Bitcoin Forum
December 01, 2021, 09:24:12 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Best way for adding gpus in Windows ?  (Read 173 times)
gameboy366
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 8


View Profile
April 20, 2018, 05:57:04 PM
 #1

I have never mined on Win10. All of my rigs are currently on HiveOS. Now I bought a ssd and I have Installed window 10 pro on it. So how do I do this with my 12 gpu rig. Do I just plug it and run it and see what happens ? I read that I will have to install the gpus one by one.

My rig is tower style (6gpu on each side) so it will be very hard if I remove the power cables as I have a non modular PSU and it is very frustrating to remove the cables from my tight rig. Do I just remove the riser cable from mb without removing the power cables and install them one by one ? Help please.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1638350652
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638350652

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638350652
Reply with quote  #2

1638350652
Report to moderator
1638350652
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638350652

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638350652
Reply with quote  #2

1638350652
Report to moderator
samsan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
April 20, 2018, 06:04:42 PM
 #2

use full modular psu and also Mother Board get upgrade
Vann
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 602



View Profile
April 20, 2018, 06:10:27 PM
Merited by EthanB (2)
 #3

For installing Windows just leave the GPU on the primary x16 slot or the onboard video connected. After the Windows installation is complete, along with all the updates, run DDU to remove the current driver and set Windows to not auto-install the GPU drivers. Then shutdown, connect the rest of the GPU's to the motherboard and install the latest driver. With 12 GPU's it will take a while to install the drivers (20 min.<).

To keep Windows Update from modifying your drivers, disable drivers updates in the Group Policy Editor.

Windows key+R ==> Type gpedit and hit Enter ==> Navigate to: Computer Configuration ==> Administrative Templates ==> Windows Components ==> Windows Update and set 'Do not include drivers with Windows Update' to enabled.
gameboy366
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 8


View Profile
April 20, 2018, 06:33:18 PM
 #4

For installing Windows just leave the GPU on the primary x16 slot or the onboard video connected. After the Windows installation is complete, along with all the updates, run DDU to remove the current driver and set Windows to not auto-install the GPU drivers. Then shutdown, connect the rest of the GPU's to the motherboard and install the latest driver. With 12 GPU's it will take a while to install the drivers (20 min.<).

To keep Windows Update from modifying your drivers, disable drivers updates in the Group Policy Editor.

Windows key+R ==> Type gpedit and hit Enter ==> Navigate to: Computer Configuration ==> Administrative Templates ==> Windows Components ==> Windows Update and set 'Do not include drivers with Windows Update' to enabled.
Can I just let my gpu run on psu while I install windows as removing the power cables from gpu is really hard for me.

Also can I install windows on my ssd by putting it in a different hardware (like my desktop) or is it necessary to install windows on ssd while it is in the rig I am gonna use it for ?
Vann
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 602



View Profile
April 20, 2018, 06:45:11 PM
 #5

I disconnect the riser x1 connector from the motherboard and leave the GPU's connected to the PSU. If the motherboard is different, it's better to connect the drive to the motherboard you want to use.
rdluffy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 506


★777Coin.com★ Fun BTC Casino!


View Profile
April 20, 2018, 08:01:54 PM
 #6

Put all the cards at the same time and pray to god to work at first attempt
 Grin Grin Grin

If does't work install one by one, it's more guaranteed, but what I said above is true, sometimes I installed all the cards at same time and worked

Wilder wealths
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 21, 2018, 07:50:24 AM
 #7

Put all the cards at the same time and pray to god to work at first attempt
 Grin Grin Grin

If does't work install one by one, it's more guaranteed, but what I said above is true, sometimes I installed all the cards at same time and worked

the gpu number is shuffle at the miner and the overclock program, did you know how to identify which gpu on which riser?
it's very confusing, before i just use 2 gpu, but after 7 gpu the thing is start confusing.
jillscarbrough
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 335


Steady State Finance


View Profile
April 21, 2018, 08:14:08 AM
 #8

yes, it's better to install one by one GPU when it has more easily detected problems and for non-modular PSU better set the position first before running it. I used to arrange it and draw it on paper first though it actually has a different position after setting but at least it can help.
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2856
Merit: 1415



View Profile
April 21, 2018, 09:10:26 AM
 #9

Like others have said, it's best to do it one by one because very rarely if you hook up 12 GPUs at once will they run without issue.

Some risers can be messed up and it will be a pain to diagnose later.

Just hook it up one by one and mine for 5-10 mins and if it's stable add another GPU and repeat.

.BEST..CHANGE.███████████████
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
███████████████
..BUY/ SELL CRYPTO..
m.vina
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 102



View Profile
April 21, 2018, 12:33:46 PM
 #10

I've added GPUs 4 at a time without problem, as long as they are of the same manufacturer (AMD vs NVIDIA). What i've learned is that it's always better to install NVIDIA first because their drivers are simple. With AMD, you will have to deal with more stress because installing new GPUs always seems to screw something up.

M O Z O   //     $31M RAISED!     PRE-LISTED on Coinrail     $450k Bounty Tradable on 8/8/18
●            ●                       VERSACE & 38,000 Stores are accepting MOZO TOKENS                       ●            ●
●            ●            WHITEPAPER        MEDIUM        TELEGRAM        ANN THREAD            ●            ●
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!