Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 09:55:46 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin exchange rate plasmoid for KDE  (Read 2580 times)
stakhanov
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175


View Profile
February 11, 2011, 04:32:22 PM
 #1

I made a simple plasmoid to display the current exchange rate at Mt. Gox on KDE (a desktop environment for linux). You can download it from KDE look: http://kde-look.org/content/show.php?content=138572

Enjoy!

PS: Donations welcome! 1LZtiyC7DsUWhoQaPXyWnVPD5f6eiruZFL
1480758946
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480758946

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480758946
Reply with quote  #2

1480758946
Report to moderator
1480758946
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480758946

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480758946
Reply with quote  #2

1480758946
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480758946
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480758946

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480758946
Reply with quote  #2

1480758946
Report to moderator
1480758946
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480758946

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480758946
Reply with quote  #2

1480758946
Report to moderator
wizeman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
February 11, 2011, 06:41:27 PM
 #2

I made a simple plasmoid to display the current exchange rate at Mt. Gox on KDE (a desktop environment for linux). You can download it from KDE look: http://kde-look.org/content/show.php?content=138572

Sounds great Smiley

But.. is it just me, or is the ZIP file empty?   Huh
stakhanov
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175


View Profile
February 11, 2011, 06:48:27 PM
 #3

It's not just you... Bummer!

Thanks for reporting, I'll look into it.
stakhanov
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175


View Profile
February 11, 2011, 06:53:18 PM
 #4

OK, it should be fixed now.
Cryptoman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728



View Profile
February 12, 2011, 03:52:40 AM
 #5

How does one install it?

"A small body of determined spirits fired by an unquenchable faith in their mission can alter the course of history." --Gandhi
stakhanov
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175


View Profile
February 12, 2011, 08:47:40 AM
 #6

How does one install it?

Download the zip file, unzip it, and type:

Code:
plasmapkg -u btcRate

Then the plasmoid should be available when you select "Add new widgets" from the desktop or the panel. Let me know if it works!
Cryptoman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728



View Profile
February 12, 2011, 04:08:49 PM
 #7

It installed fine, but when I went to add it to the desktop I got the following message:

Quote
This object could not be created for the following reason: Script initialization failed

I'm running OpenSUSE 11.3, KDE 4.4.4.

"A small body of determined spirits fired by an unquenchable faith in their mission can alter the course of history." --Gandhi
stakhanov
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175


View Profile
February 12, 2011, 04:11:08 PM
 #8

Could you run it with the following command, and paste me any error mesages? Thanks for testing, by the way!

Code:
plasmoidviewer btcRate
Cryptoman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728



View Profile
February 12, 2011, 04:54:33 PM
 #9

Code:
> plasmoidviewer btcRate
QFont::setPointSize: Point size <= 0 (0), must be greater than 0
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/share/kde4/apps/plasma_scriptengine_python/pyappletscript.py", line 75, in init
    self.pyapplet.init()
  File "/home/user/.kde4/share/apps/plasma/plasmoids/btcRate/contents/code/main.py", line 29, in init
    self.compute_rate()
  File "/home/user/.kde4/share/apps/plasma/plasmoids/btcRate/contents/code/main.py", line 60, in compute_rate
    self.label.setText(u"BTC: {:.2f}$".format(rate/weights))
ValueError: zero length field name in format

"A small body of determined spirits fired by an unquenchable faith in their mission can alter the course of history." --Gandhi
stakhanov
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175


View Profile
February 12, 2011, 05:28:39 PM
 #10

I think the problem is that you have python 2.6. I have uploaded a new version that should work better.
Cryptoman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728



View Profile
February 12, 2011, 05:49:43 PM
 #11

Indeed, I have 2.6.5.  It works great now!  I sent you a donation.

"A small body of determined spirits fired by an unquenchable faith in their mission can alter the course of history." --Gandhi
stakhanov
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175


View Profile
February 12, 2011, 05:57:54 PM
 #12

Thanks!! I'm glad it finally worked out. Getting even a simple piece of software to work on other people's computers is hard!
stakhanov
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175


View Profile
February 13, 2011, 09:54:24 AM
 #13

Thanks to the generous anonymous donor who sent me 1.26BTC!  Smiley
unclescrooge
aka Raphy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868


View Profile
February 13, 2011, 02:49:44 PM
 #14

Hello and thanks for the plamsoid.


I wonder, why does your script call for gettrades.php and not tickers.php? Wouldn't the last one be easier to read?

Also, could you add the volume to the plasmoid, so we can juge the liquidity of the market too?

Thank you very much
Raphy

stakhanov
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175


View Profile
February 13, 2011, 03:59:16 PM
 #15

Thanks for taking a look!

Could you give the full URL for tickers.php? I haven't been able to find that page.

I think I could add the volume info as a mousover popup. I'd also like to add a trend with rate of change, but I haven't figured out yet how to estimate these robustly.
unclescrooge
aka Raphy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868


View Profile
February 13, 2011, 04:27:26 PM
 #16

Thanks for taking a look!

Could you give the full URL for tickers.php? I haven't been able to find that page.

I think I could add the volume info as a mousover popup. I'd also like to add a trend with rate of change, but I haven't figured out yet how to estimate these robustly.

Here's the adress: http://mtgox.com/code/data/ticker.php

And the content looks like this:
Code:
{"ticker":{"high":1.08,"low":1.0103,"vol":3741,"buy":1.033,"sell":1.0599,"last":1.033}}

Pretty simple huh?

Thanks for your dev

stakhanov
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175


View Profile
February 13, 2011, 04:31:20 PM
 #17

Ah, I see, thanks.

I prefer taking the full getTrades.php file, because I compute a time-weighted average rather than the last trade. But I could use the ticker file to display additional information.
stakhanov
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175


View Profile
February 13, 2011, 04:33:27 PM
 #18

I've just uploaded a new version. It doesn't show additional info yet, but it should improve the display in some cases, and refresh faster if you turn your computer on and off a lot like I do.
breandan81
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82


View Profile
February 14, 2011, 02:20:15 AM
 #19

that's pretty cool, thanks

Electronics and components at http://avrthing.com
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!