Bitcoin Forum
September 19, 2017, 09:03:16 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 6970 + 5850  (Read 410 times)
SMOKEU
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile WWW
August 02, 2011, 05:07:27 AM
 #1

I've currently got a 6970 in my rig, and I'm thinking about adding a 5850 or 5830 to my rig because I might be able to get one cheap-ish. What would I need to do to get this working? I'm planning on connecting my monitor to the 6970 and using that for gaming as well, but do I then need to put a dummy plug in the 5850?

🚂 Unstoppable Organisation - The Movement DAO
1505854996
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1505854996

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1505854996
Reply with quote  #2

1505854996
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1505854996
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1505854996

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1505854996
Reply with quote  #2

1505854996
Report to moderator
1505854996
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1505854996

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1505854996
Reply with quote  #2

1505854996
Report to moderator
darnoth
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
August 02, 2011, 05:09:15 AM
 #2

You don't need to do anything special. As long as you are using version 11.7 catalyst drivers you no longer need the dummy plugs.
SMOKEU
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile WWW
August 02, 2011, 07:09:03 AM
 #3

How do I set the clock frequencies and fan profiles for the second card? At the moment I'm using Afterburner, but if I have 2 different cards do I have to run 2 instances of Afterburner, one for each card?

🚂 Unstoppable Organisation - The Movement DAO
wacko
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 248


View Profile
August 02, 2011, 11:32:50 AM
 #4

No, Afterburner can work with multiple cards, just press the Settings button and you'll be able to select the card you're working with, configure it, then open the Settings again, select another card and so on.. I couldn't make 6950 and 5830 work in one machine, though, the system would boot and everything was fine until I start mining—then it hangs. Maybe you'll have more luck with similar setup than I did.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!