Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 08:58:23 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: bitcoin -server error  (Read 4132 times)
kldunc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
February 08, 2011, 04:52:48 AM
 #1

When running bitcoin with -server I get this error message:
Quote
Warning: To use the "-server" option, you must set rpcpassword=<password> in the configuration file:
C:/Users/username/Appdata/Roaming/Bitcoin/bitcoin.conf

In bitcoin.conf I have:
Quote
rpcuser=username
rpcpassword=password

Am I missing something?

www.upallnighthosting.com
1481403503
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481403503

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481403503
Reply with quote  #2

1481403503
Report to moderator
1481403503
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481403503

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481403503
Reply with quote  #2

1481403503
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Cryptoman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728



View Profile
February 08, 2011, 05:03:40 AM
 #2

Make sure the file is in the correct directory and that the file name is not misspelled.  I don't know how file permissions work under Windows, but also make sure the file is readable by the user starting the server.  Other than that, I have no clue.

"A small body of determined spirits fired by an unquenchable faith in their mission can alter the course of history." --Gandhi
bitcool
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1441

Live and enjoy experiments


View Profile
February 08, 2011, 05:42:34 AM
 #3

I had same problem before, not sure the cause is the same though.

I created bitcoin.conf using Windows New -> Text file, even though it showed "bitcoin.conf" as the file name, there's a hidden extension .txt. I renamed it using DOS and everything worked fine.
kldunc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
February 08, 2011, 01:15:43 PM
 #4

Quote
I created bitcoin.conf using Windows New -> Text file, even though it showed "bitcoin.conf" as the file name, there's a hidden extension .txt. I renamed it using DOS and everything worked fine.

This was exactly it. I sent a bitcoin to say thanks

www.upallnighthosting.com
bitcool
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1441

Live and enjoy experiments


View Profile
February 08, 2011, 04:00:47 PM
 #5

This was exactly it. I sent a bitcoin to say thanks
thanks, glad to help.
WSDN
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109


Unix Live free or die...


View Profile WWW
February 08, 2011, 04:30:52 PM
 #6

hi all is possible put more users in the same conf file? example: i have 3 computers (6 workers 3 prosessor and 3 gpu) is possible to have 6 users in the same conf file?

Bitcoin in spanish http://bitcoins.com.ar/
BitterTea
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
February 08, 2011, 08:06:53 PM
 #7

I believe you'd have to have separate conf files and specify the datadirectory for Bitcoin using the command line argument.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!