Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2018, 08:31:12 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Why PDUs Don't Always Make sense  (Read 124 times)
Raymond_B
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 36

Just Getting Started...


View Profile WWW
April 05, 2018, 11:30:47 PM
 #1

I thought I'd post this to illustrate the challenge when trying to run multiple ASICs of off standard server PDUs.

https://imgur.com/FDLUqxm

The left is a single 14TH S9 on one bank, and then a 13.5TH S9 and an S7 4.73TH on the other. On the right are two M3s, one on each bank. So 5 ASICs on two server type PDUs with 24 outlets each, big waste.

How many of you guys have experience with www.bitcoinpowerstrips.com? Looks like they do not have switched, but at least they are a better fit for ASIC miners.

1542616272
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542616272

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542616272
Reply with quote  #2

1542616272
Report to moderator
1542616272
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542616272

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542616272
Reply with quote  #2

1542616272
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542616272
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542616272

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542616272
Reply with quote  #2

1542616272
Report to moderator
fanatic26
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 560


View Profile
April 06, 2018, 09:58:58 PM
 #2

I dont quite understand this post. Who cares if you have a bunch of empty sockets as long as its working?

Stop buying industrial miners, running them at home, and then complaining about the noise.
Raymond_B
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 36

Just Getting Started...


View Profile WWW
April 06, 2018, 10:23:13 PM
Merited by OgNasty (1)
 #3

I dont quite understand this post. Who cares if you have a bunch of empty sockets as long as its working?

It was really for the rare occasion someone uses the search feature. PDUs, unless you can get them really, really cheap are not feasible. Especially if you start looking at switched and metered. The fact that it takes 2 PDUs for 5 miners is crazy. So again, economics.

I also wanted to see who, if anyone, had used the PDUs I linked. They are not switched, but *seem* to be built to handle much higher loads.

What do you guys use at scale? I breaker per miner? Or are commercial codes different where you can have multiple 220/240 outlets per breaker?

fanatic26
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 560


View Profile
April 06, 2018, 10:55:07 PM
 #4

I built my entire datacenter off of secondary market PDUs because its just not feasable at their MSRP.

I use 3 phase power so my setup will be different from single phase as far as breakers and layout is concerned.

Stop buying industrial miners, running them at home, and then complaining about the noise.
Raymond_B
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 36

Just Getting Started...


View Profile WWW
April 06, 2018, 10:59:24 PM
 #5

I built my entire datacenter off of secondary market PDUs because its just not feasable at their MSRP.

I use 3 phase power so my setup will be different from single phase as far as breakers and layout is concerned.

I would understand if you'd rather not share, but if at all possible I'd love to know your 3 phase setup and how it relates to PDUs (please mods this is on topic!). Believe it or not my house built in 1954 has 3 phase. My sub-panel is only single phase, but I have been thinking about a new service on my out-building that would house all my mining equipment.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282
Merit: 1378


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
April 07, 2018, 04:03:24 AM
Merited by suchmoon (1)
 #6

You are looking at pdus all wrong.

Buy used on eBay .

I understand the idea of a 75 amp seems cool but I would not go that route.

Hp makes a four socket pdu for 30 amp circuits

Runs 4 s9s with ease.

I get them on eBay for 35-50 dollars.

Hp 228481-002


I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!