Bitcoin Forum
March 30, 2024, 07:14:58 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 26.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Double spend of bitcoin? How is that possible, please explain with simple words?  (Read 685 times)
Alina-malina (OP)

Activity: 89
Merit: 10

I am here to realize my online project.

View Profile WWW
November 17, 2013, 06:56:02 AM

I read in this resource https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=327767. that it is possible to do double spend, it is all very interesting, but as i am new in bitcoin world, i would like to understand what is that, is it really something to be affraid of?

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator
Bitcoin addresses contain a checksum, so it is very unlikely that mistyping an address will cause you to lose money.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator
Alina-malina (OP)

View Profile WWW
November 17, 2013, 07:02:23 AM

I suggest the following solution preventing from "double spending". If the bitcoin client somehow can determine a double spending activity it should take that coin and return back to miners as a reward! I think it will be the best option for that. It is a big problem and may negative influence on bitcoin reputation. I hope developers will hear my words.

CIYAM
Legendary

Activity: 1890
Merit: 1072

Ian Knowles - CIYAM Lead Developer

View Profile WWW
November 17, 2013, 07:08:02 AM
Last edit: November 17, 2013, 07:27:41 AM by CIYAM Open

You cannot "double-spend" bitcoins - that's what the entire purpose of "confirmations" is about.