Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 05:55:01 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitminter in pool?  (Read 1175 times)
kaivorth
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
August 02, 2011, 11:01:35 PM
 #1

Just finally setup Bitminter with my account and everything, getting about 190 MHPS? Sound good? Using a 5770 How do I check to make sure I'm in a pool? Or get to one?

Now its saying I get about 60 MHPS in "my account"? Which ones accurate?

http://i291.photobucket.com/albums/ll301/kaivorth/asdsad.jpg
1480787701
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480787701

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480787701
Reply with quote  #2

1480787701
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480787701
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480787701

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480787701
Reply with quote  #2

1480787701
Report to moderator
1480787701
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480787701

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480787701
Reply with quote  #2

1480787701
Report to moderator
Smalleyster
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


I yam what I yam. - Popeye


View Profile WWW
August 02, 2011, 11:12:20 PM
 #2

I thought they had a miner built in?

The average speed of a 5770 I have found listed as 156Mhs so you are getting pretty good results.

Ignore the Mhs number coming from the miner, they are rough guestimations that are always way wrong.

Feel like investing in a Miner?:
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=30044.msg377773#msg377773
A soup to nuts newbee system for a secure, portable USB wallet (free instructions):
NoobHowTo: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27088.msg341387#msg341387
kaivorth
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
August 02, 2011, 11:15:53 PM
 #3

The miner says I get about 190, but if I go into my account

I get this:




5770   
               Proof of Works    Proofs this Round    Mhps
                        20                      20               114

The program is reading about 190 though..?

So I'm automatically in a pool with this program?
Smalleyster
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


I yam what I yam. - Popeye


View Profile WWW
August 02, 2011, 11:24:23 PM
 #4

The miner says I get about 190, but if I go into my account

I get this:

5770           Proof of Works    Proofs this Round    Mhps
                        20                      20               114

The program is reading about 190 though..?

So I'm automatically in a pool with this program?

My guess is that you are fine. The real test will be in how many btc you earn which I think should be around 0.1 per day at 190Mhs. Like I said before just ignore the Mhs in the account as it is a pure guess and never even close to accurate.

Feel like investing in a Miner?:
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=30044.msg377773#msg377773
A soup to nuts newbee system for a secure, portable USB wallet (free instructions):
NoobHowTo: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27088.msg341387#msg341387
kaivorth
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
August 02, 2011, 11:30:57 PM
 #5

Awesome! Thank you very much. Could I add a 4770 to this and have no issues? Would another section come up to start mining on that too?

One last thing, anyway to throttle back the program so its not at 100% usage? Don't want the card running 100% for a long time.
Smalleyster
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


I yam what I yam. - Popeye


View Profile WWW
August 02, 2011, 11:34:38 PM
 #6

Awesome! Thank you very much. Could I add a 4770 to this and have no issues? Would another section come up to start mining on that too?

One last thing, anyway to throttle back the program so its not at 100% usage? Don't want the card running 100% for a long time.

I'd give it a shot. Worst it would do is not work.

Make a new worker for it of course.

On the usage can you see the temperatures? I understand you never want to go above 80c.

EDIT

I'd change that payout threshold to something much lower. I'd set it to 0.1 or 0.05 just so you see activity hitting your wallet more often.

Feel like investing in a Miner?:
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=30044.msg377773#msg377773
A soup to nuts newbee system for a secure, portable USB wallet (free instructions):
NoobHowTo: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27088.msg341387#msg341387
kaivorth
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
August 02, 2011, 11:35:58 PM
 #7

Well noise is my concern, its hitting 77C, but thats with the fan kicked up pretty high. I want to lower the fan speed, but the temps rise. Any idea on how to get it to throttle back a bit?
Smalleyster
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


I yam what I yam. - Popeye


View Profile WWW
August 02, 2011, 11:40:47 PM
 #8

Well noise is my concern, its hitting 77C, but thats with the fan kicked up pretty high. I want to lower the fan speed, but the temps rise. Any idea on how to get it to throttle back a bit?

Don't let my post count fool you. I'm a total newbee and don't have the pleasure of your type of hardware to play with...yet.

Having said that I would say that I'd much rather noise over a melted graphic card. at 77 sounds like you are flirting with danger.

Search around on the forum for aticonfig programs for adjusting "speeds and feeds".

BTW I was under the impression that bitminter had adjustment abilities built into it?

Feel like investing in a Miner?:
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=30044.msg377773#msg377773
A soup to nuts newbee system for a secure, portable USB wallet (free instructions):
NoobHowTo: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27088.msg341387#msg341387
kaivorth
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
August 02, 2011, 11:46:39 PM
 #9

Actually graphics cards are safe up to like 90-100C, but I like my stuff to last longer, so I want to stay around 60C. You can't compare CPU temps to GPU temps if thats what your doing.

I see a "break interval" in settings set to 50ms. Other than that I don't see much. But yeah, 80C won't melt a graphics card lol.

And how does "redeeming" these for paypal money work out?
Smalleyster
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


I yam what I yam. - Popeye


View Profile WWW
August 03, 2011, 12:03:54 AM
 #10

Actually graphics cards are safe up to like 90-100C, but I like my stuff to last longer, so I want to stay around 60C. You can't compare CPU temps to GPU temps if thats what your doing.

I see a "break interval" in settings set to 50ms. Other than that I don't see much. But yeah, 80C won't melt a graphics card lol.

And how does "redeeming" these for paypal money work out?

Avoid paypal like the plague anywhere near btc. They will steal your money and play dumb.

Sadly ever since the Tradehill - Dwolla debacle I no longer will reccomend *any* btc to $ transfer method as none have proven worthy of my attention yet. I will experiment with a few soon, but will not "trust" any of them for many months.

For now I'm just keeping my btc on some usb sticks.

Feel like investing in a Miner?:
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=30044.msg377773#msg377773
A soup to nuts newbee system for a secure, portable USB wallet (free instructions):
NoobHowTo: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27088.msg341387#msg341387
kaivorth
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
August 03, 2011, 01:27:34 AM
 #11

Now how do I go about saving my BTC's? Still new to this Sad

You've been a huge help by the way, thanks

Looks like I have a wallet.dat?

Where would I find this, and is that where all my BTC's will be?
Smalleyster
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


I yam what I yam. - Popeye


View Profile WWW
August 03, 2011, 01:49:26 AM
 #12

Now how do I go about saving my BTC's? Still new to this Sad

You've been a huge help by the way, thanks

Looks like I have a wallet.dat?

Where would I find this, and is that where all my BTC's will be?

I'm guessing you are using windows and have downloaded and fired up the bitcoin client right?

If so it gives you an address (big long sumbitch starting with "1") Pick copy to clipboard and paste it into the the space in the bitminter software "payout bitcoin address". I'm anal so I read them both carefully to make sure the whole thing got pasted properly.

To me this is just a temporary and unsecure place for my btc. I clear it out quickly to my USB sticks as described in my sig.

Good luck dood, you're doing all the right stuff IMHO.


Feel like investing in a Miner?:
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=30044.msg377773#msg377773
A soup to nuts newbee system for a secure, portable USB wallet (free instructions):
NoobHowTo: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27088.msg341387#msg341387
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
August 03, 2011, 03:20:30 PM
 #13

Hey Smiley

The Mhps number shown in your account is an estimate based on the number of proofs-of-work you sent in during the last few minutes. When you are lucky, this number will be higher than your actual hashing speed. When you are unlucky, the number will be lower.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
kaivorth
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
August 04, 2011, 01:47:35 AM
 #14

Hey Smiley

The Mhps number shown in your account is an estimate based on the number of proofs-of-work you sent in during the last few minutes. When you are lucky, this number will be higher than your actual hashing speed. When you are unlucky, the number will be lower.
I see! This makes much more sense now.

Ill have to look into that USB stick guide too.
tristian1980
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
August 01, 2012, 06:33:43 PM
 #15

You may want to use extra flags for your GPU to make it faster.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!