Bitcoin Forum
June 15, 2024, 05:50:16 PM *
News: Voting for pizza day contest

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Simple non-techy way to reasonably secure btc  (Read 454 times)
2chov (OP)

Activity: 2
Merit: 0

View Profile
November 07, 2013, 04:55:13 PM

Right, first off I'm not a techie.  Every guide I see to securing bitcoins has masses of complex instructions.

I narrowly missed the inputs.io mess, by getting the coins out quickly into coinbase, but inputs.io has left me very, very nervous about online wallets and I want to get at least some offline.  I know fine well that there are excellent guides out there to properly securing a wallet.  I don't understand them, don't have a spare computer (or even a printer) to do it all properly.

So what I've done is I've gone to bitaddress.org.  Generated an address and private key.  Screenshotted the page and saved the screenshot as a file on my laptop. Is this now a secure address that I can send some btc to so long as I don't lose the private key file?  As far as I can see the only risk is someone hacking my computer and stealing that file, the private key has never been typed, so no keylogging issue.  Yes?

Next how do I secure that file because I am a fuckwit, who cannot be trusted with bits of paper and computers sometimes die/get hacked/get corrupted. 

Can I store it securely online somehow? (I get the feeling the answer is going to be no here, but worth an ask)
Put it on a usb and delete the file from my computer? (hmm, may lose the usb, I told you I am a fuckwit)
Etch the private key into a wall in my house?
Commit the private key to memory through sheer willpower?

CIYAM
Legendary

Activity: 1890
Merit: 1078

Ian Knowles - CIYAM Lead Developer

View Profile WWW
November 07, 2013, 05:01:38 PM