Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 10:19:10 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: HD 6850 + HD 4850, second card can't use OpenCL?  (Read 5039 times)
Elanzer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
February 12, 2011, 05:49:02 AM
 #1

So I'm using m0mchil's bitcoin miner and I've had it working fine on the HD6850 @ 220mhash/s, and I've since added a second card in - a HD4850 I had laying around.

I'm having problems getting this one detected as an OpenCL capable device, I've removed and reinstalled ATI Stream SDK 2.3 as well as reinstalled video drivers + opencl driver, didn't make any difference.

GPU Caps Viewer doesn't list it as an OpenCL capable device either. Anyone know what could be preventing this from working right? It seems the 4xxx series doesn't support OpenCL properly but there are others in the thread claiming to be using 4800 series cards.
1481192350
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481192350

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481192350
Reply with quote  #2

1481192350
Report to moderator
1481192350
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481192350

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481192350
Reply with quote  #2

1481192350
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481192350
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481192350

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481192350
Reply with quote  #2

1481192350
Report to moderator
1481192350
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481192350

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481192350
Reply with quote  #2

1481192350
Report to moderator
Raulo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
February 12, 2011, 09:38:39 AM
 #2

Read my tutorial, especially the aticonfig --initial part.

http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3359.msg47174#msg47174

You have probably not updated xorg.conf. Do you have two Section "Device" in /etc/X11/xorg.conf one for each of your cards? If you do update, rename your former xorg.conf first.

1HAoJag4C3XtAmQJAhE9FTAAJWFcrvpdLM
Elanzer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
February 12, 2011, 12:31:04 PM
 #3

Sorry, I should have mentioned that I'm using Windows 7 64bit.
SmokeTooMuch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 873


View Profile
February 13, 2011, 03:37:29 AM
 #4

My HD4870 is OpenCL capable and afaik the 4850 is using the same chip, so basically, it should support OpenCL as well.

Date Registered: 2009-12-10 | I'm using GPG, pm me for my public key. | Bitcoin on Reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/btc
You like what I'm doing? Why don't you send me a coin: 17Pj8jpUgY6qTaKgiopL5U48zxU4rTrkuB
Mahkul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


Be silent, or be silenced.


View Profile WWW
February 17, 2011, 10:52:14 AM
 #5

I think it has something to do with the fact that you have two cards in one machine. I couldn't get Windows to work with two 5850 and had to (with pleasure) switch to Ubuntu. Works like a charm (thanks to Raulo).

EDIT: Sorry, you didn't say that you're on Windows, but I am assuming so since you use ATI Stream SDK 2.3?

Bitalo.com coming soon!

1MAHKULzqZb4evFFg9157LvnJhJQQbeYo7
niktumis
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
May 13, 2011, 05:35:33 AM
 #6

Yesterday I had same problem with 6950 & 5870.  After connecting the cable to the second device (before booting),on the second device was appeared OpenCL.
icaci
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
May 14, 2011, 01:34:23 PM
 #7

Windows disables video cards with no monitors attached (at least valid for ATI/AMD ones). One solution is to plug the monitor into each card before starting a miner on its OpenCL device. Once the miner is up and running you can disconnect the monitor but you would need to plug it in again if you need to restart the miner.

For the technically inclined there exists a very simple solution: just three 68 Ohm resistors bridging the VGA signal pins to GND. Here you can read in details how to create a dummy VGA plug yourself: http://www.overclock.net/folding-home-guides-tutorials/384733-30-second-dummy-plug.html

1KaohAcY7Zjq7eVa8WvVGrVnry3CqgkcmH
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!