Bitcoin Forum
November 21, 2017, 05:05:56 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: USB hub problem  (Read 478 times)
WinterStorm
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
November 06, 2013, 03:03:58 AM
 #1

Hello,

I have 2 erupters plugged directly into my computer (Ubuntu server 12.04.3) and 3 more plugged into a USB hub (that uses a power adapter) that are also connected to that computer.

When I run cgminer it detects all 5 erupters and they appear to work. Under /dev it lists all 5 erupters.

/dev/ttyUSB0
/dev/ttyUSB1
/dev/ttyUSB2
/dev/ttyUSB3
/dev/ttyUSB4
 
However, when I visit my pools website it only shows approximately 650 Mh/s. It appears as though the erupters plugged into the hub are not registering with my pool. I also tried setting up p2pool.info with similar results so I don't think this is a problem with the pools.

I tried taking one of the erupters out of the hub and plug it directly into my computer and my hash rate jumped to about 1 Gh/s so the erupters work but for some reason something is happening with the hub?

Anyone have any ideas why those 3 erupters in the hub are not working or why their work is not being sent to my pool?

Thanks
1511240756
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511240756

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511240756
Reply with quote  #2

1511240756
Report to moderator
1511240756
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511240756

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511240756
Reply with quote  #2

1511240756
Report to moderator
1511240756
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511240756

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511240756
Reply with quote  #2

1511240756
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
WinterStorm
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
November 06, 2013, 11:12:00 PM
 #2

I bought a new USB hub (ORICO P10-U2 10 port) and everything is working now.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 07, 2013, 02:55:50 AM
 #3

BE's draw .5 Amp each.  So you need to make sure your hub power supply can supply that much power to them.  3 BE's would require 1.5 Amp @ 5 Volt, 2 Amps would be more better.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
ChazM
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52



View Profile
November 07, 2013, 04:12:05 AM
 #4

Similar issue, I found the Saitechi one I bought to be very flaky. Depending on the particular bootup of BFG miner, I can get anywhere from 9-300Mh/s (averages about 120) on a single stick ( got it to run 3 at full speed, but the port arrangement and sticks used are probably random), and my errors get near 75% after about 15 minutes on all five. I know it's not the erupters, they run fine in my computer.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 07, 2013, 04:16:50 AM
 #5

I don't know how many Erupters you have.  But I had the best luck with the Rosewill 5/7 port hubs.  It has 5 powered ports with a 2 Amp power supply.  I ran 4 erupters on each one with no issues.

I also tried 3 of the Anker 9+1 hubs, one works perfect the second is flaky unless it is plugged into a Rosewill hub and the third fried in less than 24 hours.

I haven't used the DLink you asked about so I don't know.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
ChazM
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52



View Profile
November 07, 2013, 04:29:48 AM
 #6

I had a second look at that one, doesn't look like it has external power. (and on newegg it does, perhaps I'll try that one tomorrow) I haven't really bought anything from Rosewill. I always wonder if they're cheap or inexpensive.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 07, 2013, 04:42:20 AM
 #7

I had a second look at that one, doesn't look like it has external power. (and on newegg it does, perhaps I'll try that one tomorrow) I haven't really bought anything from Rosewill. I always wonder if they're cheap or inexpensive.

The ones I got have magnets on the bottom so they stick to the computer case really well.  I like them allot.  They are USB 2.0 so you can't hook up a bunch of hard drives to them.  I have been underwhelmed by the Anker's, they're crap.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!