Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 04:35:15 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Raising the clock reduces hash rate?  (Read 1250 times)
TripHammer
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 29, 2011, 03:26:01 AM
 #1

Hi,

I have a new XFX 6970 running on Win 7 x64 with the 11.6 drivers and 2.4 SDK, I'm using guiminer with Phoenix and the following:

-k phatk VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=11 WORKSIZE=128 FASTLOOP=false

I've over clocked to 975/700 with 1.2v using Trixx I get about ~406 to ~411 MH/s

If I raise the core clock to 980 MH drops to ~400
If I raise the core clock to 985 MH drops to ~250!  Huh
If I go above 985 I get a freeze, I understand that  Smiley

Can anyone explain why?

Thanks

Trip

Just in case Smiley 13AP8mCpruBQVtVWbQgYGSnBgGxe2g8ERe
1480912515
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480912515

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480912515
Reply with quote  #2

1480912515
Report to moderator
1480912515
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480912515

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480912515
Reply with quote  #2

1480912515
Report to moderator
1480912515
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480912515

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480912515
Reply with quote  #2

1480912515
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480912515
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480912515

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480912515
Reply with quote  #2

1480912515
Report to moderator
IlbiStarz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
July 29, 2011, 10:53:50 AM
 #2

Not enough power maybe?

It's better to be pissed off, than to be pissed on.
BTC : 1UgM1rqL9mFtH4PHF8TgvAaceymaKmhmP         LTC : LgCGw2WrRphr94RYS1qXHj2PUuYrTap4vk
FC : 6jc9PEmqxpMSxydfepHtshE4f2jMom1dAJ
jrtubs
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43



View Profile
July 29, 2011, 03:13:20 PM
 #3

Your Voltage will need to be raised.
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison this should show you what people are getting at what overclock and also show u what kinda voltage people are using.
TripHammer
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 30, 2011, 01:37:55 AM
 #4

Yup thanks guys, I've been over those pages many times, I took the v all the way up to almost 1.3 and still no go, I've got it stabalised at ~413 now so I'm happy

Just in case Smiley 13AP8mCpruBQVtVWbQgYGSnBgGxe2g8ERe
JoelKatz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386


Democracy is vulnerable to a 51% attack.


View Profile WWW
July 30, 2011, 01:46:08 AM
 #5

Can anyone explain why?
Thermal throttling.

I am an employee of Ripple.
1Joe1Katzci1rFcsr9HH7SLuHVnDy2aihZ BM-NBM3FRExVJSJJamV9ccgyWvQfratUHgN
hmblm1245
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 635


View Profile
August 01, 2011, 01:16:38 PM
 #6

I too have noticed the same with XFX 6959s. i have a 1000w psu and 1 xfx 6950. When i push them higher than 900mhz the mhash drops. I am also happy with the mhash so i dont worry too much about it.
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
August 01, 2011, 10:44:38 PM
 #7

I too have noticed the same with XFX 6959s. i have a 1000w psu and 1 xfx 6950. When i push them higher than 900mhz the mhash drops. I am also happy with the mhash so i dont worry too much about it.

Did you set Powertune to +20 in CCC before overclocking?

The hashrate only drops if it's at 0, it attempts to lower power usage to conserve power

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
hmblm1245
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 635


View Profile
August 02, 2011, 01:58:58 PM
 #8

No i did not and Yes that is the reason i cannot go further. Thanks i can get a bit more outta my machine.
Trini8ed
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 375


<3 Bitcoins


View Profile
August 15, 2011, 05:57:24 AM
 #9

Hi,

I have a new XFX 6970 running on Win 7 x64 with the 11.6 drivers and 2.4 SDK, I'm using guiminer with Phoenix and the following:

-k phatk VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=11 WORKSIZE=128 FASTLOOP=false

I've over clocked to 975/700 with 1.2v using Trixx I get about ~406 to ~411 MH/s

If I raise the core clock to 980 MH drops to ~400
If I raise the core clock to 985 MH drops to ~250!  Huh
If I go above 985 I get a freeze, I understand that  Smiley

Can anyone explain why?

Thanks

Trip

This is what happens when you change the clock it changes this make sure its +20%


Everyone Loves Donations: 1PEVhtmnBqiN8rYXLHhtUWAB6q9X63Zm9D
Steam Profile: http://steamcommunity.com/id/Trini8ed
pixilated8
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
August 18, 2011, 02:26:38 AM
 #10

Hi,

I have a new XFX 6970 running on Win 7 x64 with the 11.6 drivers and 2.4 SDK, I'm using guiminer with Phoenix and the following:

-k phatk VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=11 WORKSIZE=128 FASTLOOP=false

I've over clocked to 975/700 with 1.2v using Trixx I get about ~406 to ~411 MH/s

If I raise the core clock to 980 MH drops to ~400
If I raise the core clock to 985 MH drops to ~250!  Huh
If I go above 985 I get a freeze, I understand that  Smiley

Can anyone explain why?

Thanks

Trip

I found that with my 6970, in trying to determine my maximum OC, the results were what you were seeing.  I had to increase 1MHz, see what the hash was, record it, and increase another MHz, see what the hash was, etc.  Increasing the OC by 1MHz could drop the hash by huge amounts.  Add another 1MHz, and it could be back up where you would expect.  I wish I had kept that spreadsheet to give exact numbers, but once I knew what I needed I erased it Smiley

TripHammer
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
August 18, 2011, 02:32:05 AM
 #11

thanks for the info, what are the numbers you are using now?

Just in case Smiley 13AP8mCpruBQVtVWbQgYGSnBgGxe2g8ERe
pixilated8
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
August 18, 2011, 03:16:37 PM
 #12

jb@miner0:~$ atitweak -s -A 0 ; atitweak -s -A 2
0. AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series (:0.0)
    engine clock 946MHz, memory clock 821MHz, core voltage 1.15VDC, performance level 2, utilization 99%
    fan speed 72% (4259 RPM) (user-defined)
    temperature 73 C
2. AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series (:0.2)
    engine clock 946MHz, memory clock 821MHz, core voltage 1.175VDC, performance level 2, utilization 99%
    fan speed 72% (4249 RPM) (user-defined)
    temperature 73 C


I do not overclock the cards higher than what AMDOverdriveCtrl would be able to do.  In fact, once I found my highest hash (~414) at 946MHz, I then proceeded to undervolt the card.  Both cards use the same profile, but strangely enough the core voltage on #2 is different than #0.  I'll have to look into that.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!