Bitcoin Forum
January 16, 2017, 10:03:36 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 Motherboard  (Read 2078 times)
noogai93
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
July 31, 2011, 05:49:19 AM
 #1

I have a Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 Motherboard and when fully populated it has 3 PCI Express 8x slots, 2 x4 slots and 1 x1 slot.

I was wondering if i would be able to fully populate this board with 6 cards with extenders ?

I have a Strider 1500w powering it, I'm just not sure if the motherboard will handle it.
Transactions must be included in a block to be properly completed. When you send a transaction, it is broadcast to miners. Miners can then optionally include it in their next blocks. Miners will be more inclined to include your transaction if it has a transaction fee.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1484604216
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1484604216

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1484604216
Reply with quote  #2

1484604216
Report to moderator
cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
July 31, 2011, 05:57:13 AM
 #2

The bandwidths don't matter, assuming it doens't turn off any of the lanes when other slots are occupied it should work fine.

I'd go for extenders with molex power for at least two of the cards however; 6 cards would be pulling ~450W through the motherboard, better to let the PSU supply that directly.

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
noogai93
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
July 31, 2011, 06:06:11 AM
 #3

would a strider 1500w be overkill for say 6x 5830s ??

cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
July 31, 2011, 06:10:30 AM
 #4

would a strider 1500w be overkill for say 6x 5830s ??

5830's have a TDP ~150W, if you want to give yourself head room say 200W / card.

That's 1200W for the cards max, plus whatever power for your base system.  I think 1500W should do fine, but I don't know much about the particular PSU.  In reality I'd expect that system to come out ~950-1000W.

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
KKAtan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51


View Profile
July 31, 2011, 08:46:57 AM
 #5

5830's have a TDP ~150W
No, that was the 5850.

5830 has higher clocked shaders and use more power. They should be around 180 watt if I recall correctly.

1Pote63ZeU4fgFHnTuV6sB6T7duegwi5vc
goemon888
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 269



View Profile WWW
July 31, 2011, 06:34:47 PM
 #6

http://www.guru3d.com/article/radeon-5830-review/2

5830 - 175
5850 - 151
5870 - 188

but not reference 5850 tdp may go upper, Sapphire Extreme is 180w

ManOfKnight
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145


View Profile
August 03, 2011, 09:33:45 PM
 #7

That is overkill of a power supply

I would also guess that you are looking at a system drawing somewhere around 900-1000w before overclock.  Overclocking will jump you to about 1200w if you push the cards hard.

Striking it rich in Bitcoin is no longer an option...I do it for fun.
*Image Removed*
CanaryInTheMine
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554


between a rock and a block!


View Profile
August 04, 2011, 01:34:14 AM
 #8

That is overkill of a power supply

I would also guess that you are looking at a system drawing somewhere around 900-1000w before overclock.  Overclocking will jump you to about 1200w if you push the cards hard.

really?  do explain how, if you were to draw 1200, a 1500 is an overkill??? 

| In Default we Trust | Need gold/silver for btc? | Buy bitcoins |
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!