I missing something?

www.upallnighthosting.com
Make sure you back up your wallet regularly! With Bitcoin-Qt, it needs to be backed up at least as often as every 100 transactions (both sends and receipts) or new addresses.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1505880480
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1505880480

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1505880480
Reply with quote  #2

1505880480
Report to moderator
1505880480
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1505880480

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1505880480
Reply with quote  #2

1505880480
Report to moderator
Cryptoman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728



View Profile
February 08, 2011, 05:03:40 AM
 #2

Make sure the file is in the correct directory and that the file name is not misspelled.  I don't know how file permissions work under Windows, but also make sure the file is readable by the user starting the server.  Other than that, I have no clue.

"A small body of determined spirits fired by an unquenchable faith in their mission can alter the course of history." --Gandhi
bitcool
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1441

Live and enjoy experiments


View Profile
February 08, 2011, 05:42:34 AM
 #3

I had same problem before, not sure the cause is the same though.

I created bitcoin.conf using Windows New -> Text file, even though it showed "bitcoin.conf" as the file name, there's a hidden extension .txt. I renamed it using DOS and everything worked fine.
kldunc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
February 08, 2011, 01:15:43 PM
 #4

Quote
I created bitcoin.conf using Windows New -> Text file, even though it showed "bitcoin.conf" as the file name, there's a hidden extension .txt. I renamed it using DOS and everything worked fine.

This was exactly it. I sent a bitcoin to say thanks

www.upallnighthosting.com
bitcool
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1441

Live and enjoy experiments


View Profile
February 08, 2011, 04:00:47 PM
 #5

This was exactly it. I sent a bitcoin to say thanks
thanks, glad to help.
WSDN
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132



View Profile
February 08, 2011, 04:30:52 PM
 #6

hi all is possible put more users in the same conf file? example: i have 3 computers (6 workers 3 prosessor and 3 gpu) is possible to have 6 users in the same conf file?

▛ [ CENTRA ] Multi-Blockchain Worldwide Debit Card & Insured Wallet
▞▬▬▬▞▬▬▬▞▬▬▬▞▬▬▬▞▬▬▬▞▬▬▬▚▬▬▬▚▬▬▬▚▬▬▬▚▬▬▬▚▬▬▬▚
▙     FacebookSlackTwitterGithubMediumANN Thread     ▟
BitterTea
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
February 08, 2011, 08:06:53 PM
 #7

I believe you'd have to have separate conf files and specify the datadirectory for Bitcoin using the command line argument.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!