Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 06:37:21 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 50 BTC if you write a complete guide on GPU mining on Ubuntu using ATI  (Read 95065 times)
kjhd456
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
May 04, 2011, 10:44:46 PM
 #101

It stops working on
Code:
sudo aticonfig --initial
it says
Code:
sudo: aticonfig: command not found
or
Code:
aticonfig: no supported adapters detected

I'm running Ubuntu thru my iMac via VirtualBox, because I don't have enough spare hardware for a dedicated Ubuntu computer right now. The iMac is late 2010 (second newest version as of yesterday), if that matters.

Could it be a problem routing the command thru VirtualBox the the driver on my mac?

Thanks in advance.

Sharecoin: SfMc4KVGzdsXyZiMtALCeVqAxynCGifWwY
1480963041
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963041

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963041
Reply with quote  #2

1480963041
Report to moderator
1480963041
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963041

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963041
Reply with quote  #2

1480963041
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480963041
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963041

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963041
Reply with quote  #2

1480963041
Report to moderator
1480963041
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963041

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963041
Reply with quote  #2

1480963041
Report to moderator
1480963041
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963041

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963041
Reply with quote  #2

1480963041
Report to moderator
aistto
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1005


View Profile
May 05, 2011, 07:22:48 PM
 #102

It stops working on
Code:
sudo aticonfig --initial
it says
Code:
sudo: aticonfig: command not found
or
Code:
aticonfig: no supported adapters detected

I'm running Ubuntu thru my iMac via VirtualBox, because I don't have enough spare hardware for a dedicated Ubuntu computer right now. The iMac is late 2010 (second newest version as of yesterday), if that matters.

Could it be a problem routing the command thru VirtualBox the the driver on my mac?

Thanks in advance.
I think it's impossible to mine in that way. You need dedicated rig.
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
May 05, 2011, 07:55:15 PM
 #103

I'm pretty sure VirtualBox creates a virtual video card adapter.  This means that ATI's drivers, tools, and SDK won't do you any good, because as far as the OS is concerned, you're not using an ATI video card.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
kjhd456
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
May 05, 2011, 09:53:13 PM
 #104

Thanks. I have a dedicated mining rig, but its in another country, so I can't get to it. Either way, it's still fun to mess round with Ubuntu.

Sharecoin: SfMc4KVGzdsXyZiMtALCeVqAxynCGifWwY
Gnaffel
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53


View Profile
May 06, 2011, 03:55:11 PM
 #105

I tried to follow your ubuntu 10.10 install guide on a mobo msi 770 c-45/ graphics ati 5870, clean install, but i keep getting the problem that after the ATI 11.3 installation, i can't login to ubuntu, the screen stays black. I can login when i reset X to the default driver, but no login with the ATI 11.3. I have tried this guide on 10.10 and 11.04, with ati 11.3/11.4 and both give the same result: fglrxinfo segmentation fault.

Catalyst drivers are a major pain in the neck. They are frequently completely broken. I've written this guide with Catalyst 10.12 and SDK 2.1 and I recommend against any other versions unless one really has to (e.g. 6990). I used Ubuntu 10.04 but 10.10 worked for many as well.

I finally got it working on a clean 10.10 install with Catalyst 11.04 and SDK 2.1 and poclbm
I kept getting this segmentation fault afther the catalyst install on 11.04, 10.10 and 10.04, then i thought i must be the hardware so i changed the monitor, but the same segmentation fault kept showing up again on 10.04 10.10 and 11.04 even gave a error ./default policy.sh does not support version. Oke they were nameless monitor brands that someone gave to me, but that shouldn't matter. Finally i switched to the monitor of my main computer and YES, this time no segmentation fault. i have used the install procedure from all around the forum and beyond and it went smoothly first time install, from catalyst to SDK/OpenCL up to poclbm.

Edit:
Working version on 64 bits Ubuntu 11.04 - Ati Catalyst 11.4 - Ati SDK 2.3 with poclbm and phoenix miner in 31 steps:
Hardware:(budget mining)MSI 770-c45 Mobo with athlon2 X2 cpu - cooler master 650w powersupply - 1x GPU Ati 58xx


1. sudo apt-get install build-essential cdbs fakeroot dh-make debhelper debconf libstdc++6 dkms libqtgui4 wget execstack libelfg0 g++ libboost-all-dev subversion git-core python-numpy
2. sudo apt-get install ia32-libs
3. cd ~/; mkdir catalyst11.4; cd catalyst11.4/
4. wget http://www2.ati.com/drivers/linux/ati-driver-installer-11-4-x86.x86_64.run
5. chmod +x ati-driver-installer-11-4-x86.x86_64.run
6. sudo apt-get remove --purge xserver-xorg-video-radeon
7. sh ati-driver-installer-11-4-x86.x86_64.run --buildpkg Ubuntu/natty
8. sudo dpkg -i fglrx*.deb
9. sudo aticonfig --initial -f
10. sudo aticonfig --input=/etc/X11/xorg.conf --tls=1
10a.reboot
11. wget http://download2-developer.amd.com/amd/Stream20GA/ati-stream-sdk-v2.3-lnx64.tgz
12. wget http://download2-developer.amd.com/amd/Stream20GA/icd-registration.tgz
13. sudo tar xvfz ati-stream-sdk-v2.3-lnx64.tgz -C /opt
14. sudo tar xvfz icd-registration.tgz -C /
15. echo export DISPLAY=:0 >> .bashrc
16. echo export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/ati-stream-sdk-v2.3-lnx64/lib/x86_64/:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH >> .bashrc
17. source .bashrc
18. wget http://pypi.python.org/packages/source/p/pyopencl/pyopencl-0.92.tar.gz
19. svn checkout http://svn.json-rpc.org/trunk/python-jsonrpc
20. svn checkout http://svn3.xp-dev.com/svn/phoenix-miner/trunk
21. git clone git://github.com/m0mchil/poclbm poclbm
22. mv trunk phoenix
23. tar zxfv pyopencl-0.92.tar.gz
24. cd pyopencl-0.92
25. ./configure.py --cl-inc-dir=/opt/ati-stream-sdk-v2.3-lnx64/include/ --cl-lib-dir=/opt/ati-stream-sdk-v2.3-lnx64/lib/x86_64
26. make -j3
27. sudo make install
28. cd ../python-jsonrpc
29. sudo python setup.py install
30. cd ~
31. chmod +x phoenix/phoenix.py poclbm/poclbm.py

1CKysMBXVd6qEAhrP7eXWFYwhfGkwqBEWS
charliesheen
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile WWW
May 06, 2011, 10:53:28 PM
 #106

Wonderful instructions, i had to re export DISPLAY:0 and set the library path before starting poclbm for each GPU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j86pORrusUo

drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
May 07, 2011, 03:18:02 PM
 #107

Use LinuxCoin Cheesy

http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=7374.0
caston
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720



View Profile WWW
May 11, 2011, 04:03:37 PM
 #108

I'm not sure exactly which thread to post this to as I used info from a few different ones but I took my 5770 card out of my machine with a Asus M4A88TD-M EVO motherboard, quadcore athlon, 8gb DDR3 RAM etc (was upgrading to a 6950) and put it in a machine with GA-MA770-S3P motherboard 2gb DDR2 and a single core AM2 Althon. I installed the propriety driver and the AMD APP SDK 2.4 just like I did on the other machine.

I used most of this post (http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=7514.0) and poclbm.

Now when I mine from that machine I am getting a much lower Mhash rating that on my other machine. e.g. its showing  between 110 and 120 Mhash with switches whereas I was getting between 150 and 170 mhash on the other machine using the same card.

I am wondering what the bottlenecks are and how to track them down or if it is just that overall this machine is a slower machine e.g. only pcie 2.0 and not pcie 2.1, slower RAM, slower FSB etc.

The reason I ask is because its probably better to optimise your setup and software as much as possible before you try other things like overclocking.

I will probably also try it with a linux coin boot cd tomorrow.


18jL18iH96BBhwUCQn27FQp7ocodSxvJAB
Bogart
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868


View Profile
May 11, 2011, 06:40:36 PM
 #109

I finally got mining working on linux by following this guide (roughly), and I thought I'd share a few pitfalls I discovered, to help others to avoid the same fate.

I'm running Ubuntu 10.04.2 64-bit on a Phenom II X6, using a single 5970, Stream SDK 2.1, and poclbm.

Tip #1: Start with Ubuntu Desktop.  If you start with Ubuntu Server you'll just make things harder for yourself.  Running the "full stack" GUI is essential for mining to work at all.  (I ended up "converting" Server using 'apt-get install ubuntu-desktop'.)

Tip #2: The drivers from ati.com (10.11 and 11.4) did not work at all for me for OpenCL using the GPUs.  They would drive the display fine, but I was never able to make the GPUs available for OpenCL (OpenCL apps would show the CPU only.  Using the drivers from the ppa:ubuntu-x-swat/x-updates repo solved that problem for me.

Tip #3: The whole business of setting LD_LIBRARY_PATH seems really clunky to me, and it didn't work either.  Instead I added the path to /etc/ld.so.conf.d/OpenCL.conf (creating a new file), and then ran sudo ldconfig.  After that everything was able to link dynamically to the Stream SDK just fine.

Tip #4: If you have limited internet bandwidth like me, there are a couple ways you can make the install easier.  One is to get the Ubuntu 10.04.2 install DVD and add it to /etc/apt/sources.list.  This will allow many of the needed packages to be installed from there instead of being downloaded.  For a physical disc, you can use 'apt-cdrom' to access it.  For the iso, you can mount it using 'mount -o loop ubuntu_dvd.iso /mnt/ubuntu-install-dvdrom', and then add a line to /etc/apt/sources.list like "deb file:/ubuntu-install-dvdrom/ lucid main restricted".  Another bandwidth saver is to use squid to cache any downloaded packages and indexes.  See http://itkia.com/using-squid-to-cache-apt-updates-for-debian-and-ubuntu/


Pitfall #1: If the GUI (Xorg) is not running, mining and any other OpenCL operations will fail.

Pitfall #2: If the GUI is running, BUT is not currently trying to display the GUI (i. e. you use ctrl-alt-F1 to switch to text mode display), any OpenCL programs such as CLInfo and poclbm will hang when you try to execute them.

Pitfall #3: If the GUI is running AND displaying, BUT the user is not logged into the GUI (It's sitting at the login screen), the user will not be able to use the GPUs with OpenCL apps (logging in via ssh).  You must then use sudo in order for CLInfo or poclbm to be able to see the GPU(s).

Pitfall #4: If the GUI is running AND displaying AND the user is logged into a GUI session, then you will able to run OpenCL processes as the user and use the GPUS, HOWEVER you must export DISPLAY=:0 in order to see both GPUs.  If you fail to do this, only one GPU will show up.

Pitfall #5: If the GUI is running AND attempting to display BUT a display is not connected to the video card, most functions will work, but you will be unable to use "aticonfig --odgt" to query the GPU temperature until you connect a display.  The program will just hang instead.  Using a dummy display adapter may help with this problem.

I hope this information is useful.

"All safe deposit boxes in banks or financial institutions have been sealed... and may only be opened in the presence of an agent of the I.R.S." - President F.D. Roosevelt, 1933
JorgePasada
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
May 13, 2011, 07:59:03 AM
 #110

So . . . Tried to get this miner working using https://www.bitcoin.org/smf/index.php?topic=3359.msg108953#msg108953 that guide today for about 2 hours, and I have no idea what I'm doing wrong, nor if I'm just missing something simple.

Any tips or other places I should be looking?

Jorge
freecoin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile
May 14, 2011, 04:57:39 AM
 #111

Noob here using Ubuntu 11.04 desktop 64 bit.  With the help of some other threads here I managed to install:
1. Bitcoin with GUI interface.  Although I have no bitcoind.  Works but connections seem a little flakey.  I can CPU generate at about 5 Mhash/s.

2. poclbm$ ./poclbm.py
No device specified or device not found, use -d to specify one of the following
[ 0]   Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU         920  @ 2.67GHz
[1]   Cypress
[2]   Cypress

3. phoenix/$ ./phoenix.py -u http://user:pass@192.168.1.2:8332 -k poclbm BFI_INT vectors device=1
[14/05/2011 00:31:49] Phoenix r76 starting...
[14/05/2011 00:31:52] Failed to connect, retrying...
[14/05/2011 00:32:10] Failed to connect, retrying...
etc...
[0 Khash/sec] [0 Accepted] [0 Rejected] [RPC]

How can I GPU generate solo?  Just want to test my GPU hash rate before I decide to join a pool.  What am I missing?
Raulo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
May 14, 2011, 07:46:46 AM
 #112

How can I GPU generate solo?  Just want to test my GPU hash rate before I decide to join a pool.  What am I missing?

You did not configure your bitcoin to accept RPC commands. Follow these instructions for creating bitcoin.conf
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Running_Bitcoin

1HAoJag4C3XtAmQJAhE9FTAAJWFcrvpdLM
freecoin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile
May 14, 2011, 12:54:24 PM
 #113

thought I did.  Created this bitcoin.conf file in the subfolder:
rpcuser=use
rpcpassword=pass
# Listen for RPC connections on this TCP port:
rpcport=8332


I start bitcoin with this from command line:
./bitcoin -server -rpcuser=user rpcpassword=pass

And then I open another Terminal and launch the ./phoenix command

Thanks for the reply!
Gnaffel
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53


View Profile
May 14, 2011, 10:30:36 PM
 #114

So . . . Tried to get this miner working using https://www.bitcoin.org/smf/index.php?topic=3359.msg108953#msg108953 that guide today for about 2 hours, and I have no idea what I'm doing wrong, nor if I'm just missing something simple.

Any tips or other places I should be looking?

Jorge

When done installing you join one of the pools and start mining

- Joining a pool: you make an account at one of the pools, mining.bitcoin.cz - deepbit.net - bitcoinpool.com - btcmine.com - Eligius.?
to start a miner(poclbm or phoenix):
- go to youruserdirectory/poclbm and you start it with: python poclbm.py --host=poolservername.com --port=8332 --user=username --pass=yourpassword --device =0
- go to youruserdirectory/phoenix and start it with: python phoenix.py -u http://username:password@poolservername:8332 -k poclbm VECTORS BFI_INT DEVICE=0 AGGRESSION=12

1CKysMBXVd6qEAhrP7eXWFYwhfGkwqBEWS
freecoin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 06:54:08 AM
 #115

Gnaffel! It's working!  poclbm is showing 308 Mhash/s per core without any tweaking.  Seems I wasn't using the 'python' command and 'user='  Not pool mining yet, just testing.  Throwing out some serious heat - 84C core after several minutes. The phoenix command still errors with 'failed to connect.'  Is this how it's normally done; start poclbm and then phoenix?

Thanks; I sent you coin.

Gnaffel
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 03:16:26 PM
 #116

Gnaffel! It's working!  poclbm is showing 308 Mhash/s per core without any tweaking.  Seems I wasn't using the 'python' command and 'user='  Not pool mining yet, just testing.  Throwing out some serious heat - 84C core after several minutes. The phoenix command still errors with 'failed to connect.'  Is this how it's normally done; start poclbm and then phoenix?

Thanks; I sent you coin.



Welcome to the world of Bitcoin mining

84C is a little high, i keep mine going between 74C - 79C, play around with aticonfig: aticonfig -h (ati help)
aticonfig --odgt --adapter=all (GPU temperature), aticonfig --odgc --adapter=all (shows clock speed), aticonfig --pplib-cmd "get fanspeed 0" (shows fan speed)

or try AMDOverDriveCtrl: http://sourceforge.net/projects/amdovdrvctrl/

The phoenix error is because you haven't set a valid pool account.

Normally you only need one miner (poclbm or phoenix) going for one gpu card or 2 gpu's on crossfire.


1CKysMBXVd6qEAhrP7eXWFYwhfGkwqBEWS
freecoin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile
May 16, 2011, 12:50:41 AM
 #117

Thank you. Yes, I installed AMDOverdriveCtrl right away; didn't want to overcook my new Radeon card.  Underclocked memory to 300mhz, GPU temp holding steady at about 69C now.  Makes a great spaceheater!

Would like to get Phoenix and BFI_INT working on this solo mining testbed. According to the lengthy Phoenix thread it should work. But I still get: Failed to connect...

phoenix$ python phoenix.py -u http://USER:PASS@192.168.1.2:8332 -k poclbm VECTORS BFI_INT DEVICE=1 WORKSIZE=128
[15/05/2011 09:18:48] Phoenix r76 starting...
[15/05/2011 09:18:51] Failed to connect, retrying...
[0 Khash/sec] [0 Accepted] [0 Rejected] [RPC]


Free coin to anyone who can help.
Gnaffel
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53


View Profile
May 16, 2011, 01:25:26 AM
 #118

Thank you. Yes, I installed AMDOverdriveCtrl right away; didn't want to overcook my new Radeon card.  Underclocked memory to 300mhz, GPU temp holding steady at about 69C now.  Makes a great spaceheater!

Would like to get Phoenix and BFI_INT working on this solo mining testbed. According to the lengthy Phoenix thread it should work. But I still get: Failed to connect...

phoenix$ python phoenix.py -u http://USER:PASS@192.168.1.2:8332 -k poclbm VECTORS BFI_INT DEVICE=1 WORKSIZE=128
[15/05/2011 09:18:48] Phoenix r76 starting...
[15/05/2011 09:18:51] Failed to connect, retrying...
[0 Khash/sec] [0 Accepted] [0 Rejected] [RPC]


Free coin to anyone who can help.

If you want to solomine you run your bitcoin client like:
 
in the .bitcoin directory you make a textfile named bitcoin.conf with the following text:

rpcuser=yourrpcusername (make a name)
rpcpassword=yourrpcpassword (make a password)
rpcallow=127.0.0.1
rpcport=8332

and start you bitcoinclient like: sudo ./bitcoin -server

and in the phoenixminer use rpcuser/password like: python phoenix.py -u http://RPCUSER:RPCPASSWORD@127.0.0.1:8332 -k poclbm VECTORS BFI_INT DEVICE=1 WORKSIZE=128

then you can start solomining

1CKysMBXVd6qEAhrP7eXWFYwhfGkwqBEWS
freecoin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile
May 16, 2011, 03:57:46 AM
 #119

you da man.  Phoenix now working.  Slightly better numbers than poclbm.  Haven't overclocked the GPU cores.

Thanks!
sagefool1975
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 20, 2011, 01:02:31 AM
 #120

Tip from the pros, don't install python cl with apt-get install python-pyopencl or it will render the instructions useless as the /etc/ati dir magically goes away never to return.  Instead follow the instructions and compile it yourself.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!