Bitcoin Forum
September 22, 2018, 02:45:55 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Help me figure out my trevor issue  (Read 114 times)
davedee
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 12, 2018, 05:43:00 PM
 #1

Hi, i'm having bit of problem here. so last month, i transferred some bitcoins from my binance account to my trezor. The money showed up all good and i closed the trezor app. Didn't check it for week and the next time i plugged in my trezor, it asked for an update, i updated and after the update i was prompted to enter my seed, did everything well, but my balance was 0. I was surprised, i went back to binance to look for the address i sent the coins to and the coins are still there, no movement and i later sent some test amounts to the address. I have been trying to figure this thing out for about 3weeks now and no luck, so i figured i should ask for help. I have tried everything i could think of: using the seed on electrum, connecting the trezor to electrum, used jaxx, exodus, everything possible but i just can't seem to find the address. I used the online tool iancoleman to generate up to a thousand addresses but no luck, i am 101% sure the seed is correct, very sure i sent it to the right address because the coins showed up in trezor before the update. i am willing to offer up to a thousand bucks for who ever helps me figure this out, thanks in advance.
1537584355
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537584355

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537584355
Reply with quote  #2

1537584355
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537584355
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537584355

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537584355
Reply with quote  #2

1537584355
Report to moderator
LoyceV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1971


Let's make Bitcointalk great again!


View Profile WWW
April 12, 2018, 05:53:34 PM
 #2

I don't have a Trezor, so I'm just blind guessing. All longshots but maybe you haven't thought of it yet.

i updated and after the update i was prompted to enter my seed, did everything well, but my balance was 0.
Could it have to do with a change between native and SegWit addresses?

Quote
I used the online tool iancoleman to generate up to a thousand addresses but no luck
Did it show any of your other addresses used before this one? If not, did you choose the right Derivation Path?
(Hopefully needless to say: you should never use this tool online!)

TryNinja
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 759


ChipMixer's Badge of Honor


View Profile
April 12, 2018, 05:59:39 PM
 #3

Quote
I used the online tool iancoleman to generate up to a thousand addresses but no luck
Did it show any of your other addresses used before this one? If not, did you choose the right Derivation Path?
I thought about this aswell.

Did you try to restore your seed with Electrum? (restoring the wallet individually and not by connecting your device)

Open Electrum and while creating a new wallet, choose: I already have a seed -> Write your wallet seed -> Options -> Check "BIP39 seed" -> Next.
It's going to ask you for a derivation path. If your address starts with a 3, use the derivation path m/49'/0'/0' - otherwise, if the address starts with a 1, use m/44'/0'/0'

bob123
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 568



View Profile WWW
April 12, 2018, 06:02:31 PM
 #4

Since you already imported it into electrum: Which derivation path did you use?
And what kind of addresses did you use? Segwit (starting with 3.. or bc1) or legacy (starting with 1..)?

You might try again to import your seed into electrum choosing the correct derivation path:



If you have used your trezor with segwit address:
Code:
m/49'/0'/0' (first account)
m/49'/0'/1' (second account)
m/49'/0'/2' (third account)


If you have used your trezor with legacy address:
Code:
m/44'/0'/0' (first account)
m/44'/0'/1' (second account)
m/44'/0'/2' (third account)

davedee
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 12, 2018, 06:35:48 PM
 #5

I don't have a Trezor, so I'm just blind guessing. All longshots but maybe you haven't thought of it yet.

i updated and after the update i was prompted to enter my seed, did everything well, but my balance was 0.
Could it have to do with a change between native and SegWit addresses?

Quote
I used the online tool iancoleman to generate up to a thousand addresses but no luck
Did it show any of your other addresses used before this one? If not, did you choose the right Derivation Path?
(Hopefully needless to say: you should never use this tool online!)

Its a segwit address and i have used it only twice, once for test and then to send the bulk fund, so i don't have much of a history.
bob123
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 568



View Profile WWW
April 13, 2018, 11:41:27 AM
 #6

Its a segwit address and i have used it only twice, once for test and then to send the bulk fund, so i don't have much of a history.

As TryNinja and i have already mentioned, this might be due to the wrong derivation path.
Which derivation path did you use when importing your seed into another wallet/online tool?


Correct derivation path for segwit is:

Code:
m/49'/0'/0' (first account)
m/49'/0'/1' (second account)
m/49'/0'/2' (third account)

HCP
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 923

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
April 14, 2018, 02:54:54 AM
 #7

Most likely one of two things:

1. Your coins are in a "change" address that is past the default gap limit for Trezor (and/or Electrum)... so the wallet(s) are not finding the coins. However, if all you did was send coins to the Trezor "receive" address and then didn't create any transactions from the Trezor, this is quite unlikely.

or

2. You have a "valid" BIP39/BIP44 seed written down, but for whatever reason, it is NOT the seed that was actually in use by your Trezor, so after you restored this seed to your Trezor, it has generated completely different addresses to what you previously had Undecided

Are you 100% sure that this is the seed for your Trezor? and that it isn't a seed from another wallet like Jaxx or Exodus or something like that? Huh

davedee
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 14, 2018, 10:52:29 AM
 #8

Thanks HCP, for the reply, it can't be in a change address, because my understanding is you have to spend from the address then the rest goes to a change address. I am very sure it is the right seed, i did the initial trezor test and rested and got the same first address. I also thought of the possibility of another coin path and i tried litecoin because i have heard some trezors giving litecoin segwit addresses before, but it still didn't work.
Lucius
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176
Merit: 1064


Fortis Fortuna Adiuvat


View Profile WWW
April 14, 2018, 12:53:06 PM
 #9

Hi, i'm having bit of problem here. so last month, i transferred some bitcoins from my binance account to my trezor. The money showed up all good and i closed the trezor app. Didn't check it for week and the next time i plugged in my trezor, it asked for an update, i updated and after the update i was prompted to enter my seed, did everything well, but my balance was 0. I was surprised, i went back to binance to look for the address i sent the coins to and the coins are still there, no movement and i later sent some test amounts to the address. I have been trying to figure this thing out for about 3weeks now and no luck, so i figured i should ask for help. I have tried everything i could think of: using the seed on electrum, connecting the trezor to electrum, used jaxx, exodus, everything possible but i just can't seem to find the address. I used the online tool iancoleman to generate up to a thousand addresses but no luck, i am 101% sure the seed is correct, very sure i sent it to the right address because the coins showed up in trezor before the update. i am willing to offer up to a thousand bucks for who ever helps me figure this out, thanks in advance.

Is this problem occurred after you update to Firmware Trezor 1.6.1 ?

I just check some Reddit/Twitter posts and there is no problems like your,do you try to contact Trezor support?Some users have experienced problems with accounts on device-for example accounts which are down in line(2,3...) will not display if account above have some unconfirmed transaction or something like that.It is obvious that your problem appeared after update of firmware,in some way your seed and new firmware are not generated same addresses/accounts on Trezor.

In general you problem should have very "simple" solution according to Trezor support,can you try wipe out your device and enter seed again?

My wallet balance is zero after updating TREZOR firmware

   ███                       
   █████                     
  ███████                     
 ██████████        █         
  █████████      ████         
  ████████      ██           
     ██████    ██             
       ██████████             
            ██████   ███████ 
         █████  ██████████████
       ███ ███  ████████████ 
       ██ █          █       
      █                       
     █                       
.
                          ██ 
                       █████ 
                      ███████
           █        ██████████
          ████      █████████
             ██      ████████
              ██    ██████   
              ██████████     
   ███████   ██████           
 ██████████████  █████       
   ████████████  ███ ██       
    ██████          █ ██     
                        █     
                         █   




███           
██████         
████████     
██████████     
████████████ 
██████████████
██████████████
████████████   
██████████     
████████       
██████         
███           
.

██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
.

          ████
        ██████
      ████████
    ██████████
  ████████████
██████████████
██████████████
  ████████████
    ██████████
      ████████
        ██████
           ███
[
HCP
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 923

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
April 15, 2018, 02:59:02 AM
 #10

Thanks HCP, for the reply, it can't be in a change address, because my understanding is you have to spend from the address then the rest goes to a change address. I am very sure it is the right seed, i did the initial trezor test and rested and got the same first address. I also thought of the possibility of another coin path and i tried litecoin because i have heard some trezors giving litecoin segwit addresses before, but it still didn't work.
Ignoring the address which you sent the coins to... Do you see ANY addresses that you recognise and/or have used before? Or did you only do that one transaction?

The only other issue I can think of, is that you used a "BIP39 passphrase"... and you're either not entering it now, or you're entering the wrong one... Previously, after entering your PIN, did you have to type in a passphrase using this dialog?:


If this dialog is familiar to you, then the reason you may not be seeing your balance is because you need to re-enable the "Passphrase Encryption" and enter your old passphrase when opening your wallet... without this passphrase, your wallet will be generating different addresses, even though you use the same seed.

When the device was reset, Passphrase encryption will have been turned off... To re-enable do the following:

Step 1. After connecting the Trezor and entering your seed, click on the Trezor device in the left side menu:



Step 2. Then select "Advanced":



Step 3. Finally, use the check box and "enable passphrase encyption" button and follow the onscreen prompts:

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!