Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 07:04:15 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Pci express splitter  (Read 5472 times)
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 09:12:09 PM
 #1

has anyone tried a board such as this one
http://cgi.ebay.com/Dell-POWEREDGE-R710-PCIE-RISER-BOARD-MX843-/270692444242?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3f0686e852
in a standard(ie non dell poweredge) motherboard to any result? a visual inspection shows it simply breaks the pci slot in half for each of the slots i see no significant supporting logic on the board

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480748655
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480748655

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480748655
Reply with quote  #2

1480748655
Report to moderator
1480748655
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480748655

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480748655
Reply with quote  #2

1480748655
Report to moderator
PatrickHarnett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
July 28, 2011, 09:23:42 PM
 #2

Many riser/splitters convert PCIe to PCI.  I've yet to find a device that does PCIe to PCIe splits.  Most useful I ever managed was PCIx to PCIe running GPUs in P3 servers.
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 09:27:28 PM
 #3

thta's why i asked about this one specifically i can see both ends are pci e at least i'm wondering if anyone has tried this or a similar one.

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
JoelKatz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386


Democracy is vulnerable to a 51% attack.


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2011, 09:32:19 PM
 #4

This seems to split an x16 slot into two x8 slots. It doesn't seem to a bridge but a splitter. Obviously, it won't work if you put it in a slot that's already wired for x8. But most chipsets should accept a split of an x16 slot to two x8's. The biggest issue I can see is that it might confuse the BIOS.

I am an employee of Ripple.
1Joe1Katzci1rFcsr9HH7SLuHVnDy2aihZ BM-NBM3FRExVJSJJamV9ccgyWvQfratUHgN
PatrickHarnett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
July 28, 2011, 09:45:24 PM
 #5

A quick search shows Joel is right (2 PCIe 8 lanes).

The other issue plugging GPUs into this (bandwidth should not be a problem) will be power draw.  The normal draw is 75W from the mobo, so if you plug in two GPUs it will need possibly double that.  The connections may not be designed to handle that power.  I suspect that's what burned my dell poweredge serve motherboard when I was playing with risers last year - i.e. too much current and slow over-heating = crispy fibreglass and lots of smoke => trash.
mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 10:03:45 PM
 #6

A quick search shows Joel is right (2 PCIe 8 lanes).

The other issue plugging GPUs into this (bandwidth should not be a problem) will be power draw.  The normal draw is 75W from the mobo, so if you plug in two GPUs it will need possibly double that.  The connections may not be designed to handle that power.  I suspect that's what burned my dell poweredge serve motherboard when I was playing with risers last year - i.e. too much current and slow over-heating = crispy fibreglass and lots of smoke => trash.

Would something like this fix the power problem?
https://cablesaurus.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1&products_id=11
cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 10:14:37 PM
 #7


Indeed it would, the molex power adapter allows the card to pull that 75W directly from the PSU, instead of through the motherboard.

You only really need the 1x adapter with molex however, mining is not bandwidth intensive so you don't need all the lanes available to 8x or 16x

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 10:48:46 PM
 #8


Indeed it would, the molex power adapter allows the card to pull that 75W directly from the PSU, instead of through the motherboard.

You only really need the 1x adapter with molex however, mining is not bandwidth intensive so you don't need all the lanes available to 8x or 16x
The 1x is less then a dollar difference in price so it doesn't really change things.

Edit: The site I'm about to post doesn't list prices at least that I see but take a look at this.
http://www.amfeltec.com/products/x4pcie-splitter4.php
echo2
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
July 29, 2011, 12:41:57 AM
 #9

hmm wonder how many cards i can cram on 1 motherboard like 20??

donate to1ATLB2mX8Yybu1nAmvKTNEdJxvm61zjTYs
 *Image Removed*
cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
July 29, 2011, 02:39:37 AM
 #10

hmm wonder how many cards i can cram on 1 motherboard like 20??

I think the current driver is limited to 8 cards.

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
July 29, 2011, 03:07:18 AM
 #11

hmm wonder how many cards i can cram on 1 motherboard like 20??

I think the current driver is limited to 8 cards.
Its 8 on windows. I'm pretty sure on linux its a bit higher.
IlbiStarz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
July 29, 2011, 06:27:44 AM
 #12

hmm wonder how many cards i can cram on 1 motherboard like 20??

I think the current driver is limited to 8 cards.
Its 8 on windows. I'm pretty sure on linux its a bit higher.

No it's 8. It's a driver limitation = Catalyst, not the OS.

It's better to be pissed off, than to be pissed on.
BTC : 1UgM1rqL9mFtH4PHF8TgvAaceymaKmhmP         LTC : LgCGw2WrRphr94RYS1qXHj2PUuYrTap4vk
FC : 6jc9PEmqxpMSxydfepHtshE4f2jMom1dAJ
mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
July 29, 2011, 02:10:22 PM
 #13

No it's 8. It's a driver limitation = Catalyst, not the OS.

Can you cite this? I remember seeing multiple times people saying linux can hold more. This is one of those times.
There are no myths here...

On windows, prior to driver 11.6 only 4 GPUs would work.

GPU does not equal a video card in this context...
Windows will recognize more than 4 video cards just fine... However, you won't be able to use more than 4 GPUs with 11.5 or below.

However, with 11.6 drivers, it looks like there's limited confirmation of 8 GPUs being the new limit.
On Linux there are rumors that the limit is at least 10 GPUs...
indolering
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
August 06, 2011, 07:31:19 PM
 #14

They are ~$200/pop  Angry

They must be doing low volume.  Maybe someone from Cablesaurus could do a large order and get the price down to something reasonable?
Cablesaurus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 302



View Profile WWW
August 06, 2011, 08:29:50 PM
 #15

We're looking into these as well, from what we've seen so far there's still an 8GPU limit but it may be surpassable.

PCIe Extender Cables; Dummy Plugs, Fans; PSU Cables; Cases & More
Visit www.Cablesaurus.com and our forum thread at http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6128.0
indolering
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
August 06, 2011, 10:34:51 PM
 #16

Can you give any details Cablesaurus?  Looking to get my mobo soon.  If you are about to start selling these splitters at a reasonable price, it will be a mATX with 2 slots.  Otherwise, I will be getting an ATX with the max number of slots I can afford...

Thanks,
-Zach
Pipesnake
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 249


View Profile
August 07, 2011, 09:30:25 PM
 #17

Just something to consider.  If you have a rig with 2 GPUs go down you freak out a little.  If you have a rig with 8 (or more) GPUs go down....you freak out a lot.
indolering
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
August 09, 2011, 03:06:18 AM
 #18

"For 30 units we can do 30% discount."

119.14 + shipping if you have the cash...
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!