Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 07:06:38 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: GPUs in real servers... like Dell PowerEdge, IBM, etc  (Read 1479 times)
epdp14
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 02:20:56 AM
 #1

I am a network administrator and hosted services provider (webhost, voip, etc) to small businesses and I have a couple of servers that have pcie slots labeled PCIeX8 and PCIeX4. Are these just normal run of the mill pcie slots that are x4 or x8 instead of the standard x16? Are there any video cards that would get a decent hashrate and work in these cards?

Thanks for your help.

The slots look like this:



PS this is a repost from the tech support forum but I guess it fits here better.

Trade BitCoins with TradeHill! 10% off commissions with this link!
My Address: 1PKGvRLM6iWmFbppqWMVpHgp8jxymjxkvg
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480748798
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480748798

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480748798
Reply with quote  #2

1480748798
Report to moderator
1480748798
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480748798

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480748798
Reply with quote  #2

1480748798
Report to moderator
1480748798
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480748798

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480748798
Reply with quote  #2

1480748798
Report to moderator
airdata
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 04:41:33 AM
 #2

Only one I've heard somebody talking about was an sc420 which is an older tower.  I think they have a full sized pcie and then a 4x that you can cut the back off to fit a 2nd card.

Also, the T300's I believe ONLY have pcie... Whether or not you could get high end cards working in it is another thing.
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
July 28, 2011, 06:37:45 AM
 #3

I guess you could use extenders and put any kind of card. For mining, you can use pci-e 1x to 16x extenders without any decrease in bitcoin mining speed.
cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 09:39:35 PM
 #4

Nah probably not, you better just send them all to me.  Wink

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 10:21:48 PM
 #5

Yes mining will work fine you may need a flexible riser cable to fit the cards properly or to cut the end of the slot so the card can pass through.

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!