Bitcoin Forum
April 26, 2018, 02:22:30 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Raising the clock reduces hash rate?  (Read 1347 times)
TripHammer
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 29, 2011, 03:26:01 AM
 #1

Hi,

I have a new XFX 6970 running on Win 7 x64 with the 11.6 drivers and 2.4 SDK, I'm using guiminer with Phoenix and the following:

-k phatk VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=11 WORKSIZE=128 FASTLOOP=false

I've over clocked to 975/700 with 1.2v using Trixx I get about ~406 to ~411 MH/s

If I raise the core clock to 980 MH drops to ~400
If I raise the core clock to 985 MH drops to ~250!  Huh
If I go above 985 I get a freeze, I understand that  Smiley

Can anyone explain why?

Thanks

Trip

Just in case Smiley 13AP8mCpruBQVtVWbQgYGSnBgGxe2g8ERe
Each block is stacked on top of the previous one. Adding another block to the top makes all lower blocks more difficult to remove: there is more "weight" above each block. A transaction in a block 6 blocks deep (6 confirmations) will be very difficult to remove.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1524752550
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524752550

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524752550
Reply with quote  #2

1524752550
Report to moderator
1524752550
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524752550

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524752550
Reply with quote  #2

1524752550
Report to moderator
IlbiStarz
Full Member
***
Online Online

Activity: 308
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 29, 2011, 10:53:50 AM
 #2

Not enough power maybe?
jrtubs
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45
Merit: 0



View Profile
July 29, 2011, 03:13:20 PM
 #3

Your Voltage will need to be raised.
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison this should show you what people are getting at what overclock and also show u what kinda voltage people are using.
TripHammer
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 30, 2011, 01:37:55 AM
 #4

Yup thanks guys, I've been over those pages many times, I took the v all the way up to almost 1.3 and still no go, I've got it stabalised at ~413 now so I'm happy

Just in case Smiley 13AP8mCpruBQVtVWbQgYGSnBgGxe2g8ERe
JoelKatz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582
Merit: 1003


Democracy is vulnerable to a 51% attack.


View Profile WWW
July 30, 2011, 01:46:08 AM
 #5

Can anyone explain why?
Thermal throttling.

I am an employee of Ripple. Follow me on Twitter @JoelKatz
1Joe1Katzci1rFcsr9HH7SLuHVnDy2aihZ BM-NBM3FRExVJSJJamV9ccgyWvQfratUHgN
hmblm1245
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 629
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 01, 2011, 01:16:38 PM
 #6

I too have noticed the same with XFX 6959s. i have a 1000w psu and 1 xfx 6950. When i push them higher than 900mhz the mhash drops. I am also happy with the mhash so i dont worry too much about it.
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 01, 2011, 10:44:38 PM
 #7

I too have noticed the same with XFX 6959s. i have a 1000w psu and 1 xfx 6950. When i push them higher than 900mhz the mhash drops. I am also happy with the mhash so i dont worry too much about it.

Did you set Powertune to +20 in CCC before overclocking?

The hashrate only drops if it's at 0, it attempts to lower power usage to conserve power

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
hmblm1245
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 629
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 02, 2011, 01:58:58 PM
 #8

No i did not and Yes that is the reason i cannot go further. Thanks i can get a bit more outta my machine.
Trini8ed
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 375
Merit: 250


<3 Bitcoins


View Profile
August 15, 2011, 05:57:24 AM
 #9

Hi,

I have a new XFX 6970 running on Win 7 x64 with the 11.6 drivers and 2.4 SDK, I'm using guiminer with Phoenix and the following:

-k phatk VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=11 WORKSIZE=128 FASTLOOP=false

I've over clocked to 975/700 with 1.2v using Trixx I get about ~406 to ~411 MH/s

If I raise the core clock to 980 MH drops to ~400
If I raise the core clock to 985 MH drops to ~250!  Huh
If I go above 985 I get a freeze, I understand that  Smiley

Can anyone explain why?

Thanks

Trip

This is what happens when you change the clock it changes this make sure its +20%


Everyone Loves Donations: 1PEVhtmnBqiN8rYXLHhtUWAB6q9X63Zm9D
Steam Profile: http://steamcommunity.com/id/Trini8ed
pixilated8
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 18, 2011, 02:26:38 AM
 #10

Hi,

I have a new XFX 6970 running on Win 7 x64 with the 11.6 drivers and 2.4 SDK, I'm using guiminer with Phoenix and the following:

-k phatk VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=11 WORKSIZE=128 FASTLOOP=false

I've over clocked to 975/700 with 1.2v using Trixx I get about ~406 to ~411 MH/s

If I raise the core clock to 980 MH drops to ~400
If I raise the core clock to 985 MH drops to ~250!  Huh
If I go above 985 I get a freeze, I understand that  Smiley

Can anyone explain why?

Thanks

Trip

I found that with my 6970, in trying to determine my maximum OC, the results were what you were seeing.  I had to increase 1MHz, see what the hash was, record it, and increase another MHz, see what the hash was, etc.  Increasing the OC by 1MHz could drop the hash by huge amounts.  Add another 1MHz, and it could be back up where you would expect.  I wish I had kept that spreadsheet to give exact numbers, but once I knew what I needed I erased it Smiley

Just in case... 1F7N81fTCofvarJrCyzMrjcsKdsP9YRtzH (http://blockexplorer.com/address/1F7N81fTCofvarJrCyzMrjcsKdsP9YRtzH)
TripHammer
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 18, 2011, 02:32:05 AM
 #11

thanks for the info, what are the numbers you are using now?

Just in case Smiley 13AP8mCpruBQVtVWbQgYGSnBgGxe2g8ERe
pixilated8
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 18, 2011, 03:16:37 PM
 #12

jb@miner0:~$ atitweak -s -A 0 ; atitweak -s -A 2
0. AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series (:0.0)
    engine clock 946MHz, memory clock 821MHz, core voltage 1.15VDC, performance level 2, utilization 99%
    fan speed 72% (4259 RPM) (user-defined)
    temperature 73 C
2. AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series (:0.2)
    engine clock 946MHz, memory clock 821MHz, core voltage 1.175VDC, performance level 2, utilization 99%
    fan speed 72% (4249 RPM) (user-defined)
    temperature 73 C


I do not overclock the cards higher than what AMDOverdriveCtrl would be able to do.  In fact, once I found my highest hash (~414) at 946MHz, I then proceeded to undervolt the card.  Both cards use the same profile, but strangely enough the core voltage on #2 is different than #0.  I'll have to look into that.

Just in case... 1F7N81fTCofvarJrCyzMrjcsKdsP9YRtzH (http://blockexplorer.com/address/1F7N81fTCofvarJrCyzMrjcsKdsP9YRtzH)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!