Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 03:39:08 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Is this an error?  (Read 853 times)
thebushwookie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 05:25:46 PM
 #1

So i started up GUI Miner.exe, ran a CUDA miner. My friend got 350Mhash/s off his HD6890

I have a GTX460 and i got this:

http://screensnapr.com/e/Kx1prG.png

Then i restarted and im getting about 28 Mhash/s. Why so low and how can i get Ghash/s again?
1480779548
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480779548

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480779548
Reply with quote  #2

1480779548
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 05:29:18 PM
 #2

hahahaahah WOW. thats a massive error. That 28 mh/s is correct, nVidias pretty much suck at mining. Some pools aren't even at 50gh/s.

Sorry Smiley
thehairymob
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2011, 05:31:25 PM
 #3

I'd say it was a glitch in the hash reporting in GUIminer rather than you getting 50 odd Ghash/s
thebushwookie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 05:49:16 PM
 #4

that is dissapointing Sad
AlcaDotS
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 07:24:25 PM
 #5

yes, that's an unlikely story Tongue
jh1523
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 07:28:14 PM
 #6

It'll teach you for dividing by zero. Smiley

If you feel I have helped you, consider donating to 1BFLDATk4iE6R2hYTfqNjxBZYctU9eshCM
Elder III
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91



View Profile
July 28, 2011, 07:39:10 PM
 #7

The lower number is likely correct.... NVIDIA GPUs are not designed to be viable for bitmining - you will pay more in electric (by allot) then you will ever make with it.  Tongue
silverchair
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile WWW
July 29, 2011, 06:25:36 AM
 #8

absolutely.

Hey Guys! WWW.FREEBITCOINS.ORG introduces "Epic December Contest" where you can Win Sweet Casascius Coins !!!
NathanCH
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
July 29, 2011, 10:40:45 AM
 #9

Yea this is a crazy error. A similar thing happened to my friend when he tried to do that. But i cant remember how he fixed it. I'll ask him
jh1523
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
July 29, 2011, 10:47:38 AM
 #10

OT: Radeon 6890 (mentioned by the OP)? I thought those had been only a rumor. AFAIK they were never launched/sold.

If you feel I have helped you, consider donating to 1BFLDATk4iE6R2hYTfqNjxBZYctU9eshCM
bizzy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54


View Profile
July 29, 2011, 11:17:21 AM
 #11

An error, unless the aliens have messed with your card to help contact their mothership....
PLaci1982
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


Live long and prosper. \\//,


View Profile
July 29, 2011, 11:44:04 AM
 #12

I have a GT430, and I can confirm, that's and error, usually when CUDA drops to 0% GPU usage, and still shows as working...
Forget nVidia, ATI/AMD FTW!

Hardware Expert / WinXP, Win7 Expert

1J5oPkyGVdb4mv44KGZQYsHS2ch6e1t4rc
RvdE
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
July 29, 2011, 11:47:54 AM
 #13

OT: Radeon 6890 (mentioned by the OP)? I thought those had been only a rumor. AFAIK they were never launched/sold.

See this link for the (current) AMD cards: http://www.amd.com/us/products/desktop/graphics/amd-radeon-hd-6000/hd-6990/Pages/amd-radeon-hd-6990-overview.aspx

Right now there's only rumors about the 6890 and no actual specs or release dates.
dub0matic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile
July 29, 2011, 11:51:17 AM
 #14

Yea definitely an error. Happened to me yesterday when mining on slush.  It said like 1200gh/s for me

make it rain haha
btc 176MrZ3CCXGb1GqFiGaoqQpaynzYqZsW6n
unsquidly
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50


View Profile
July 29, 2011, 12:47:52 PM
 #15

I have gotten about the same error before......Just like with everything else, if it seems too good to be true, it most likely is....LOL
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!