Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 02:21:17 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Need help on deciding which pool to join for mining operations.  (Read 829 times)
Krang25
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 07:14:47 AM
 #1

Hello, I am new to bitcoins and I really want to be part of a pool. I am currently running 2 x 6870's and get about 500 mhash/s

I was wondering which pool should I join to get the most out of it. My computer runs 24/7 and I don't need my video card for gaming right now and probably wont for the next several months.

(Computer has been on without reboot for the past 28 days)

So which pool should I join ?

Advice would be greatly appreciated. As I can see each person's opinion seems to be different about joining very large pools or smaller ones. With the setup I will be using what should I do ?

 Cheesy
1481034077
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481034077

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481034077
Reply with quote  #2

1481034077
Report to moderator
1481034077
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481034077

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481034077
Reply with quote  #2

1481034077
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481034077
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481034077

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481034077
Reply with quote  #2

1481034077
Report to moderator
1481034077
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481034077

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481034077
Reply with quote  #2

1481034077
Report to moderator
1481034077
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481034077

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481034077
Reply with quote  #2

1481034077
Report to moderator
Vladimir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812


-


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 07:18:22 AM
 #2

I recommend the pool which I am using http://mining.mainframe.nl

-
Soak
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213



View Profile
July 28, 2011, 07:28:17 AM
 #3

The only one diffenrence between large and small pools is the frequency of rewards. Large pool pay fast but less, and small pool pay slower but more (especially if the pool have luck and there are a bit of miners).

You have a large choice of pools, but I recommend for you BitMinter. It's a small pool with no fee, a pretty look and better miner than other (expecially on 6xxx cards, try it) and the pool owner is very available.

Here an overview of the miner:

jpinconline
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 07:50:49 AM
 #4

I have tried all of the majors btcguild, slush's site, deepbit(ew), MT.Red, and i have recently been using https://jpinconline.triplemining.com/register it is a small pool but has a nice interface and low 1% fee. Out of the large pools I really like btcguild now that they have their new server goin. good luck mining Smiley

SMARTCOIN - the choice of smart2 people.
smc: SaH8jvNsVudqFrGxSoDwdXoMmaRKh5WZWy
Krang25
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 07:54:33 AM
 #5

The only one diffenrence between large and small pools is the frequency of rewards. Large pool pay fast but less, and small pool pay slower but more (especially if the pool have luck and there are a bit of miners).

You have a large choice of pools, but I recommend for you BitMinter. It's a small pool with no fee, a pretty look and better miner than other (expecially on 6xxx cards, try it) and the pool owner is very available.

Here an overview of the miner:

http://i1143.photobucket.com/albums/n629/DrHaribo/Cayman.png

I registered, confirmed my email and all, but when I clik on start mining ( on the website) it opens a bitcoin picture and then the picture just dissapears, I dont see the actual application and I cant mine. Looked at my vid cards they are both at 0-1% activity
Soak
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213



View Profile
July 28, 2011, 08:02:04 AM
 #6

The only one diffenrence between large and small pools is the frequency of rewards. Large pool pay fast but less, and small pool pay slower but more (especially if the pool have luck and there are a bit of miners).

You have a large choice of pools, but I recommend for you BitMinter. It's a small pool with no fee, a pretty look and better miner than other (expecially on 6xxx cards, try it) and the pool owner is very available.

Here an overview of the miner:



I registered, confirmed my email and all, but when I clik on start mining ( on the website) it opens a bitcoin picture and then the picture just dissapears, I dont see the actual application and I cant mine. Looked at my vid cards they are both at 0-1% activity

You need to install the miner through Java (for automatic updates and more).
Krang25
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 08:05:22 AM
 #7

The only one diffenrence between large and small pools is the frequency of rewards. Large pool pay fast but less, and small pool pay slower but more (especially if the pool have luck and there are a bit of miners).

You have a large choice of pools, but I recommend for you BitMinter. It's a small pool with no fee, a pretty look and better miner than other (expecially on 6xxx cards, try it) and the pool owner is very available.

Here an overview of the miner:

http://i1143.photobucket.com/albums/n629/DrHaribo/Cayman.png

I registered, confirmed my email and all, but when I clik on start mining ( on the website) it opens a bitcoin picture and then the picture just dissapears, I dont see the actual application and I cant mine. Looked at my vid cards they are both at 0-1% activity

You need to install the miner through Java (for automatic updates and more).

Could you go about explaining how I would do that?


When I click the icon I see the java32.exe process coming up in processes but I dont see no interface at all.
Krang25
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 08:20:34 AM
 #8

currently uninstalling java and reinstalling
SHlFT
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


#teamwin


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2011, 08:26:19 AM
 #9

I'm using BitMiner as well

Krang25
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 08:27:17 AM
 #10

currently uninstalling java and reinstalling

Nope uninstallign java, reinstalling it, and pressing start again on the bitminter site didnt fixe the problem, I dont see the app.
Krang25
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 08:34:10 AM
 #11

currently uninstalling java and reinstalling

Nope uninstallign java, reinstalling it, and pressing start again on the bitminter site didnt fixe the problem, I dont see the app.


For now Ill be using the GuiMiner since I cant get the bitminter app to work, should I add anything in particular to the extra flags section ?
Soak
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213



View Profile
July 28, 2011, 08:36:18 AM
 #12

For now Ill be using the GuiMiner since I cant get the bitminter app to work, should I add anything in particular to the extra flags section ?

You will find all the flags used for your cards here: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

For the Java miner, have you administrator rights?
Krang25
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 08:49:42 AM
 #13

For now Ill be using the GuiMiner since I cant get the bitminter app to work, should I add anything in particular to the extra flags section ?

You will find all the flags used for your cards here: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

For the Java miner, have you administrator rights?


Yes even when running as admin it doesnt work.

Ok so this is what was written on the mining hardware part

-k phatk platform=0 device=0 VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=11 worksize=128 FASTLOOP=false, mem clock @ 228MHz, voltage @ 1.25, Fan @ 40%, Temp @ 73C

So I would put in my extra flags what ?

Sorry if im so newbish
Soak
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213



View Profile
July 28, 2011, 09:43:42 AM
 #14

You need to add a worker in your BitMinter account.



For example, my workers are Home and Work. You need to define a password for each.

Then:



The extra flags is -v -w128 for your cards. The Username must be Username_Worker (example for me: Soak_Home).
Krang25
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
July 29, 2011, 01:44:46 AM
 #15

You need to add a worker in your BitMinter account.

http://i.min.us/jcg4lw.jpg

For example, my workers are Home and Work. You need to define a password for each.

Then:

http://i.min.us/jccjFi.jpg

The extra flags is -v -w128 for your cards. The Username must be Username_Worker (example for me: Soak_Home).

Thank you soak for all the info. I just got back from work and I see I have 7k proofs of work. Seems like it is working just fine for now.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!