Bitcoin Forum
September 22, 2018, 04:33:18 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: bitcoind + getrawmempool return empty array  (Read 59 times)
edwardspitz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 24, 2018, 10:21:21 AM
 #1

I was trying to use getrawmempool:

Code:
bitcoin-cli getrawmempool

But it just returns empty result:
Quote
[]

I am running bitcoind in prune mode. Could this be the reason or is there another explanation?
1537590798
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537590798

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537590798
Reply with quote  #2

1537590798
Report to moderator
1537590798
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537590798

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537590798
Reply with quote  #2

1537590798
Report to moderator
1537590798
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537590798

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537590798
Reply with quote  #2

1537590798
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537590798
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537590798

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537590798
Reply with quote  #2

1537590798
Report to moderator
1537590798
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537590798

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537590798
Reply with quote  #2

1537590798
Report to moderator
AdolfinWolf
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 590


-- “We are the biological bootloader for AI”


View Profile
April 24, 2018, 01:15:05 PM
Merited by starmyc (1)
 #2

I was trying to use getrawmempool:

Code:
bitcoin-cli getrawmempool

But it just returns empty result:
Quote
[]

I am running bitcoind in prune mode. Could this be the reason or is there another explanation?


No, running bitcoind in prune mode indeed does not let you use "getrawmempool".

 
See the answer below which describes it better than i ever could.

The mempool is where transactions are stored until they get put into a block. It would be hard to determine you had the correct mempool if you didn't keep track of the whole block chain, though. For example, someone could broadcast an older transaction, and you would have no way to determine that you shouldn't just add it to your mempool if you didn't keep track of the whole block chain. Transactions also have to pass some basic validation before they can be added to the mempool, validation which requires having all the blockchain data.

If there were a program to implement this, it would at least have to process all new blocks as they came in, in order to determine which transactions to take out of the mempool as blocks get solved.
https://bitcoin.stackexchange.com/questions/35811/bitcoind-getrawmempool-without-downloading-the-full-blockchain

edwardspitz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 24, 2018, 03:07:12 PM
 #3

I was trying to use getrawmempool:

Code:
bitcoin-cli getrawmempool

But it just returns empty result:
Quote
[]

I am running bitcoind in prune mode. Could this be the reason or is there another explanation?


No, running bitcoind in prune mode indeed does not let you use "getrawmempool".

 
See the answer below which describes it better than i ever could.

The mempool is where transactions are stored until they get put into a block. It would be hard to determine you had the correct mempool if you didn't keep track of the whole block chain, though. For example, someone could broadcast an older transaction, and you would have no way to determine that you shouldn't just add it to your mempool if you didn't keep track of the whole block chain. Transactions also have to pass some basic validation before they can be added to the mempool, validation which requires having all the blockchain data.

If there were a program to implement this, it would at least have to process all new blocks as they came in, in order to determine which transactions to take out of the mempool as blocks get solved.
https://bitcoin.stackexchange.com/questions/35811/bitcoind-getrawmempool-without-downloading-the-full-blockchain


Ok, that explains that explains it then. Thanks a lot!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!