Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 12:20:52 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: CPU at 350Mh/s???  (Read 1114 times)
STP
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
July 29, 2011, 11:10:06 PM
 #1

Everyone has been stating that GPU is only way to hash and CPU hashrate is too low to really be worth it now. I am pulling up to 350Mh/s on my i7 975 extreme OC'd to 4GHz. Its water cooled and is stable. Are their other disadvantages I am not thinking about like power consumption? Is it more or less the same as a GPU power wise?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481026852
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026852

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026852
Reply with quote  #2

1481026852
Report to moderator
1481026852
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026852

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026852
Reply with quote  #2

1481026852
Report to moderator
1481026852
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026852

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026852
Reply with quote  #2

1481026852
Report to moderator
jh1523
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
July 29, 2011, 11:14:43 PM
 #2

Can't be true. My 2600k at 3.8GHz, mining with all 8 threads, pulls a whopping 66 Mhash/s. Very variable though, shoots up to 100 and down to 35-40 at times, with 60s on average.

(edit) with "-g no" (see below) it gets a meek 16Mhash/s, which is the true number... This is Intel's latest and greatest CPU BTW.

If you feel I have helped you, consider donating to 1BFLDATk4iE6R2hYTfqNjxBZYctU9eshCM
m4dhatter
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69


View Profile
July 29, 2011, 11:23:08 PM
 #3

Has to be some sort of bug. When I was using my gtx 460 to mine, if I clocked it to high the driver would crash. When the screen came back on guiminer would report a hash rate of 200 Ghash. This would continue until i rebooted the computer. I'm not saying your issue is the same, only that falsely reported hash rates are possible if things aren't running correctly.
STP
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
July 29, 2011, 11:40:41 PM
 #4

Well using bitcoin-miner.exe It shows 325-350MH/s. If I switch to rpcminer-cpu.exe it reports about 5.5Mh/s. Must be a bug like m4dhatter said.
runlinux
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 567



View Profile WWW
July 30, 2011, 12:19:39 AM
 #5

its not a bug. by default the cpu miner will use an available OpenCL device.

add the following flag for CPU only: -g no

you can also specify the number of threads you want with this: -t 8

on my notebook (i7 and a gt425m), i do: -t 7 -g no

STP
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
July 30, 2011, 12:21:47 AM
 #6

its not a bug. by default the cpu miner will use an available OpenCL device.

add the following flag for CPU only: -g no

you can also specify the number of threads you want with this: -t 8

on my notebook (i7 and a gt425m), i do: -t 7 -g no

OK that makes more sense. I had not added the flags.
mesquka
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77



View Profile
January 23, 2013, 12:43:03 PM
 #7

What about the Xeon Phi??? More Threads than my 5850.
Could get a decent hash rate off that?
tbcoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile WWW
January 23, 2013, 12:47:46 PM
 #8

What about the Xeon Phi??? More Threads than my 5850.
Could get a decent hash rate off that?

This is a really old thread

Sorry for my bad english Wink
Bitcoin card for deposit and payment + Little POS
Donations:1N65efiNUhH6sEQg7Z6oUC76kJS9Yhevyf
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
January 23, 2013, 12:56:16 PM
 #9

What about the Xeon Phi??? More Threads than my 5850.
Could get a decent hash rate off that?
Lol no
mesquka
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77



View Profile
January 23, 2013, 01:05:46 PM
 #10

http://www.intel.com.au/content/www/us/en/high-performance-computing/high-performance-xeon-phi-coprocessor-brief.html
http://www.anandtech.com/show/6451/the-xeon-phi-at-work-at-tacc

62 Cores, each core is a simple in order x86 CPU (derived from the original Pentium) with a 512-bit SIMD unit, 4 threads per core, 2 threads execute in parallel. Each of these cores is a 64-bit x86 core.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Evergreen_(GPU_family)
Quote
while the Radeon HD 5850 has 1,440 usable stream cores
Each core on the 5850 handles one thread with (of course) one thread executing at one time.


One single thread Xeon core tends to put out 3-4MH/s so multiply that by 50 then by 2.......

About 400MH/s possibly more due to the fact that it's designed for "highly parallel tasks" and "extreme integer operations".

AND THIS IS INTELS MOST POWERFUL CHIP, IT'S 4x THE SIZE OF A CPU, ACTUALLY, IT'S A COPROCESSOR, SO IT'S A PCIe PRODUCT, WITH THE CPU PRACTICALLY BEING A GPU ON STEROIDS WITH LESS CORES. YOUR CPU IS DESKTOP THIS IS ENTERPRISE.

Sorry, but 350MH/s looks a bit optimistic on any i7.
mesquka
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77



View Profile
January 23, 2013, 01:07:11 PM
 #11

Elsewhere on the forum seem to suggest something like 280MH/s.

Reckon it might be pretty good for sCrypt???
mesquka
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77



View Profile
January 23, 2013, 01:08:32 PM
 #12

1200 billion 32-bit operations per sec / 4300 operations = 280MH/s
Crennie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
January 23, 2013, 06:56:36 PM
 #13

What rate should i be expecting from my gtx 460 ? Smiley
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
January 23, 2013, 08:46:57 PM
 #14

What rate should i be expecting from my gtx 460 ? Smiley

Something like 70MH/s
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison
mesquka
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77



View Profile
January 24, 2013, 01:21:08 AM
 #15

Sorry, but Nvidia cards just don't have the amount of stream processors necessary to mine at a decent rate. Go with AMD.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!